Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Rules for Being a Girl” as Want to Read:
Rules for Being a Girl
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Rules for Being a Girl

by
3.88  ·  Rating details ·  59 ratings  ·  21 reviews
It starts before you can even remember: You learn the rules for being a girl. . . .

Marin has always been good at navigating these unspoken guidelines. A star student and editor of the school paper, she dreams of getting into Brown University. Marin’s future seems bright―and her young, charismatic English teacher, Mr. Beckett, is always quick to admire her writing and talk
...more
ebook, 304 pages
Expected publication: April 7th 2020 by HarperTeen
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Rules for Being a Girl, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Rules for Being a Girl

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.88  · 
Rating details
 ·  59 ratings  ·  21 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Rules for Being a Girl
booksneedcaffeinetoo
Dec 21, 2019 marked it as to-read
finally a book where the teacher is called out for being a fucking pedo.
this book sounds like it has moxie vibes and i'm here for it.
Rahma Abdelrahman
Honestly, this sounds a lot like Amelia Westlake Was Never Here, but I'm here for it!
Julie
Jan 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing
**Thank you to Harper Collins Canada and HCC Frenzy for giving me an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.**

Reading the synopsis to this book, I knew that this was going to be an important book and one that I wanted to check out. In a time where it still feels like women are having to fight for all of their rights, to fight to be heard, this is a fantastic book for young girls.

Marin has a traumatic and uncomfortable experience with an authority figure, and it changes how
...more
caitlin
Nov 11, 2019 rated it liked it
Review copy courtesy of Edelweiss.

This was an interesting look at a high school senior’s feminist awakening, triggered by an unwanted advance by a beloved teacher who ends up sabotaging her grades and college prospects. Perfect for fans of “Moxie.”
Melannie :)
Aug 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I loved it. Review closer to pub date.
Fer Bañuelos (myownlittlebookshelf)
most anticipated book of the year peeps
Sarah Perchikoff
Nov 17, 2019 rated it really liked it
Feminism alert!! If you couldn't tell, I love a book with feminism as it's theme especially when it's a YA book. I will forever be amazed at what teenagers know these days when it comes to feminism. I was still covered in internalized misogyny and they are talking about intersectionality and toxic masculinity. I LOVE to see it!

Rules for Being a Girl tells the story that is all too familiar. A teacher is inappropriate with a student and when the student comes forward, she is not believed and then
...more
Carly Faith
Jan 28, 2020 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: owned, 2020-reads
god, i could go OFF about this book and how TRASH it was. i definielty think author is someone i can't read ever again.

i will leave a link to my rant review because it got me that heated.

rate: 1.5/5
Aly
This was such an easy, but, IMPORTANT read. I freaking loved it and immediately pre-ordered it.
Brianna Benton
I absolutely loved this book. I felt like the pacing was perfect and the ending was completely satisfying. I got a little emotional during (view spoiler). Highly recommend this book.
Kristi Housman Confessions of a YA Reader
4 1/2 stars

RTC
Alexandra
My first favorite book of 2020. More when I gather my thoughts. But please, please read this book.
Fanna
Dec 20, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2020-releases
- "feminist novel"
- deals with sexual harassment and sexism
- unapologetic female protagonist
-
Leah Grover
Jan 06, 2020 rated it it was amazing
RULES FOR BEING A GIRL rights at least one wrong from the Sex and the City television series (you know the episode I'm thinking of), and its cast boasts a searing reality and cultural awareness that Carrie and friends can't quite match. In many ways, Marin's arc is a best-case scenario--which isn't to say that this was an easy read. After all, how many of us know women who have struggled with the choice to report the inappropriate advances of an authority, or have done so personally? Cotugno and ...more
Kacennnka
Takhle kniha chtěla mluvit o hrozně moc tématech, o kterých je navíc potřeba mluvit, ale u žádného se jí to nepovedlo naplno. Byl tam feminismus, ale nic konkrétního. Mluvilo se o rape culture, ale místy mi to přišlo trochu překroucené a ve výsledku to nevyznělo tak, bych považovala za příhodné. Naťukávala se šikana, ale nic moc z toho. V zásadě takhle kniha balancovala mezi klasickou chick lit a vážnějšími tématy, ale víc než průměrné nebylo ani jedno. Za velkou mezeru taky považuji postavy, ...more
Maria Flaherty
Jan 19, 2020 rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Cozy Ink
Jan 13, 2020 rated it it was ok
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Asha - A Cat, A Book, And A Cup Of Tea
I don't usually do issue-based contemporary books, but I decided to give this a couple of chapters to confirm it wasn't for me, since I received it unsolicited from the publisher for review. Before I knew it, I was 100 pages in, so it's definitely pacey and easy to read. I ended up reading it in one sitting. I think it's a good starter for thinking about the topics of everyday sexism and feminism, and also highlights the issue of men in positions of authority preying on teenage girls. It's an ...more
Andrew
Jan 06, 2020 rated it it was amazing
After Marin's teacher makes an inappropriate advance on her, she tries to report it, but everyone seems to think she's just confused. Now, Marin is tired of being a "good girl" and playing by the unspoken rules society has made for women. Though not everyone is supportive of her speaking out, she finds a new place for her emerging self by founding a feminist book club at school-- a new, safe place to grow. Many modern issues are covered in this addicting novel, which I flew through in just one ...more
Steph
Feb 16, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This made me all kinds of angry, disgusted, happy and sad. I love that Marin’s family were so lovely. Team Grey all the way. The power of believing a person’s truth and their story, versus a battle of power. She was treated so unfairly, but she’s a fighter. There’s so much truth in this book and it made me cross for women all over the world.
Ellie M
Jan 03, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Coletta
rated it really liked it
Oct 10, 2019
Alexandra
rated it it was amazing
Feb 07, 2020
Bailey Riddle
rated it it was amazing
Sep 08, 2019
Jenny
rated it really liked it
Dec 12, 2019
Eishar Kaur
rated it liked it
Apr 01, 2019
May
rated it liked it
Aug 07, 2019
Stacey
rated it liked it
Sep 23, 2019
Anika
rated it liked it
Jan 27, 2020
walice
rated it really liked it
Dec 07, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Yes No Maybe So
  • Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei, #1)
  • The Betrothed (The Betrothed, #1)
  • Clique Bait
  • We Are the Wildcats
  • The Honey-Don't List
  • A Match Made in Mehendi
  • The Liar's Daughter
  • In Five Years
  • Almost American Girl
  • The Mall
  • I Can Make This Promise
  • Get a Life, Chloe Brown (The Brown Sisters, #1)
  • What Kind of Girl
  • Our Wayward Fate
  • Well Met (Well Met, #1)
  • All Your Twisted Secrets
  • You Say It First
See similar books…
2,540 followers
Candace Bushnell is the critically acclaimed, international best-selling author of Killing Monica, Sex and the City, Summer and the City, The Carrie Diaries, One Fifth Avenue, Lipstick Jungle, Trading Up, and Four Blondes. Sex and the City, published in 1996, was the basis for the HBO hit series and two subsequent blockbuster movies. Lipstick Jungle became a popular television series on NBC, as ...more