Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Tales of Lunis Aquaria” as Want to Read:
Tales of Lunis Aquaria
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Tales of Lunis Aquaria

by
4.25  ·  Rating details ·  16 ratings  ·  8 reviews
The balance is tipping. Something shifts in the world of Lunis Aquaria. Menacing creatures, daunting deserts, and treacherous mountains. Hardships and solace, friendships and love. Read the stories of what went on before the world is lost in disparity and meet the heroes who will one day restore harmony.

Tales of Lunis Aquaria is a collection of nine short stories set in th
...more
ebook, 1, 119 pages
Published April 18th 2019 by Narratess
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Tales of Lunis Aquaria, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Tales of Lunis Aquaria

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-39
Average rating 4.25  · 
Rating details
 ·  16 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Tales of Lunis Aquaria
Tamara
Apr 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed this book. Nine short stories that are set in a magical world that goes beyond imagination. Each story leaves you longing for more and I really want to know how different characters develop and what adventures lay before them. It’s impossible to choose only one of those stories as my favorite, I loved them all but Lovers across Time and Decapod’s Ire are my favorites, the latter would make for an awesome fantasy film in my opinion.

I hope that this author will write more stories
...more
Nessa Luna [October Tune]
I liked some of the stories, but others fell kind of flat for me. I wished they had been longer so I had more time to get to know the characters because I felt like I didn't really know them at all (aside from maybe the ones in the second-to-last story), and some stories felt like they ended too abruptly. Also, I read in another review there was something connecting all stories together, but I really could not see that at all. Still, it was an enjoyable adventure!
Chris Durston
May 08, 2020 rated it really liked it
I suspect this book is exactly what a lot of people will need in their lives right now. Hastjarjanto captures the fleeting feeling of escape that all the best fairytales provide, but I've rarely come across it done so well in contemporary fiction. As a whole and as its individual stories, Tales of Lunis Aquaria is really easy to read in the best way: you can just sort of disappear into its world for a bit.

That's not to say that there aren't rewards for a closer reader; the stories, though they a
...more
Jack Stark
A rare 3 stars from me. I feel like Hastjarjanto may still be developing her writing style and voice (aren’t we all), and this would have benefited from a little more development, and by going through a few more edits. The balance of show and tell felt off. But, it was far from all bad. I could overlook those things enough for this collection to still be enjoyable. The world of Lunis Aquaria is beautiful and the stories are dreamlike and ethereal. There is some really wonderful folklore created ...more
Isabella May
Apr 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An enchanting collection!

I loved all nine of these very unique stories and their powerful and individual messages. The author weaves such a magical spell with her words and this collection is a lovely way to switch off from modern life and lose yourself in another world. Perfect for fans of Heidi Catherine. Excited to see what Tessa Hastjarjanto comes up with next!
Angela ♡
May 16, 2020 rated it really liked it
Ahh, I really loved this! The world of Lunis Aquaria was built beautifully and I found myself lost in each short story, it was shocking once the stories came to an end. Definitely looking forward to what happens next!
Ravven
Jul 17, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Beautiful Tales of Imagination

These are gorgeously written tales of magic and nature, both uplifting and sad. I loved these stories so much, highly recommend.
Lucy-May
Apr 22, 2020 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed this little collection full of magical tales & I really hope Tessa releases another volume so I can find out what happens next with some of the stories. Tessa’s writing was calming & had that wonderful chilled out fairy tale vibe that is loved so much. I definitely want to read more of her work!

⚠️ Deaths by a fire, some violence, hunting animals & some horrible violence towards a mythical creature ⚠️

Extended Review: https://wp.me/p8MbIo-383
...more
Chris Durston
rated it really liked it
May 08, 2020
Elle
rated it it was amazing
Dec 04, 2019
Psaraa
rated it liked it
Oct 13, 2019
Alli Treman
rated it really liked it
Nov 20, 2019
Emma
rated it it was amazing
Apr 14, 2019
s
rated it it was amazing
Apr 16, 2019
Tessa
Mar 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Marion Pelgrim
rated it really liked it
Sep 05, 2019
Anna Reel
marked it as to-read
Mar 24, 2019
Natalie Bettger
is currently reading it
Mar 24, 2019
Rinike
marked it as to-read
Mar 24, 2019
Manon
marked it as to-read
Mar 25, 2019
Delly
marked it as to-read
Mar 25, 2019
Hannah
added it
Mar 25, 2019
Stephanie
marked it as to-read
Apr 04, 2019
Zenobia
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2019
Mirjam hoffman
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2019
Bianca Beijen-Bankeman
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2019
S.
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2019
Glenda
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2019
Naatje
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2019
Delsin
marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2019
Mel (Daily Prophecy)
marked it as to-read
Apr 28, 2019
InfernoSis
marked it as to-read
Jun 09, 2019
Moon
marked it as to-read
Jun 27, 2019
Naithin
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2019
Tram
marked it as to-read
Aug 10, 2019
Jaide B
marked it as to-read
Sep 08, 2019
ElizrdbthSpeaks
marked it as to-read
Sep 29, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Beach Read
  • Irish Fairy and Folk Tales
  • Ghostly Tales: Spine-Chilling Stories of the Victorian Age (Books for Halloween, Ghost Stories, Spooky Book)
  • The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #2)
  • The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down: A Hmong Child, Her American Doctors, and the Collision of Two Cultures
  • V for Vendetta
  • Opium and Absinthe
  • Breakup Anniversary
  • The Deep
  • Batman, Volume 2: The City of Owls
  • Batman, Volume 3: Death of the Family
  • Batman, Volume 4: Zero Year: Secret City
  • Batman, Volume 5: Zero Year: Dark City
  • Scott Pilgrim, Volume 1: Scott Pilgrim's Precious Little Life
  • The Perfect Escape
  • Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock
  • Moon-Sitting
  • This Is How You Lose the Time War
See similar books…
Tessa Hastjarjanto is a Dutch/Indonesian writer from the Netherlands. She writes speculative fiction, and blogs at narratess.com about books, fountain pens, and writing.

From a young age, she imitated popular stories and games in creating her own worlds. This love eventually led to a masters degree in media and game studies at the University of Utrecht. However a mundane desk job was enough to ins
...more

Related Articles

As serious bookworms know, autumn reading is particularly rewarding. The days get shorter, the air gets cooler, and curling up with a...
424 likes · 190 comments