Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Art of Flaneuring: How to Wander with Intention and Discover a Better Life” as Want to Read:
The Art of Flaneuring: How to Wander with Intention and Discover a Better Life
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Art of Flaneuring: How to Wander with Intention and Discover a Better Life

by
3.14  ·  Rating details ·  28 ratings  ·  10 reviews
A fun and practical guide to cultivating a more mindful and fulfilling everyday life by tapping into your inner flaneur—perfect for fans of Marie Kondo and The Little Book of Hygge.

Have you ever been walking home from work and unexpectedly took a different path just to learn more about your neighborhood? Or have you been on a vacation and walked around a new city just to
...more
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published October 22nd 2019 by Tiller Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Art of Flaneuring, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Art of Flaneuring

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-58
Average rating 3.14  · 
Rating details
 ·  28 ratings  ·  10 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Art of Flaneuring: How to Wander with Intention and Discover a Better Life
Amanda
Quick review:
I really enjoyed this treasure of a book. Flaneuring is something that I've always craved but never quite knew how to describe it or achieve it. Owen does a fantastic job here and has suggestions for all types of flaneurs, even the ones who can't be physically active.

Full review:

"Flanuering" is a word I had encountered before and immediately loved. As the subtitle indicates, it's a sort of wandering without a set destination. I think we've all done this at one time or another -
...more
McKinley
Nov 11, 2019 rated it really liked it
“Whether you’re looking for a new experience, a place to escape to where you can blend into the background, a way to catch up with a friend who loves walking as much as you do, or simply a better, more interesting life—flaneuring is for you.”
( pending looking through the final book)
The Art of Flaneuring by Erika Owen was a short fun read, and I found it to be a compelling excuse to indulge my habit of getting lost, something I usually only tolerate. If you’re a fan of books like The Little Book
...more
Jason Muckley
I loved Erika Owen's book, "The Art of Flaneuring!" This was a very helpful guide on "flaneuring," a concept born from old French men from years past who would aimlessly wander looking for romance in the day-to-day details that oftentimes go ignored. The book takes this decades-old concept into the 21st century with a host of ideas for flaneuring in the modern age.

Ms. Owen also makes it clear time and time again that this concept isn't just for old French men either. She gives great tips for
...more
Linda
Aug 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
This delightful book presents fresh ways to enjoy life, and in particular, walking. A current day "Flaneurer" is someone who lives in the moment and takes in their surroundings in a relaxed and meditative way. Instead of walking just to get somewhere, or for exercise, this book promotes ways to make your walk even more fulfilling and to help add interest and relaxation to your day. Stressed at work? Flaneur.! Subway too crowded? Flaneur! This book also includes ways to Flanuer if you are ...more
Dasha Slepenkina
Sep 25, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: netgalley-reads
A big thank-you to NetGalley, the author, and publisher for giving me a copy of this book for an unbiased review.

3 stars - Liked it

This is a delightful read for anyone who loves walking – specifically, flaneuring, or “wandering with intention.” Owen delves into the history of flaneuring, tips and tricks on how to incorporate this activity into your daily routine, and flaneuring as a global phenomenon.

Overall, I found the book very enjoyable. I’ve wandered with intention all over the globe –
...more
Alicia Bayer
Aug 27, 2019 rated it liked it
This is an interesting little book that teaches you how to flaneur (wander for fun) in all different ways. Apparently flaneuring was something upper class white French men used to do when they had enough leisure time to just stroll around seeing, learning and thinking things. It is apparently the latest cultural "in" thing, like hygge a few years ago.

Flaneuring sounds kind of fun but I'm not sure a book is really needed. One web page could easily sum up what it is and give some ideas. This is
...more
Scycer
Nov 19, 2019 rated it liked it
Purposeful wandering... what a wonderful idea. The aim of this book is to bring some semblance of control in the chaos that is modern life.

Flaneuring is a french word that originally that depicts that philandering attentions of a drunk on the path outside of the drinking spots. The misadventures and remarkable conversations/observations that tend to follow such behavior.

However in today's context Flaneuring is a lot more and is present in all cultures in some form or other such walking after a
...more
Diane Hernandez
Oct 22, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: netgalley
The Art of Flaneuring is to wander intentionally in an aimless way. It is a technique to use mindfulness, live in the moment, and get some exercise.

It was first practiced by rich, slightly drunken Frenchmen in the late 1800s. In modern times, it isn’t so limiting. In fact, flaneuring can be done at work, while driving, or when traveling. It is healthy to let your unconscious mind free-rein over where you go for a few minutes. Though, of course, you eventually want to return to your starting
...more
Cat Cassel
Nov 17, 2019 rated it it was ok
Was hoping it would be useful for my upcoming writing course on art/architecture/street culture in Dublin, which takes as its framework the flaneur. Was very surface-level, and kind of juvenile. There's several pages about what I should pack to go on a walk, or how I can cyberflaneur from my desk at work. *eyeroll* Nothing in here I can assign to my students as model writing about flaneuring...
Jami Murphy
Dec 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
Honestly, I have been a flaneur all my life. This book is me and my weird walking habits put into book format. It’s good to know other people do this too.

I really liked this book and think it would make a lively gift for some who already likes walking or just wants to think about experiencing life in a new way.
Leah
rated it it was ok
Nov 27, 2019
Lucy Morris
rated it it was ok
Dec 03, 2019
Lynne
rated it really liked it
Nov 15, 2019
Kara Thornton
rated it it was amazing
Dec 02, 2019
Nidia
rated it liked it
Nov 03, 2019
Melissa Moore
rated it really liked it
Oct 27, 2019
Jazmin Ortega
rated it it was ok
Nov 12, 2019
Lauren
rated it it was amazing
Oct 23, 2019
Clementine
rated it it was ok
Nov 28, 2019
Ida March
rated it it was ok
Nov 21, 2019
Elizabeth Shults
rated it it was ok
Nov 04, 2019
Allison Salmon
rated it really liked it
Nov 20, 2019
Mr Michael
rated it liked it
Nov 29, 2019
Denise
rated it it was ok
Oct 28, 2019
Annie
rated it did not like it
Aug 17, 2019
Tanith L.
rated it it was amazing
Nov 22, 2019
Nathan
rated it it was ok
Dec 13, 2019
M
rated it liked it
Nov 03, 2019
Jessika
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2019
Pippin
marked it as to-read
May 24, 2019
Cody Austin
marked it as to-read
May 31, 2019
Amanda Jennie
marked it as to-read
Jul 07, 2019
Kelly
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2019
Crystal
marked it as to-read
Jul 12, 2019
Lisa
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2019
Justine
marked it as to-read
Aug 20, 2019
Lindsay
marked it as to-read
Aug 21, 2019
Megan Bannister
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2019
Amy-Christine
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2019
Jacqie
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2019
Boxofdelights
marked it as to-read
Sep 20, 2019
Emily
is currently reading it
Sep 29, 2019
Avolyn Fisher
is currently reading it
Oct 02, 2019
Lisa Buchanan
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2019
Katie
marked it as to-read
Oct 06, 2019
Marianne
marked it as to-read
Oct 06, 2019
Jessica
marked it as to-read
Oct 06, 2019
BonLivre
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2019
Tara
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2019
Dominique Brown
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2019
Amy Doyel
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2019
Andrea Carrera
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2019
Jessica Loizzo
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2019
Jenni Powell
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2019
Erin MacDonald
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Å gå. Ett skritt av gangen
  • The Art of Making Memories: How to Create and Remember Happy Moments
  • Inspired Artist: Draw Every Little Thing: Learn to draw more than 100 everyday items, from food to fashion
  • After the Flood
  • Dear Girls: Intimate Tales, Untold Secrets, & Advice for Living Your Best Life
  • A Crash of Fate (Star Wars: Galaxy's Edge, #1)
  • Rose City Vice: Portland in the 70's — Dirty Cops and Dirty Robbers
  • Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper: A Sweet-Sour Memoir of Eating in China
  • Everything is Figureoutable: How One Simple Belief Can Help Us Overcome Any Obstacle and Create Unstoppable Success
  • Things That Art: A Graphic Menagerie of Enchanting Curiosity
  • My Shit Life So Far
  • I, Partridge: We Need to Talk About Alan
  • Nonsense: The Power of Not Knowing
  • The Night Gardener
  • Don't Keep Your Day Job: How to Turn Your Passion into Your Career
  • The Pursuit of Endurance: Harnessing the Record-Breaking Power of Strength and Resilience
  • The Hoarder in You: How to Live a Happier, Healthier, Uncluttered Life
  • The Danish Way of Parenting: What the Happiest People in the World Know About Raising Confident, Capable Kids
See similar books…