Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Case” as Want to Read:
The Case
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Case

by
3.81  ·  Rating details ·  27 ratings  ·  15 reviews
Jake's last job was never going to be open and shut

Intrepid private investigator Jake comes out of retirement to help mob boss, Don Michael retrieve a bag from a business associate. Only Jake discovers he is not the only one on its trail as he joins forces with an FBI agent and a British spy.

For reasons Jake wishes he could figure out, the CIA, the FBI, the KKK, the Britis
...more
Kindle Edition, 314 pages
Published June 23rd 2019 by Sobriety Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Case, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Case

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-37
Average rating 3.81  · 
Rating details
 ·  27 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Case
Kathi Defranc
Apr 10, 2019 rated it really liked it
Very interesting story of a Private Investigator who tells us stories of his life over the years. Suspenseful, mysterious tales of his involvement with the Mob and the many quick,people-watching missions he is hired for by others who pick his name from an ad!
The characters keep you involved from page one, the scenes are well described so that you can actually see what is happening...If you dare!!!
I received an ARC from author Leopold Borstinski, who I thank for a great read, and I give you my
...more
Rachel Bridgeman
Jun 30, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: june-2109
In this stand alone novel, Leopold Borstinski brings his professional experiences as a P.I to bear in a frantic, frenetic race against time .
Is authentic, sweary, violent and no holds barred noir crime your bag? You need to open 'The Case'.

Jake has to deliver a parcel which should in itself be a straight forward task, if it weren't for all the people after him. This includes the Mafia , whose antics Leopold describes so well in his 'Lagotti Family series' , it has a retro feel reminiscent of Mar
...more
Feed The Crime
Jun 26, 2019 rated it liked it
3.5 review to follow
Julie Morris
Jun 23, 2019 rated it really liked it
This was a really different read for me in more ways than one and, for that reason alone, I really enjoyed it. My favourite thing about taking part in blog tours is getting pushed out of my comfort zone and picking up books that I would not normally read. Expanding our reading horizons is a great thing, I learn things I would never have known before, become exposed to different styles of writing, different genres and different life experiences. All of this helps with my own writing, and also my ...more
Ann Keeran
Apr 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A fascinating novel that touches on certain periods of the life and career of a private investigator. He has worked to protect, annihilate and even the mundane task of following errant spouses. Pulp fiction at its best. Travel through his memories to his final case.
Heather W
Jun 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
What was in the case?

This fabulous pulp fiction novel grabs you and takes you on a mind-blowing journey from the 1940s to the 1990s as P.I. Jake Adkins reminisces on other cases while on his quest to retrieve 'The Case', knowing that the CIA, the FBI, the KKK, the British Secret Service, and the mob all want it. But why???

Thrilling non-stop action and suspense keep the pages turning as you stay riveted to this book.
...more
Lel Budge
Jun 26, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: damppebbles
This is classic pulp noir, a Private Investigator who gets caught up with the Mob, putting himself in more danger than you can shake a stick at….

Our PI is investigating ‘The Case’ ….a huge case that will hopefully bring some reward……with plenty of background into previous cases you really get a feel for Jake as a character.

This is a dark, violent and at times sexy and shows the seedy and unpleasant side to the characters and the lifestyle they lead….a compelling and entertaining read.

Thank you t
...more
Linda
Jun 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Jake Adkins is a private investigator hired by mob boss Don Micheal Lambretti to find out what is in the bag that the mob, the FBI, the CIA, the KKK and the British Secret Service want. The story takes place during the 1940's through 1990's where Jake wity murder, torture, kidnapping, robbery, incest and of course, the case. This suspenseful action-packed novel kept me reading until the very end. I really enjoyed reading this crime fiction novel by Leopold Borstinski. ...more
Deborah James
Jun 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
An non stop, action packed thriller - full of suspense! Check out my review on my blog -> http://bookworminglife.com/the-case/ ...more
Alex Jones
Jun 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Thanks to Emma from Damp Pebbles Blog Tours for my copy of The Case by Leopold Borstinski.

A first time author for me, after looking up his previous works i was intrigued to try this out, this really is my kind of story.

Jake Adkins is a private investigator and this story, told in the first person, details his life and adventures. It’s almost a memoir.

We follow some crazy adventures as Jake works for the Mob, he is often is tasked with helping friends and clients of Don Micheal Lambretti.

Adultery
...more
Pat Eroh
Jun 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Action-packed and incredibly compelling, this is a tough one to put down. I enjoyed reading this and would love to read more from this author. I highly recommend this book if you like books with action and a private dick.

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Jackie
Jun 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Suspenseful as you can get, what’s not to love. Jake thinks his last case might be straight forward, how wrong. Don’t miss out.
Rubin Carpenter
Aug 21, 2019 rated it really liked it
A Good Read

This book to me was Unique because I've never read a Private Eye story that took a Charcter from the Beginning of his career to the end
this book is old fashioned story telling
a noir style and a anti hero with no true motives other than money a collection of short stories from the 1949 to 1999 one of the tales
didnt appeal to me but the writer did a great job capturing the era's &the attitudes his Charcter experienced
...more
Tanya
Aug 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
he is a PI and he is given a packet to transport but it is not going to be as easy as he will have the law after him as well as the mob. will he make it? Can he deliver the packet? See how he gets on

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Mark A. Anderson
rated it really liked it
Dec 26, 2020
Norma Luster
rated it it was ok
Sep 07, 2019
Gerald Nestadt
rated it it was ok
Nov 25, 2020
David
rated it really liked it
Dec 01, 2020
Tony Parsons
rated it did not like it
Feb 23, 2021
Ronald Boyles
rated it liked it
Nov 21, 2020
sarah
rated it liked it
Jul 20, 2019
Michael Atkins
rated it really liked it
Nov 25, 2020
Tamason
rated it liked it
Jun 26, 2019
Robert
rated it it was ok
Dec 24, 2020
Cindi
rated it liked it
Jun 24, 2019
Geoff. Lamb
rated it really liked it
Jul 09, 2019
Aqsa (On Hiatus)
marked it as to-read
Apr 11, 2019
Leopold Borstinski
Apr 12, 2019 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Bennie
marked it as to-read
May 16, 2019
K.C. Sivils
is currently reading it
Jul 15, 2019
Arthur Morris
is currently reading it
Aug 23, 2019
Kim
marked it as to-read
Nov 23, 2019
Lonny Crawford
is currently reading it
Dec 21, 2019
April Shuffler
marked it as to-read
Feb 29, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • In the Galway Silence (The Jack Taylor Novels Book 14)
  • A Dangerous Man (Elvis Cole, #18; Joe Pike, #7)
  • With Our Blessing (Inspector Tom Reynolds, #1)
  • The Holiday
  • Goodnight Beautiful
  • Deep State
  • The Man Who Smiled (Kurt Wallander #4)
  • American by Day (Sigrid Ødegård #2)
  • No Mercy (Jonathan Grave, #1)
  • Void Moon (Cassie Black, #1; Harry Bosch Universe, #12)
  • The Diplomat's Wife (The Kommandant's Girl, #2)
  • The Summer Game
  • Wabi-Sabi Welcome: Learning to Embrace the Imperfect and Entertain with Thoughtfulness and Ease
  • Small Garden Style: A Design Guide for Outdoor Rooms and Containers
  • Dying Day
  • Night in Tehran
  • God Save the Spy (Operation TINKER #1)
  • The Concordat
See similar books…

News & Interviews

  Some people love books. Some people fall in love. And some people fall in love with books about falling in love. Every month our team...
29 likes · 2 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »