Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Nevertell” as Want to Read:
Nevertell
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Nevertell

by
3.84  ·  Rating details ·  25 ratings  ·  13 reviews
A gorgeous, snowy adventure, set in the wilds of Siberia, full of magic and wonder, for junior readers.

Born in a Soviet prison camp, Lina has never seen the world outside until the night she escapes with her best friend, Bogdan. As the pair journey across a snowy wilderness, they are pursued by a vengeful sorceress and her pack of shadow wolves. The children will need eve
...more
Paperback
Published November 7th 2019 by Walker Books Ltd.
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Nevertell, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Nevertell

Community Reviews

Showing 1-55
Average rating 3.84  · 
Rating details
 ·  25 ratings  ·  13 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Nevertell
Kai
Nov 04, 2019 marked it as to-read
Shelves: owned
this sounds like Narnia meets X-Men and I'm definitely absolutely here for it
Max Lau  • Maxxesbooktopia
Jul 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 4-stars-books
“Bodgan had pitched their hopes on a gamble. An extreme one, at that. But what was it her mother always said? Life is a gamble. Lina couldn’t tell the truth now without getting him into serious trouble. It was all or nothing.” – Nevertell, Katherine Orton.

When I first freed this novel and overset to the first folio, the very first sentence of the novel had already captivated me to read on as the writing style was so beautifully crafted and the prose used was on point. It was spontaneously explicit
...more
John Moore
May 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Full disclosure, work for the publisher.

Didn’t know anything about the book and really enjoyed it. A snowy, magical and mystical middle grade perfect for fans of Katherine Arden, Abi Elphinstone and the like.
Hanis
Aug 10, 2019 rated it really liked it
4.5/5 stars.

Nevertell is another middle grade book for me that I surprisingly enjoyed. I was not expecting it to be such a good read for me, but it did become one of the reads that I genuinely enjoy and show my sincerest interest in. Here are my thoughts on why I think this book managed to grasp my attention wonderfully.

I shall begin with the plot. The story began with Lina, who was escaping from her Soviet prison camp with her best friend. For me, it sounded dark at firs
...more
legenbooksdary
Aug 28, 2019 rated it liked it
This story full of wintry coldness and magic started with Lina who is locked in a camp and finally decided to run away into safety and freedom. This book is set during the harsh winter cold of Siberia, Russia and I have yet to read a book set here so it was definitely an interesting read.

I could feel the chill and the cold seeping through my veins of the weather that they are facing at certain times as the story progresses. I cannot even fathom how one would feel so utterly miserable to be in t
...more
Nicole
Nov 11, 2019 rated it really liked it
Lina will soon be 12, will she be free too?
Her mother has bargained with 3 men to take Lina when they escape from the prison camp in Siberia. Born in the camp, Lina only knows the address of her Grandmother in Moscow. She does not know how far that may be though.
With her best friend Bogden, catching up as they make their escape, this brings an added problem to the men.
Old Gleb warns Lina of the shadow wolves and worse that are said to haunt the woods surrounding the mines and
...more
Insert Name Here
Oct 23, 2019 rated it really liked it
Lina has grown up in a Russian forced labour camp. When a chance comes for her to escape, she seizes it. Now, however, she's out in the tundra, and out there fairytales are alive and well. There are worse things than Baba Yaga, but there are beautiful things as well. Can Lina find her way home?

This is a fabulous, magical story, steeped in folktales and magic. I really enjoyed every bit of it. Lina and Bogdan are wonderful characters, fierce and clever and determined. I'd love to read
...more
Jenny
Jul 27, 2019 rated it liked it
“𝑰 𝒓𝒆𝒄𝒆𝒊𝒗𝒆𝒅 𝒂 𝒄𝒐𝒎𝒑𝒍𝒊𝒎𝒆𝒏𝒕𝒂𝒓𝒚 𝒄𝒐𝒑𝒚 𝒐𝒇 𝒕𝒉𝒊𝒔 𝒃𝒐𝒐𝒌. 𝑶𝒑𝒊𝒏𝒊𝒐𝒏𝒔 𝒆𝒙𝒑𝒓𝒆𝒔𝒔𝒆𝒅 𝒊𝒏 𝒕𝒉𝒊𝒔 𝒓𝒆𝒗𝒊𝒆𝒘 𝒂𝒓𝒆 𝒄𝒐𝒎𝒑𝒍𝒆𝒕𝒆𝒍𝒚 𝒎𝒚 𝒐𝒘𝒏."

If you have a kid that is a bookworm, this book is definitely a go. It was great—fast-paced, interesting, and filled with tension. Readers will definitely race through this suspenseful story. There is an emotionally honest look at friendship, choices, and the pressure to survive what ever obstacle comes on their way. There are also some tense situations that drives the readers to turn page
...more
Ashley
Jul 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
“The coldness reached its fingers inside her skull.” Just one of the lines I loved in the opening chapters of this book.
I was so lucky to win a proof copy of Nevertell and I’m so glad I had the opportunity to read this book.
It’s a story full of magic, wonder, friendship and adventure set in the cold depths of Siberia. I couldn’t put it down and when this happens I know it’s a truly magical read.
This debut novel by Katharine Orton is one of those books I can’t wait to share with the children a
...more
Bridie (Bridie's Book Abyss)
Jul 28, 2019 rated it really liked it
A magical and snowy book set in Soviet Siberia. A tale of friendship, hardship and magic.
meg chia
Jul 20, 2019 rated it liked it
3.5
Liz
Nov 14, 2019 rated it liked it
3.75
Mary Judy
Oct 29, 2019 rated it really liked it
Katherine Orton has created a world that swims effortlessly between the realistic historical past and a magical space that sits just beyond our vision. With echoes of old folktales of spirit animals, haunted landscapes and Baba Yaga, a new folktale of eerie enchantment, hard-earned reconciliation and the unique gifts and abilities of a young girl emerges. The stark reality of life in a prison camp is brilliantly juxtaposed with the mysterious, yet harsh world outside its' walls and both stand as ...more
Jamie-Lee Reza
rated it really liked it
Oct 27, 2019
Kathleen
rated it it was amazing
May 31, 2019
Laura
rated it liked it
Nov 13, 2019
Ivygirl24
rated it it was amazing
Aug 11, 2019
Maria Wang
rated it liked it
Oct 18, 2019
Gracelikesbooks
rated it it was amazing
Aug 11, 2019
Rebecca Choudhury
rated it really liked it
Nov 15, 2019
Lilyfae
rated it it was amazing
Nov 19, 2019
Danni Jervis
rated it liked it
Nov 07, 2019
Jenny
rated it really liked it
May 23, 2019
Tricia
rated it liked it
Nov 06, 2019
Kathryn Miller
rated it liked it
Nov 05, 2019
Sara
added it
Apr 24, 2019
James McParland
marked it as to-read
Apr 24, 2019
Tara Ghaemi
marked it as to-read
Apr 25, 2019
Hannah Corby
marked it as to-read
May 04, 2019
Nick Tomlinson
is currently reading it
May 10, 2019
Maya
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2019
Rory
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2019
Chloe
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2019
Miz
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2019
Indy
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2019
Christina Reid
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2019
R.M. Romero
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Amanda Horning
marked it as to-read
May 24, 2019
Scott Evans (MrEPrimary)
is currently reading it
Jun 02, 2019
Danielle
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2019
Michelle Harrison
marked it as to-read
Jun 26, 2019
Ramona
marked it as to-read
Jun 26, 2019
Hannah (The_Book_Pond)
marked it as to-read
Jul 05, 2019
stefiereads
marked it as to-read
Jul 17, 2019
Taylor
added it
Jul 17, 2019
Ajda
marked it as to-read
Jul 18, 2019
Acheron
marked it as to-read
Jul 20, 2019
Cecilia
marked it as to-read
Jul 21, 2019
Charlotte
marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2019
Anamaria
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2019
Susan Raines
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2019
Brandy Painter
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Good Thieves
  • The M Word
  • Heartstream
  • Malamander (Malamander, #1)
  • The Deathless Girls
  • Emmy in the Key of Code
  • Deeplight
  • Just Because
  • Rules for Vanishing
  • The Time of Green Magic
  • The Velvet Fox (The Clockwork Crow #2)
  • Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
  • Frankly in Love (Frankly in Love, #1)
  • Chinglish
  • Madame Badobedah
  • Beast Feast
  • The Middler
  • The Night-time Cat and the Plump Grey Mouse: A Trinity College Tale
See similar books…
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »