Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Bone China” as Want to Read:
Bone China
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Bone China

by
3.82  ·  Rating details ·  1,110 ratings  ·  257 reviews
Consumption has ravaged Louise Pinecroft's family, leaving her and her father alone and heartbroken. But Dr Pinecroft has plans for a revolutionary experiment: convinced that sea air will prove to be the cure his wife and children needed, he arranges to house a group of prisoners suffering from the same disease in the cliffs beneath his new Cornish home. While he devotes ...more
Hardcover, 433 pages
Published September 19th 2019 by Raven Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Bone China, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Bone China

Wakenhyrst by Michelle PaverThe Familiars by Stacey HallsBone China by Laura  PurcellThe Lost History of Dreams by Kris WaldherrThe Glass Woman by Caroline Lea
2019 Gothic
30 books — 26 voters
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane SetterfieldThe Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz ZafónRebecca by Daphne du MaurierThe Historian by Elizabeth KostovaThe Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton
Modern Gothic
463 books — 1,270 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.82  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,110 ratings  ·  257 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Bone China
Amalia Gavea
''This is the bitterest winter I can recall. Too cold, even for snow. A world washed innocent and white might bring me some comfort, but no - this is the season of sleet and gunmetal skies. Everything is grey and cold. It is like purgatory, like my heart.''

A heavy winter in Cornwall. Frost, mist. Silence. Icy tears on the windowpanes, the murmur of the tireless sea, the silence in a house where the past walks, rattling heavy chains. Two women. Hester Why, escaping from a dangerous position,
...more
Paromjit
Sep 10, 2019 rated it really liked it
Laura Purcell writes another of her well written and atmospheric trademark gothic historical novels set in a isolated house, Morvoren House, on the Cornish coastline that goes back and forth in time. Hester Why is running away from her post as a lady's maid in London, a situation of which we learn much more later. She has changed her name as she arrives in Cornwall at Morvoren House to help nurse the partially paralysed, almost mute Miss Louise Pinecroft. However, Hester just might well have ...more
Phrynne
Sep 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 5000-2019
When I see a book by Laura Purcell now I snap it up instantly. I also know what to expect - something Victorian, gothic, slightly creepy, containing lots of accurate historical fact, well written and very enjoyable.

Bone China did not let me down. There was my much loved Cornwall which can indeed be a spooky place up on the moors and on the bleaker parts of the coast line. There was all the history of the time - the folklore, the strange to us medical practices, the china clay industry in earlier
...more
Sara
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Bone China is the latest offering from gothic writer Laura Purcell, and follows multiple timelines and threads 40 years apart to weave a tale steeped in Cornish folklore with her traditional spooky writing style. I loved The Silent Companions, and was hoping for something with a similar atmospheric feel, but there’s just something missing here.

There no denying that Purcell can write, and write well. Her stories are always consumed
...more
Umut Rados
Jun 29, 2019 rated it it was ok
I think at this stage, we can say the only book I enjoyed from Purcell is The Silent Companions. The Corset was a miss being very crowded and having plot holes in it.
I was still excited for Bone China because I love her spooky, gothic writing style. Also, the history and atmosphere she contains in her books are amazing. I still find the historic and atmospheric quality of her books very strong. But, I just don't get along with her plots.
This one contained 3 different story lines very separate
...more
Pauline
Jul 21, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: netgalley
A gothic novel based in Cornwall about two women Louise and Hester.
This story is told in two timelines 40 years apart.
I found the story creepy and strange.
Thank you to NetGalley and Bloomsbury Publishing for my e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
Blair
A serviceable gothic novel stuffed with so many characters and subplots that it begins to trip up over itself... which probably makes it even more authentically gothic, I suppose. After leaving her previous role in disgrace, Esther Stevens has reinvented herself as 'Hester Why' and fled to the Cornish coast. Employed at a forbidding house named Morvoren, she finds herself tasked with caring for the near-mute Miss Pinecroft, whose household is dominated by her superstitious maid Creeda. ...more
Joanna Smith
I enjoyed this book much more than ‘The Silent Companions’ and Laura Purcell is becoming a great historical novelist. The book is well researched and the characters are emotionally developed and intriguing. Four stars ...more
warhawke
Genre: Historical Fiction/Mystery
Type: Standalone
POV: Shifting – First person & third person POV
Rating:




Hester Why arrived in Cornwall with a hope for a fresh beginning as the new live-in nurse. Running from her troubled past, little did she know Morvoren House held its own secret, festering into the household in the last 40 years. As she tried to help them with the truth, she must toe it delicately or risked shattering everything she believed in.



This book turned out to be different than I
...more
Emma
Jun 03, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
Hester Why is exceedingly unlucky. Either that, or the kind of person who makes her own bad fortune. Fleeing from her position in London, she arrives at Morvoren House to find out that things might have gotten worse. Her troubles in the city, at least, had been human in nature; in the wilds of the Cornish coast, she might have attracted the attention of something much darker and more dangerous…

Although individually the three main threads of the book have all the ingredients for a good story,
...more
Andreia ❤The Butterfly Lover❤ One book after another
"I did not need ownership to adore her, I could have done that from afar. And in her own way, she would have loved me. But I always wanted more. You ought to give things to the one you love. Not take, as I have done."

Unforgettable, SPECTACULAR!! Brilliant!! Spooky! Intricate!! Very COMPLEX, with an ending I would never see coming.
If you like this you may like The Poison Thread.
Lou
Oct 07, 2019 rated it really liked it
Bone China marks the return of critically acclaimed writer Ms Purcell in a whole new gothic historical thriller which really packs a punch. Full of dark, disturbing elements and a spooky and almost claustrophobic atmosphere, we are treated to compulsively readable tale and one that is difficult to put down once it has you in its grasp. Set in Morvoren House, an isolated and eerie building standing alone on the stunning but often harsh Cornish coastline, we enter a world of myth, superstition and ...more
Emma
Aug 27, 2019 rated it really liked it
Creepy, gothic, tragic, superstition, insanity: these are becoming the hallmark of a Laura Purcell story and long may it continue. Does belief in the local Cornish folklore make it true? This tale is saturated in folklore, fear, paranoia and dread. Hester Why is a misguided and sad character who seems only to want to be loved and needed- finally she finds a way to save one of her charges.
Ova - Excuse My Reading
Sadly an early DNF- so I don't think it'll be fair to score it.
gem
Jun 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Beautifully written and truly original.

I have read and loved The Silent Companions and The Corset, so I was really excited when I saw LP had a new book due out. Bone China continues LP’s reign as the new Queen of Gothic Fiction.
Set on the cliffs of Cornwall, the scene is set for Hester Why to join the staff in Morveron house, and within a very short timeframe things become increasingly odd. The book focuses on Hester’s story, and the medical experiments that took place in the cliffs under the
...more
Kirsty
Oct 11, 2019 rated it really liked it
I loved Laura Purcell's first novel, The Silent Companions, and this certainly didn't disappoint. It's a spooky glory of the highest order. The setting of a sea-blasted, salt-crusted house on the Cornish cliffs is so atmospheric and creepy; I loved all the details about how bone china is made (no spoilers, though I would have liked a little more leaning-in to the horror of that at the end); and the emotional journey of the protagonist was intriguing. Already looking forward to Purcell's next!
Justine
Originally posted to I Should Read That

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This is a spoiler-free review.

4.5 out of 5 stars

I absolutely loved Purcell’s first Gothic novel, The Silent Companions, but was disappointed in the second, The Corset. Naturally, I was very curious about Bone China, her latest book, to see if it would recapture everything I loved about The Silent Companions. It absolutely did -- Bone China is a fantastic addition to
...more
Indieflower
Oct 30, 2019 rated it really liked it
Another creepy offering from Laura Purcell that I perhaps didn't enjoy as much as her others. Happily I found much of my beloved gothic gloom to wallow in, mist, bleak cliffs, fairy folklore, superstition, fainting and fatal bouts of consumption abound, but the main character Esther/Hester, left me wanting. She was somewhat irritating and unlikeable (which is not necessarily a problem in itself) but her back story wasn't filled out enough. Events that had occurred in her life previously, were ...more
Michelle
Aug 25, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Thank you NetGalley and Raven books for a copy of this book I was looking forward to reading Bone China as I loved her previous two books The Silent Companions and The Corset.
Set in Cornwall Hester Why is travelling to her new job in Morvoren House, after leaving her previously job abruptly. We learn more about why later in the story. When she helps someone as they just fallen off the carriage. She arrives at Morvoren house where she meets an eclectic group of people. The story also goes back 40
...more
Joy  Finlayson
There were too many plots within this novel, all of which were therefore only half-developed, which made it largely unsatisfying. Had Purcell taken one or two key parts and crafted those into the story, it would have been really worthwhile. The author clearly has talent, just too many ideas for one novel on this occasion.
Natasha
Sep 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arc, gothic
If you are looking for a creepy, sinister book to read this Halloween, look no further. Faeries, dark caves, floating lights, radical medical experiments, haunted houses, servants with shocking secrets, changelings and scary dolls. Yes yes yes!! This has it all.

Bone China is a character driven gothic tale of superstition, obsession and insanity. It is so dark and atmospheric and every page is filled with an unsettling, ominous foreboding. I was gripped and beguiled.

Thank you to Netgalley and
...more
Sarah  Loves Books and tea
Sep 11, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: netgalley
Bone China is a gothic historical novel set in Cornwall and written from the perspectives of two very different women 40 years apart. The first main character Hester works as a companion and carer to the mute and partially paralysed Miss Pinecroft in her very creepy house but in the alternate viewpoint we follow the young Miss Pinecroft when her family first move to Cornwall. I loved the very early chapters which explain why Hester is on the run from her previous employers and that was my ...more
MariaWitBook
Dec 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Love it! Perfect storytelling
Literary Han
Well that was an odd read.


Like all of Purcell’s books you are left with questions unanswered and I do enjoy that aspect!

The writing was easy to read and very reminiscent of Victorian England.

However, there was little plot and I found it tedious at times.

An average read

I would recommend for spooky vibes

Hannah xoxo
pennyg
Jan 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Absolutely loved this, up all night reading. Victorian gothic at its best, the last 100 Pages were un-put-downable. I have enjoyed all of Laura Purcell 's books but I think this one might be my favorite. As with her other books, always atmospheric, big mansion at the edge of the sea cliff, spooky supernatural elements, strong, fascinating but often flawed female characters and that bang of an ending. This one would make a heck of a movie. Highly recommend if you enjoy gothic.

'The entire house
...more
Beadyjan
Jun 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: best-reads-2019
Wow!! @SpookyPurcell does it again, delves into the past and pulls out a ripe juicy plum of a story.
Haunting and mesmerising, Bone China is set over 2 historical periods of time 40 years apart.
The story begins with Hester Why travelling by carriage to Cornwall to take up a new position at Morvoren House where she is to be employed as a domestic help nursing the frail, elderly, invalid Miss Pinecroft. It’s obvious Hester is running away from something. She is leaving behind her a trail of jobs
...more
Karly
Jul 22, 2019 rated it liked it
Thank you to Netgalley and the publishers for an E-ARC copy of Bone China in exchange for an honest review.

I was so excited to read this book. It started off really promising. The scene and atmosphere was set really well. It began with Hester Why on her journey and arrival at her new job at Morvoren House. It then took us back to her previous job and the reason why she left. Another part of the story then took us back 40 years or so to tell the story of the life of her new mistress. This was all
...more
Jack
Jan 30, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: horror, gothic
An unfortunate let down for me. Purcell's The Silent Companions is an all-time favourite for me, but this one didn't pack the punch I'd hoped for. As a fan of the Gothic genre I commend that Purcell did not falter at all in creating the gloomy yet beautiful atmosphere that is characteristic of the Gothic. She is flawless in her contemporary renditions of classical elements.

I often find that some modern authors attempting Gothic become to self-involved with pushing the amount of digestible
...more
Louise
Aug 16, 2019 rated it really liked it
Laura Purcell is fast becoming one of my auto-buy authors.

Much like her debut, The Silent Companions and her previous novel, The Corset, Bone China is a gothicly atmospheric and creepy period piece. Purcell perfectly manages to teeter on the edge of psychological horror and paranormal fantasy. In Bone China the elements at war against each other are guilt, grief and illness versus superstition and fairy changelings.



It’s hard to review this book without giving too much away: much like Purcell’s
...more
Debra
Jun 26, 2019 rated it it was ok
Set primarily in Cornwall during two time periods roughly 40 years apart we follow Louise Pinecroft & her family. In the early thread Louise is helping her physician Father with a new treatment for TB. In the later thread Louise is an older woman still living in the same house in Cornwall.

I wasn’t a big fan of this author’s first book, The Silent Companions. I felt there was something missing from it & I feel the same with this book. There is a lot of discussion around the Cornish
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Lost Ones
  • The Foundling
  • Starve Acre
  • The Confession
  • Wakenhyrst
  • Mistletoe
  • Platform Seven
  • The Temple House Vanishing
  • Pine
  • The Guest List
  • To Keep You Safe
  • Keep Clear: my adventures with Asperger’s
  • Lady of the Ravens
  • A Shadow on the Lens
  • The Familiars
  • The Museum of Broken Promises
  • The Wayward Girls
  • The Art of Dying (Way of All Flesh 2)
See similar books…
997 followers
Laura Purcell is a former bookseller and lives in Colchester with her husband and pet guinea pigs.

Her first novel for Raven Books THE SILENT COMPANIONS won the WHSmith Thumping Good Read Award 2018 and featured in both the Zoe Ball and Radio 2 Book Clubs. Other Gothic novels include THE CORSET (THE POISON THREAD in USA), BONE CHINA and THE SHAPE OF DARKNESS (2020)

Laura’s historical fiction about
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“Anger has ever been a failing of mine. When it surges, it sings in my veins like a dram of gin. Any action seems possible, reasonable. It is only afterwards, when the fire fades, that I see the dark soot-stain of what I have done.” 2 likes
More quotes…