Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Me and Banksy” as Want to Read:
Me and Banksy
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Me and Banksy

by
3.85  ·  Rating details ·  27 ratings  ·  8 reviews
A Banksy-style protest against cameras in classrooms brings a group of middle-grade students together. For fans of Rebecca Stead, Susin Nielsen and Gordon Korman.

Dominica's private school is covered in cameras, and someone is hacking into them and posting embarrassing moments for the whole school to see. Like Ana picking her nose. When Dominica quickly changes her shirt
...more
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published January 7th 2020 by Puffin Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Me and Banksy, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Me and Banksy

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-48
Average rating 3.85  · 
Rating details
 ·  27 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Me and Banksy
Stephanie
Feb 09, 2020 rated it it was amazing
As parents and educators we want to keep our children safe, that is one of the main jobs of parenting, keep your child safe. The world looks a lot different than when we were children and sometimes we can go to extremes to keep our youth from harm. Tanya Lloyd Kyi does an incredible job of exploring safety and security as well as issues such as privacy and cyber bullying in our increasingly online world in Me and Banksy.

Dominica, Saanvi, and Holden all attend a private school for gifted students
...more
Alan Teder
Banksy-inspired YA Fiction
Review of the Puffin Canada hardcover edition (Jan. 2020)

The initial attraction for me here was the cleverness of the cover design. The supposed googly eyes of the stencilled squirrel could also be security camera monitors pointing in different directions. These are the sort of real-world objects which the real-life Banksy would incorporate into their stencilled social commentary graffiti work. I then found out that it was a Young Adult fiction book dealing with
...more
Kathie
Dec 02, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2020myrca
Thank you to Edelweiss+ and the publisher for an eARC of this book.

I really enjoyed this story that takes a look at the topics of security and privacy at a private school.

Dominica's school is filled with cameras, and someone hack into them and starts posting embarrassing photos of students on the school forum. When Dominica and her friend approach the administration, they receive little support; the school values security over student privacy. As the situation escalates, Dominica and her
...more
Ms. Yingling
Jan 02, 2020 rated it really liked it
E ARC provided by Edelweiss Plus



Dominica goes to a fancy private Mitchell Academy with her friends Holden and Saanvi. They generally like school, but are increasingly alarmed by Principal Plante's insistence on having cameras everywhere and school IDs that "ping" parents when students arrive in the building. This concern grows when footage of a student having an embarrassing moment is posted on a school discussion forum, and not long after, footage of Dom turning her shirt right side out in the
...more
Jill Jemmett
Jan 12, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arcs
This book tackles the tough issues of cyber bullying and cyber security in schools.

Dominica and her friends are targeted by a cyber bully, who is posting embarrassing images of them online. They discover that the images were taken from the school’s security cameras. They stage a protest to show how damaging the security cameras are to the students and teachers.

These are important issues for children to be aware of today. Just because the school administration in this book thought the cameras in
...more
Niki
Dominica and her friends are upset over what they feel is an excessive use of security cameras in their school. This concern is heightened when embarrassing videos of the students start showing up online. Dominica's love of art, her interest in the street artist Banksy, and teenage resistance come together in Me and Banksy, an enjoyable middle grade novel.

NOTE: I received an ARC at the OLA Superconference from the publisher, Penguin Random House. However, the book is available for purchase at
...more
MayorEmma
Dec 06, 2019 rated it it was ok
Earc from netgalley.

It was a very interesting topic to cover in a middle grade book, for sure have not seen this much. the cover was a little weird though and not super appealing.
NANCY RHOADES
I found this very slow moving
Emily
rated it liked it
Feb 08, 2020
Megan
rated it really liked it
Jun 13, 2019
Mrs B
rated it really liked it
Feb 04, 2020
Cheryl Klein
rated it really liked it
Oct 04, 2019
Munro's Kids
rated it really liked it
Jan 14, 2020
Soup
rated it really liked it
Dec 18, 2019
Ainsley
rated it really liked it
Jan 25, 2020
Brenda
rated it really liked it
Feb 07, 2020
Rose Ann
rated it it was ok
Jan 21, 2020
Martha
rated it really liked it
Dec 30, 2019
Monica Simpson
rated it liked it
Feb 10, 2020
Kath
rated it really liked it
Feb 07, 2020
Veronica Hortiguela
rated it liked it
Oct 21, 2019
Lisa Day
rated it liked it
Feb 04, 2020
Fictional Fiend
rated it it was amazing
Aug 19, 2019
Chris
rated it it was amazing
Jan 23, 2020
Walter
rated it really liked it
Jan 17, 2020
Melissa
rated it really liked it
Feb 08, 2020
Rachelle Delaney
rated it it was amazing
Jan 06, 2020
Cressida
rated it really liked it
Nov 14, 2019
Jaclyn
added it
Aug 28, 2019
Karina
added it
Aug 31, 2019
Dwan Dawson-Tape
marked it as to-read
Sep 20, 2019
Liz
added it
Sep 23, 2019
Alise
added it
Sep 25, 2019
Julia
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2019
Hannah
added it
Oct 12, 2019
Beth
added it
Oct 30, 2019
Kerry
marked it as to-read
Nov 04, 2019
Nina Sue
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2019
Fiona
marked it as to-read
Nov 27, 2019
Trevor
marked it as to-read
Dec 02, 2019
Danielle
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2019
Bree
marked it as to-read
Dec 07, 2019
Julia Bucci
marked it as to-read
Dec 07, 2019
Carol Krueger
marked it as to-read
Dec 09, 2019
Joanne
marked it as to-read
Dec 09, 2019
Selenia
marked it as to-read
Dec 10, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • White Bird
  • She Said: Breaking the Sexual Harassment Story That Helped Ignite a Movement
  • Music for Tigers
  • I Want a Dog
  • The Okay Witch
  • American Dirt
  • Naturally Tan
  • Finding Cooper
  • The Proudest Blue
  • Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei, #1)
  • A Grain of Rice
  • Tunnel of Bones (Cassidy Blake, #2)
  • Reproduction
  • A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying
  • Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs (Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, #1)
  • The Ghost Collector
  • Birdie and Me
  • Becoming RBG: Ruth Bader Ginsburg's Journey to Justice
See similar books…
53 followers
Tanya writes both fiction and non-fiction, often choosing topics related to science, pop culture, or social history—or a combination of the three. She enjoys combining factual research with intriguing narratives, or the life stories of interesting folks.

In her spare time, Tanya likes to run, bake, and read. Her favourite meal is breakfast, her favourite color is blue, and her favourite children’s
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »