Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dart” as Want to Read:
Dart
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Dart

by
4.52  ·  Rating details ·  23 ratings  ·  19 reviews
Darthanil 'Dart' Black's life on the colonized planet of Sylas's World is pretty good. Quick with a joke, quicker with a blade, he doesn't take life too seriously. But when he's accused of murder and forced to hide out in a deadly alien forest, it isn’t long before the only friend he has left is a symbiotic plant.

Not the easiest of starts for a reluctant revolution...

DART

K
...more
Kindle Edition
Published by KDP (first published March 2nd 2019)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dart, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Dart

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-53
Average rating 4.52  · 
Rating details
 ·  23 ratings  ·  19 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Dart
A_ bookbound _soul
4.5 Stars!

I recieved an e-review copy from Booksirens and I'm leaving this review voluntarily.

"Ever have one of those days when just about everyone you meet tries to kill you?"

This was so much fun! A book that keeps you on the edge of the chair while also giving you a good laugh.

I wouldn't say it's a typical post colonial book. The best part about it was the wry humour and dialogues. Dart's sense of humour was amazing! The plot was fast paced with a lots of twists and cliffhangers execut
...more
ItsSyryus
Apr 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
First of all I want to thank Mr. Renton and Booksirens for allowing me to make this review in exchange of a free E-book copy.
-
I loved this book from the very beginning! If I was the person who does rereads I'd for sure reread this for a thousand of times! It has action, adventure and it's a hybrid formed by 2 genres: fantasy and Sci-Fi. I loved the Sylph and the Formers and also was amazed by the fact that I could find some of the Avatar film elements directed by James Cameron. I do have one mi
...more
Bec Randall
Jan 31, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
From the moment you begin reading, Dart pulls you into a world full of an adrenalin packed ride, complete with action and ongoing drama. Darts character is exciting and fascinating enough to keep the reader interested in finding out what’s going to happen next.

Darts adventures were so action packed that I found I just wanted to keep on reading to find out what was next in store for his character.

Though well written, the middle and towards the end, some of the story became a little confusing for
...more
Matt McAvoy
Jul 09, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
At first sight this sci-fi action fantasy hybrid seems to be similar to many others, but in reality it is quite a distance better than the average. Set on a terraformed planet, 600 years from now, “Dart” has not only the very current cautionary messages about the environment and the fears of mass migration, it also handles, rather intelligently, the growing concerns about potential dangers of A.I. in future, taking a more “HAL” approach to it, than “Terminator”. That doesn’t mean there isn’t a t ...more
Grant Leishman
Jul 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-2019
Reviewed For Readers' Favorite by Grant Leishman

New Hope, was in many ways, an anachronism. The settlers of New Hope had left Earth centuries earlier yet as soon as they landed, a schism appeared between the two groups of settlers. In DART by Dale Renton we meet Darthanil Black, a Former and previously First Blade to the ruler of New Hope, Analine Wills. Now, framed for a murder he didn’t commit, Dart is on the run and that running takes him straight into the arms of the second group of settler
...more
T.S.
May 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The razor-sharp dialogues, wry humor ( “When you’re drowning in a river full of razorfins, do you hold your breath?”), and unpredictable twists that not only thicken the plot but also proliferate it build the foundation of this speedy, fun sci-fi novel by Dale Renton. Darthanil ‘Dart’ Black, the undefeated First Blade of Sylas’ World, gets caught up in a tangle of difficult situations that soon start to have implications for the safety of thousands of settlers frozen in the Mother Ship’s cryoban ...more
Billy Buttons
Sep 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book was entered in The Wishing Shelf Book Awards. This is what our readers thought:
Title: DART
Author: Dale Renton

Star Rating: 5 Stars
Number of Readers: 19
Stats
Editing: 8/10
Writing Style: 8/10
Content: 9/10
Cover: 7/10
Of the 19 readers:
17 would read another book by this author.
16 thought the cover was good or excellent.
19 felt it was easy to follow.
18 would recommend this story to another reader to try.
Of all the readers, 11 felt the author’s strongest skill was ‘plotting a story’.
Of all the
...more
Anne Reed
Sep 06, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
PortlandAvidReader
A sword and sci-fi mashup

I have rarely come across as entertaining a sci-fi novel as this. The premise of a colonization from earth that reverts to semi feudal is reminiscent of Bradley's Darkover stories. The inclusion of Clarke and Asimov themes as well as references to late 20th and early 21 century pop culture made the read quite enjoyable. The protagonist is snarky and funny. The storyline is complex, involving plenty of character development, action, deceit, treachery and AI. And of course
...more
Cass Morrison
May 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I like sassy protagonists and Dart is a sassy guy!

This is an unusual spin on a colonization tale; 2 disparate groups of humans and AIs. The details of the colonization story are really well integrated into the story. No "history lesson" needed for the reader to learn context. The pacing was really good; I never felt the need to skip ahead. There isn't' a lot of details to all the characters but that didn't decrease the enjoyment.

If you're looking for a fun adventure story, pick this up.

I receive
...more
Thomas Lennek
Apr 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Not your average Post-Colonial Sci Fi story

Good characters, lots of action, plot has twists that have implications for those of us stuck on Earth today. A solid, enjoyable read.
Terry
Dec 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A fast moving plot with twists and turns, great characters and dialogue, and a hero I adored thanks to his wit and sarcastic sense of humor!
It's categorized as Sci Fi, but don't let that scare you. It's overall a great book and a lot of fun to read.
Highly recommend!
I received a free copy of this book to review, but have done so willingly and gladly.
...more
Michael
Dec 05, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: arcs
3.5/5
(Thanks to the author for providing me a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.)

I will always enjoy a well-written sci-fi adventure. There is just something that will always be really enjoyable about that genre for me. Maybe it's the mixture of the bigger thematic ideas often found in science fiction with some of the sillier elements of an adventure story, but there's just something about sci-fi adventures that I really enjoy. Dale Renton's Dart fits perfectly in with any number
...more
Wild
Feb 03, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Dart, the Swashbuckling Rascal

I enjoyed the adventure story of Dart. He is a sword welding rogue, with a questionable sense of humour & at times a loud mouth, that sees him into all sorts of troublesome situations.

Set on another world, after an arc of humans that left earth, quite some time prior. Dart, a master swirdsman, gets caught between two fighting factions of humans, one in sync with nature, tge other very reliant on machines & technology that is hell bent on totally ruling it's human c
...more
Bender
Jul 05, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: sci-fi
Overall: +7

Got a free copy from booksirens.com in exchange for review. glad that I picked this up. A entertaining read featuring a irreverent protagonist who makes good bad jokes in awkward situations. Light and fun read. Has some pacing issues, but overall I enjoyed it. I was debating between 3 or 4 stars and will settle of 3.5.

Writing/Plot/Pace: +7

The books starts off small time and rapidly escalates into a planet-wide plot. The plot unravels organically and we are taken for a ride with the p
...more
Happy Booker
Jul 09, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Dart is an action-adventure novel. It is the second novel written after ‘Half Moon.’ The story is about Dart, who continually faces people who wish to kill him. There is a war between the Formers and Sylth which he has to stop, and if that was not enough, he also has to prevent a group of machines that are trying to take over the world.


There are many obstacles that Dart needs to overcome. His love is in danger, people are frozen in cryobanks, and his best friend is a plant.



I found the chapters
...more
David Morris
Apr 14, 2020 rated it really liked it
I really didnt know what to expect when I first started to read this book. The is action from the first sentence. The action does not let up until the end.

We have people living on a planet. Two groups of them, actually. They have been there a while and dont much care for each other. Through a lot of mistrust and double dealing of sorts, our hero who is a little more than obnoxious, finally gets the chance to show why he is the best swordsman in the land. Lucky for him there is a vine that helps
...more
Pat Eroh
Sep 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is a fast-paced action that will pull you into this compelling story until the conclusion! Dart is an awesome protagonist and the rest of the characters are wonderful and well-developed. I highly recommend this book.

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Stacy Szegedy
Aug 17, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A science fiction/action book with a dash of romance. A book filled with great characters and plot twists to keep you guessing until the end. Even those who are not science fiction or action fans can't help but love Dart with his humor and sarcasm. A fun read! ...more
Colin Renton
rated it really liked it
Jul 24, 2019
Ruthanne Taylor
rated it it was amazing
May 16, 2020
Mary Holbert
rated it really liked it
Nov 11, 2019
Melissa Cheresnick
rated it it was amazing
Jun 03, 2019
Stefanie
marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2019
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Tina
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
lou brown
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Kim Ellis
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Douglass Abramson
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Cathy Tilton
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Zach Yancey
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Ann Ellis
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Ann-Marie
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Christy
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
***Book Lady ***
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Justin Hofstetter
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Luna
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Robin Davis
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Nancy Jones
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Victoria Lee
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Kelley Blair
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Julie
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Scott
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Sean
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Gordon Bingham
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Doug
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Reuben
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Denise Worley
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Bruce Wilson
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Michael
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Linda Knowles
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Danielle Raley
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019
Heather  Leigh Griscom
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2019

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Nexus Mirror (Chronicles of the Enlai #1)
  • Vampirella (2017) #0
  • Sonic: Tangle & Whisper #0
  • Milo's World Book 3: The Cloud Girl
  • Undead Messiah 01
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Universe, Volume 1: The War to Come
  • FCBD 2015
  • Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
  • The Accursed Inheritance of Henrietta Achilles: Book 1
  • Network Effect (The Murderbot Diaries, #5)
  • The Calculating Stars (Lady Astronaut Universe #1)
  • Peace Talks (The Dresden Files, #16)
  • The Fourth Year Spell
  • Fighting Chance (Misty City Omegas #2)
  • Deus Vult (Saint Tommy, NYPD #6)
  • Up and Coming
  • All The Prince's Men
  • An Improbable Wolf (Desert Sanctuary Book 1)
See similar books…
21 followers
Dale Renton lives with his family in a pleasant suburb of Melbourne, where he is often seen walking in the company of a large, hairy dog called Xena.

Dale's latest novel is "DART" - (SF Action/Adventure with more than a touch of humor). You can find it as an eBook in all popular formats and it can also be ordered as a paperback through Amazon.

Half Moon (Epic Fantasy, again with a touch of humor) -
...more

News & Interviews

What will you do when it's your turn to pick your book club's next read? Well, this is what you won't do: panic. Why not? Because we've dug...
71 likes · 12 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »