Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Like Home” as Want to Read:
Like Home
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Like Home

by
4.92  ·  Rating details ·  59 ratings  ·  14 reviews
Fans of Netflix's On My Block, In the Heights, and readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Ibi Zoboi will love this debut novel about a girl whose life is turned upside down after one local act of vandalism throws her relationships and even her neighborhood into turmoil.

Chinelo, or Nelo as her best friend Kate calls her, is all about her neighborhood Ginger East. She loves it
...more
Expected publication: February 23rd 2021 by Delacorte Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Like Home, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Like Home

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.92  · 
Rating details
 ·  59 ratings  ·  14 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Like Home
faith ✨
Jul 13, 2020 marked it as 2021-publications
'for fans of elizabeth acevedo and ibi zoboi' by a nigerian author 🙏🙏🙏🙏 also, pretty cover
Fanna
Jun 24, 2020 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2021-releases
June 24, 2020: When a debut novel says it's perfect for fans of Angie Thomas and Elizabeth Acevedo, I listen VERY closely. And after this cover reveal, my excitement for this one's release is HIGH. ...more
ashleigh
Jun 24, 2020 marked it as to-read
this cover 😍
jenny✨
you had me at on my block
Ashley Shuttleworth
Apr 16, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This book was just all around beautiful. I don’t normally read things that aren’t fantasy, but this book—I tell you, right from the first page it drew me in and kept me reading straight to the end. I adored Chinelo, and Kate and Rafa and Bo. They all had such depth to them, such complexity both in the relationships with one another and their personality themselves. I adored that this was set in Toronto, and how well teen life was captured in this portrayal. It’s a fun, engrossing read but it’s a ...more
Hannah Kendal
Oct 07, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Thank you NetGalley for offering me an ARC of this book in return for a fair and honest review!

Summer. Vibes. The cover has them, the story has them – the easy breezy pacing and ice cream moments make me so nostalgic for leaving sixth form on our lunches and nipping to the local shop for ice creams – and having to run back across the hospital car park to get back in time to eat them on the grass before lessons.

This story was great, with a small net of important characters that really make you fe
...more
Steve Dunk
Oct 04, 2020 rated it liked it
Louisa is a particularly good writer, that much is certain.

"Like Home" has a wonderful rhythm to it, the subject matter is timely and important, and the community of Ginger East has a personality all its own. The problem however as I see it, that, as an unlisted character, Ginger East is far and away the most compelling part of the story. The ebb and flow of its streets, the communal aspect of its people, and it is a mirror to our ever-changing society. All good things.

Try as I might however,
...more
Mariko
Aug 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I was lucky enough to read an ARC of Like Home, and it’s such a lovely, funny, bittersweet book! It deals with big, complex questions about gentrification and change, but also delivers so many quiet, sweet, beautiful moments. The friendships and the ensemble cast really stood out to me. You could feel the long history between the characters, and the banter was so well done it had me giggling at so many points. There’s also some adorable flirting and a hint of romance, though the main focuses are ...more
Hannah Kendal
Oct 14, 2020 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed reading this, and thank you to Netgalley for an ARC of the book in exchange for an honest review! This is primarily a book about change, and Nelo's struggle with accepting the changes around her. Her neighbourhood is changing, her friend is changing, her bra size is changing, and it's just too much to manage. She runs from it, hides from it...but has to learn to accept it. A great story about found family and gentrification, I'd guessed the twist but enjoyed it nonetheless
Chrystal D. Giles
Aug 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
An authentic in-depth exploration of change—changing of friendships and a community. The main character, Nelo, is a fierce champion for her beloved Ginger East and she backs down to no one on her journey to prove it’s value and worth!
Solace_In_Reading
9.28.2020
I received an e-ARC from the publisher and Louisa. This did not impact my rating or review in any way, shape, or form. This is one of my most anticipated contemporaries of 2021!
Semi
Jul 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing
The cover is giving endless summertime nights and found family friendships and I’m here for it😩😩😩
Serene
Oct 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing
**Arc courtesy of Netgalley** Review and rating to come!!
Sam Taylor
Apr 14, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A compelling look at issues of gentrification and changing landscapes alongside shifting friendships and loyalties as teens grow up together--and grow apart. First loves and energetic banter add a lot of energy to this poignant debut novel!
Just Reading Everything
rated it it was amazing
Aug 19, 2020
Shakirah Bourne
rated it it was amazing
Apr 16, 2020
Lyndall Clipstone
rated it it was amazing
Apr 15, 2020
Deborah Falaye
rated it it was amazing
Nov 06, 2019
Muhemed Masika
rated it it was amazing
Dec 20, 2019
Christina Li
rated it it was amazing
Apr 24, 2020
Erica
rated it it was amazing
Oct 20, 2020
Jesse Sutanto
rated it it was amazing
Apr 15, 2020
Brianna Bourne
rated it it was amazing
Oct 15, 2020
Jane Igharo
rated it it was amazing
May 18, 2020
Olivia Chadha
rated it it was amazing
Aug 24, 2020
Namina Forna
rated it it was amazing
Jun 13, 2019
Maiya Ibrahim
rated it it was amazing
Apr 17, 2020
Claire F
rated it it was amazing
Oct 30, 2019
Lynn Painter
rated it it was amazing
Apr 14, 2020
SE
rated it it was amazing
Apr 15, 2020
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
  • A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
  • We Are the Fire
  • The Family Upstairs
  • Legendborn (Legendborn, #1)
  • Nothing to See Here
  • Ninth House (Alex Stern #1)
  • Witches Steeped in Gold (Witches Steeped in Gold, #1)
  • Clues to the Universe
  • Wayward Son (Simon Snow, #2)
  • These Witches Don't Burn (These Witches Don't Burn, #1)
  • The Grace Year
  • These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
  • Pride and Premeditation
  • The Gilded Ones (Deathless, #1)
  • The Night Tiger
  • Bright and Dangerous Objects
  • We Are Never Meeting in Real Life.
See similar books…
27 followers
Louisa Onomé is a writer of books for teens. She holds a BA in professional writing from York University and is represented by Claire Friedman at InkWell Management.

A part of the Author Mentor Match round 3 cohort, she is also a writing mentor and all-around cheerleader for diverse works and writers. When she is not writing, her hobbies include picking up languages she may never use, trying to bak
...more

Related Articles

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
24 likes · 14 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »