Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Parliament of Blood (Department of Unclassified Artefacts, #2)” as Want to Read:
The Parliament of Blood (Department of Unclassified Artefacts, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Parliament of Blood

(Department of Unclassified Artefacts #2)

3.58  ·  Rating details ·  191 ratings  ·  28 reviews
George Archer, Liz Oldfield and Eddie Hopkins have made a rather unfortunate discovery: vampires actually exist, and they really do feed on human blood. Using an underground labyrinth of tunnels beneath Victorian London, these sinister creatures intend on destroying the human race, and they’ll start by taking over the most powerful place in London: the House of Parliament. ...more
Hardcover, 358 pages
Published November 25th 2008 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens (first published January 1st 2008)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Parliament of Blood, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Parliament of Blood

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.58  · 
Rating details
 ·  191 ratings  ·  28 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Parliament of Blood (Department of Unclassified Artefacts, #2)
Jennifer
Mar 21, 2009 rated it liked it
Shelves: ya-fantasy-scifi
Those girls who like the Twilight -esque romantic version of nice, chivalrous vampires will not like this book, where the vampires are, for the most part, very evil. Give it to boys, however. If they can get past a bit of a slow start there's a lot of really nice action set pieces with a good mix of suspense and gore. In one particularly spine-tingling bit vampires start bursting through the walls and floors of an old haunted house. Good stuff.
Terry
Dec 28, 2008 rated it liked it
With all of the vampire books coming out right now, how could I resist a book where vampires want to take over the British empire (and the rest of the world) during the Victorian age? The story is pretty good, and there are a number of plot twists, but I only give this book *** because I did not like all of the head-hopping that the author does. It may not bother some people, but I like it when an author doesn't do it so much. In short, if you haven't had your fill of vampire books, and you like ...more
Donna
What an awesome book. Really. Now here's a guy that knows how to play with the lore, not ass rape it.

First off, I was surprised by how British it was. Usually with British books, when we get them, they're Americanized. Like the Harry Potter books. Most of the British colloquialisms were removed apparently because we wouldn't get it. But this one appeared relatively untouched. There are even 'ou' spellings, British punctuation and everything. I liked it. It didn't insult my intelligence (because,
...more
Melissa
Feb 19, 2009 rated it really liked it
Shelves: er-review-books, ya
It's a romp. (As long as you don't expect much, you'll have fun!) Think: a cross between The Mummy, Raiders of the Lost Ark (though it's probably more The Last Crusade) and Dracula, set in Victorian England. Throw in a few 11- to 18-year-olds and some zombie vampires, and you've pretty much got a sense of the book. A whole lotta fun.
Jennifer
Great victorianish, mystery for middle schoolers. Vampires, London Museum of History, orphans, pickpockets, and Egyptian mummies. These vampires are not nice they are bloodthirsty and are trying to take over the world. Good suggestion for anyone who liked the Phillip Pullman mysteries, or scary (but not too scary) stories.
Venus Strange
Aug 04, 2018 rated it liked it
An easy-to-read vampire fiction! There were some parts that were rather predictable. Characters were fine, but not much development. It's a fine read, nonetheless.
Books and Literature for Teens
After reading the Twilight series, I had enough of “good” vampires. There are tons of vampire books, but can you believe there are very few with “bad” vampires in them? It makes you wonder if anybody knows that vampires were considered evil (yeah, sorry girls, if vampires were real, chances are Edward would be more interested in his next meal than getting a girlfriend) or that they are more monster than human. I mean, seriously, if vamps really existed, they’d probably be laughing their fangs of ...more
Robin Cicchetti
Victorian England, the British Museum, a mummy is about to be unwrapped during an invitation only gathering of high society types. This is the hottest invitation in London. The sarcophagus is opened, revealing a silver lining. As the unwrapping begins there is a slip of the hand, and the shears gash the hand of the Egyptologist, splashing blood onto the mummy. The blood is quickly absorbed by the dry bindings. Suddenly, the mummy shifts and squirms. A desiccated hand breaks free, grabs the edge ...more
J.Elle
Feb 10, 2010 rated it it was ok
I'm totally stuck in this YA rut (and there are some clear winners: Mortal Instruments), but most of it is starting to all sound the same. More vampires trying to take over the world/kill a bunch of people. Blah, blah. Been there, done that, read it before. What a craze Twilight started. It's like it's cool to read about/like vampires now, so authors are dashing out books as fast as they can so they can get in on the action before the fad fades. I just finished this book last week and it's alrea ...more
Amber
Jan 26, 2016 rated it really liked it
even more heart pounding then the first one. The action never stopped, and there were so many times that i laughed and screamed at the characters in anticipation. The only downer is that there was no progress between George and Liz. I swear if something dosent happen there soon, Justin Richards will have a lot of explaining to do!!!
Martha
Jan 27, 2016 rated it it was ok
Victorian vampires attempt to overthrow the British government in this overpopulated but fast-paced thriller. Far too many characters (most of whom are underdeveloped) in brief scenes that switch quickly in cinematic fashion make this book hard to follow. The Twilight crowd won't find the vampires a sufficient lure to slog through this confusing plot.
Laura
Jul 17, 2014 rated it liked it
Shelves: mystery, vampires
Enjoyable enough, but it didn't engage me in parts, as this writing style and type of vampire novel are not my cup of tea. Some of the endings to the scenes were repetitive and cliche, like something out of a cheesy horror movie (ex. someone's fangs going for someone else's neck). I did like the intrigue, however. 3.5 stars
Eric
Mar 02, 2013 rated it liked it
Pretty decent and entertaining vampire novel that takes place around the turn of the 20th century in London. The vampires are more traditional monsters to be feared rather than brooding hunks to be loved. There are also some mild but good twists on the traditional lore that made for a novel just different enough so it's not just another vampire novel.
Glenda
May 31, 2009 rated it really liked it
I came into this little series with this one. I really like Justin Richards. He's very British, but not incomprehensibly so, and this has a nice mix of Sherlock Holmes and teen mystery, mixed with some great vampires.
Kristine
Bogged down in places, but interesting take on the whole "Vampires try to take over the world" thing. Billed as a YA book, I don't think there's many teenagers out there that would stick with this one!
Jess
3.5 stars.
Very Dracula-esque. Not at all like the vampire junk coming out now. Overall a decent book, though it is very blunt in its descriptions of vampires and their practises, which could be too much for some.
Melenia
Aug 25, 2015 rated it really liked it
Enjoyed this book
Heather
Jan 12, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: teen
Justin Richards just keeps getting better! This sequel to The Death Collector is my favorite of his three novels.
Emily
A vampire mummy in Victorian England. I love Justin Richards.
Karen Desmond
Nov 02, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
5
Teresa
Feb 01, 2016 rated it it was ok
gave up reading it- too slow.....
Alex
Oct 02, 2016 added it
great book absolutely astonishong
Shadee
Aug 11, 2009 rated it liked it
Good for fans of Thirsty, The Reformed Vampire Support Group and other boy/girl vampire fans. Not romancy...
Joy
Jun 14, 2009 rated it liked it
Kind of cute, especially if you like London settings.
Chassidy Nicole Dixon
rated it it was amazing
May 24, 2019
Marjorie
rated it really liked it
Sep 26, 2016
Isla
rated it it was amazing
Mar 30, 2018
Joe
rated it liked it
Dec 27, 2018
Karin
rated it liked it
Apr 23, 2011
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Incognito: The Secret Lives of the Brain
  • Comet in Moominland (The Moomins, #2)
  • Hated You Then (Love Hurts, #1)
  • Enemies
  • Crowd of Lies (Kingsley Academy #2)
  • Prince of Air and Darkness (The Darkest Court, #1)
  • Asher Black (The Five Syndicates, #1)
  • Ruthless Empire (Royal Elite, #6)
  • Vicious Prince (Royal Elite, #5)
  • Bound by Honor (Born in Blood Mafia Chronicles, #1)
  • Filthy Rich Boys (Rich Boys of Burberry Prep, #1)
  • Mexico, 1850 (Vampire Plagues, #3)
  • Paris, 1850 (Vampire Plagues, #2)
  • London, 1850 (Vampire Plagues, #1)
  • Extermination (Vampire Plagues, #6)
  • Epidemic (Vampire Plagues, #5)
  • Outbreak (Vampire Plagues, #4)
  • Timing (Timing, #1)
See similar books…
194 followers
Justin Richards is a British writer. He has written many spin off novels based on the BBC science fiction television series Doctor Who, and he is Creative Director for the BBC Books range. He has also written for television, contributing to Five's soap opera Family Affairs. He is also the author of a series of crime novels for children about the Invisible Detective, and novels for older children. ...more

Other books in the series

Department of Unclassified Artefacts (3 books)
  • The Death Collector (Department of Unclassified Artefacts, #1)
  • The Chamber of Shadows (Department of Unclassified Artefacts, #3)

Related Articles

The prolific and beloved author John Grisham, known for his courtroom thrillers, is back this month with a new pageturner, A Time for Mercy,...
37 likes · 7 comments