Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Homefront Heroines: 4 Young Women Dream of Victory and Love During WWII” as Want to Read:
Homefront Heroines: 4 Young Women Dream of Victory and Love During WWII
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Homefront Heroines: 4 Young Women Dream of Victory and Love During WWII

by
really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  15 ratings  ·  14 reviews
Patriotic Service Leads to Victories in Romance

Relive life on the American homefront as four women of the WWII era join the workforce and discover romance in surprising ways.

Moonlight Serenade by Rita Gerlach
1941 Washington D.C.
When Lucy St. Claire takes over a sailor’s job at the Naval Yard in Washington, DC, she is thrown into a romance she never expected.

Only
...more
Paperback, 448 pages
Published January 1st 2020 by Barbour Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Homefront Heroines, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Homefront Heroines

Community Reviews

Showing 1-43
really liked it Average rating 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  15 ratings  ·  14 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Homefront Heroines: 4 Young Women Dream of Victory and Love During WWII
A.M. Heath
Nov 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
My Thoughts: The collection as a whole is a historical goldmine. I loved how each story took a drastically different look at life during the war. There are nurses, secret agents, soldiers, gardeners, and factory workers. The concept behind each story was a hit with me, but I thought that the majority of them needed to be fleshed out a bit more in one way or another.

Moonlight Serenade was very well researched. There were several little nuggets weaved into each scene. Sadly I struggled to feel
...more
Karen R
Oct 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
An enjoyable and inspirational collection of all new novellas, set during WW2 in the U.S.!
The settings include a good variety of places and jobs where women actually served during the war years. From small town Victory Gardens, nurses in military hospitals, factories with 'Rosie the Riviter' and 'Winnie the Welder', and security guards, they all work hard to do their part. These women showed a lot of courage and spunk to step out of their comfort zones--sometimes into dangerous situations--to
...more
Faith
Jan 01, 2020 rated it really liked it
In “Moonlight Serenade” a young lady from a farm in Pennsylvania applies for a job through the War Department and ends up in Washington DC with a job as a Light Welder, a job formerly held by a US Navy Sailor.

Here you find the heartaches, tears, tenseness and anger of women laboring in men’s jobs doing their part for the war efforts while their men fight for freedom for all. Each lady knowing not all the men will return, some already having lost family during the attack on Pearl Harbor and in
...more
Janet
Oct 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Superspeed readers like me can read 150 - 200+ pages/hour, so yes, I have read the book … and many more today. LOL

I received a temporary digital Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley, the publisher and the author in exchange for an honest review.

From the publisher, as I do not repeat the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it as they do it better than I do .

Patriotic Service Leads to Victories in Romance - Relive life on the American homefront as four women of
...more
Esther
Oct 25, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: netgalley
I love novella collections. The shorter length of each story is perfect for when you want a quick read. I usually find that I like two or three of the four stories within a collection. This rings true for the four stories within this collection.

Moonlight Serenadeby Rita Gerlach gave me a glimpse into the lives of women who filled some of the jobs left open by soldiers. I never thought about the boarding houses or thankless work the women did—as they were looked down on by their bosses. The story
...more
Anne
Nov 01, 2019 rated it liked it
Homefront Heroines
By Johnnie Alexander, Amanda Barratt, Lauralee Bliss, Rita Gerlach
War is certainly not romantic but I always enjoy a good wartime romance story. This collection was full of adventure, intrigue, and romance although I didn’t care for Only Forever. These stories represented 4 different positions of heroines during WW2. I enjoyed thinking about what I might have done to aid in the war effort and if called to take action on how I would respond. This quote is from Blue Moon and
...more
Becky
Dec 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
The four novellas in this collection center around the women who worked during World War II, some in factories--like shipyards, munitions factories, etc. My favorite novella is by Johnnie Alexander, and details the story of a young woman who is doing security work for the Tennessee Valley Authority. In the course of her work, she has been assigned a German Shepherd named "Liberty." On one night when she was off duty, she ran into a man trying to sneak into a secure area with a dam. In the chaos ...more
Lillian
Homefront Heroines focuses on the stories of four young women who are supporting their country during WWII. The stories are set in North America following the bombing of Pearl Harbor and the different roles that women took up including planting victory gardens, working in ammunition factories, nurses and various military roles that did not involve active duty.

Each story was charming and atmospheric and readers will be transported to the turn of the 20th century and get a sense of the anxiety
...more
Sandra
Nov 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: netgalley
I knew this would be an intriguing collection with titles like, Moonlight Serenade, Only Forever, Blue Moon and Dream a Little Dream. Each of these novellas are ones you won't want to put down. I found myself staying up late each night so I could finish them. Each story is about a strong independent woman who is doing her part here in the US to support our troops during WWII. Each contain action, adventure, intrigue and romance. I like to read these collections because I often get to read a new ...more
Ann
Oct 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is a very well written book. Each of the stories deal with how women helped during WWII and how strong and resourceful they had to be. This is a wonderful collection of clean inspirational stories that the authors brought to life with their words. All four of the authors did an outstanding job of writing this collection and each story holds your attention from the beginning until the end If you like historical christian fiction, you will love this book. Thank you Barbour Publishing via ...more
Amy
Dec 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
Homefront Heroines: 4 Young Women Dream of Victory and Love During WWII is a collection of four stories. These stories include:
Moonlight Serenade by Rita Gerlach
Only Forever by Lauralee Bliss
Blue Moon by Johnnie Alexander
Dream a Little Dream by Amanda M Barratt
I enjoyed this collection. My favorite is Rita Gerlach's Moonlight Serenade. I believe readers who enjoy sweet World War II era romance would enjoy this one.
Four stars.

Jennifer Purcell
Dec 09, 2019 rated it liked it
I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with novella collections. While novellas are quicker to read, and the collections give you a chance to explore new authors without a large time commitment, the collections inevitably contain some stories that I don’t like as much as the others.

Out of the four stories, I loved three of them. I’ve included my thoughts on each individual story below.

Moonlight Serenade by Rita Gerlach
I had to push my way through this. The romance was rushed, and I didn’t find
...more
Miranda Atchley
Full of 40s charm, patriotism, and swoon-worthy romance, Homefront Heroines is a lovely collection, perfect for fans of authors such as Sarah Sundin and Cara Putman. Readers are treated to four delightfully different stories; a farm girl grieving a lost brother; a young woman who encourages her community to plant victory gardens; a girl doing her part for the war effort in the hills of Kentucky; a former librarian turned nurse who has a chance encounter with a movie star. With rich period ...more
Gloria _ Moseley
Nov 12, 2019 rated it liked it
"Homefront Heroines" by authors Rita Gerlach, Lauralee Bliss, Johnnie Alexander, and Amanda M. Barratt is a pleasant collection of stories filled with love and sacrifice as women go beyond the call to help their nation during World War II. Each story takes the reader to a new situation where we learn that, in spite of war, love continues to find a way. The varied styles of the authors is obvious from story to story, but the book finishes very strong with the work of Ms. Barratt.



Disclaimer: I
...more
Subhajit Das
rated it really liked it
Oct 30, 2019
Amanda Geaney
marked it as to-read
Apr 23, 2019
Kailey
marked it as to-read
Apr 23, 2019
Lucy
marked it as to-read
Jun 04, 2019
Kelly
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2019
Tami
marked it as to-read
Jun 15, 2019
Angélique
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
Jennifer K
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2019
Rebecca
marked it as to-read
Jul 29, 2019
Theresa Peterson
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2019
Deanna
marked it as to-read
Aug 06, 2019
Bailey Klein
marked it as to-read
Sep 12, 2019
Patricia Kemp Blackmon
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2019
Natalie
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2019
Kelly Tyree
marked it as to-read
Oct 03, 2019
Nancy
marked it as to-read
Oct 06, 2019
Claire Harter
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2019
Amber Yordy patterson
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2019
Tima
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2019
Marisa
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2019
Denise Glisson
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2019
Beth
marked it as to-read
Oct 11, 2019
Morgan Tarpley Smith
marked it as to-read
Oct 11, 2019
Linda Klager
marked it as to-read
Oct 11, 2019
Kav
marked it as to-read
Oct 12, 2019
Alina
marked it as to-read
Oct 12, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Mail-Order Bride Standoff: 4 Grooms Are Stymied When Brides Get Cold Feet
  • The Thief of Lanwyn Manor (Cornwall, #2)
  • Sew in Love: 4 Historical Stories of Love Stitched into Broken Lives
  • The Rebel Bride (Daughter of the Mayflower, #10)
  • The Blizzard Bride (Daughters of the Mayflower, #11)
  • Once Upon a Dickens Christmas: 3 Charming Christmas Tales Set in Victorian England
  • On Wings of Devotion (The Codebreakers, #2)
  • The Oregon Trail Romance Collection: 9 Stories of Life on the Trail into the Western Frontier
  • A Girl’s Guide to the Outback
  • Stitches in Time (The Deacon's Family #2)
  • Lake Season (Bluebell Inn Romance, #1)
  • The Bridge to Belle Island
  • The Bake Shop (Amish Marketplace #1)
  • Crinoline Cowboys: A Cowboy of Her Own / Josephine's Dream / Love's Cookin' at the Cowboy Cafe / Bea Mine
  • The Amish Wedding Promise (Hidden Springs #1)
  • The Spice King (Hope and Glory, #1)
  • Sheriff Reagan's Christmas Boots (Wyldhaven)
  • The Innkeeper's Bride (Amish Brides of Birch Creek #3)
See similar books…
226 followers
Johnnie Alexander creates characters you want to meet and imagines stories you won't forget.

Her award-winning debut novel, Where Treasure Hides (Tyndale), made the CBA bestseller list. Her contemporary romance novels include Where She Belongs, When Hope Arrives, and What Hope Remembers.

She currently writes cozy mysteries and contemporaries for Annie's Fiction and historical novellas for Barbour.
...more