Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Vanished Bride” as Want to Read:
The Vanished Bride
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Vanished Bride

3.97  ·  Rating details ·  34 ratings  ·  24 reviews
Before they became legendary writers, Charlotte Brontë, Emily Brontë, and Anne Brontë were detectors in this charming historical mystery...

Yorkshire, 1845. A young wife and mother has gone missing from her home, leaving behind two small children and a large pool of blood. Just a few miles away, a humble parson's daughters--the Brontë sisters--learn of the crime. Charlotte,
...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Expected publication: September 10th 2019 by Berkley Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Vanished Bride, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Vanished Bride

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.97  · 
Rating details
 ·  34 ratings  ·  24 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Tucker
Jun 01, 2019 marked it as arcs-to-read
Recommended to Tucker by: Berkley Publishing Group

Many thanks to Berkley for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review

| Goodreads | Blog | Twitch | Pinterest | Buy
Rebecca
Jun 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
Thank you to Berkley Publishing for the copy of The Vanished Bride which I won through a Goodreads Giveway. This review is left voluntarily.

When I saw this was a mystery involving the Bronte sisters I knew I had to read this. I adore them and thought this sounded like an interesting read, it did not disappoint.

This follows Emily, Charlotte and Anne (with the help of their brother Branwell) become sleuths as they try to piece together the mysterious disappearance of a young mother. In a time wher
...more
lauren
[Gifted from the publisher. All views are my own]

Before I start I just want to say that a full, coherent review will go live on my blog at some point this week, so if you're interested to know more it'll be here.

This was a super fun, light-hearted read. I'm in such a reading slump at the moment; I don't feel like picking up anything. I thought this arc would help ease me back in to reading. It's very fast paced, so it did the job. I actually wanted to finish it as quick as a I could because I c
...more
Sally Lindsay-briggs
Jun 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This was very well written fiction about the Bronte sisters and their brother. A murder happened at their friend's place of work. Mattie was a nanny. The sisters were keen on detecting who did the deed. They find many clues and drive their father a bit crazy with worry about their safety. Much happens in their travels that intrigue the reader. You suspect certain ones but it is not what you think!
This was an excellent Goodreads gift and I will look for other books by this author.
Kathleen
Jul 15, 2019 rated it really liked it
The word that kept coming to mind when reading this was delightful. Other than some of their written works, I don't know anything about the Brontes or their lives so I found the personification of their various personalities in this work to be extremely fun and interesting. While I did figure out part of the mystery very quickly, I was completely off base as to why and how it all happened which made for a really enjoyable read. The chapters themselves are titled with the alternating characters, ...more
Sarah Perchikoff
Jun 23, 2019 rated it really liked it
This is going to be a short review because do I really need to say anything more than "the Bronte sisters solve crimes together" to make you read the book? If so...your standards might be too high. But either either way, that is exactly what this book is and it's delightful and dark and introspective and so interesting. I had such a good time reading it. Let's get to the review! (I'll try to keep it short lol)

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Yorkshire, 1845. A young wife and mother has gone missing fro
...more
Jean Kolinofsky
Jul 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
In 1845, Charlotte, Emily and Anne Brontë we’re living at home with their father and brother and had not yet become published authors. When they receive word of the disappearance of Mrs. Chester, they travel to the Chester estate to offer their support to their friend Mattie, the children’s governess. It was Mattie who discovered the blood-spattered room, but there was no body to be found.

Working together, the sisters use their powers of observation to investigate Mrs. Chester’s disappearance. A
...more
Heather Brock
Jun 05, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: books-won, giveaways
The premise of this novel is a compelling one-the Bronte sisters as amateur detectives. You can tell that the author attempted to tell this tale with a similar milieu and mood as the works of the Bronte sisters themselves. She made efforts to turn this into a Gothic tale of its own. At times it did feel contrived and slightly forced, but overall it was enjoyable. The manuscript could do with another once over and final edit before release-there a handful of noticeable typos, but certainly not th ...more
Sharon
Jun 20, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: net-galley
Imagine, if you will, the Bronte sisters as amateur detectives. The language is very similar to novels written many years ago, slightly old-fashioned, but fitting to the area of England where the Bronte sisters and their brother, Bramwell, lived. The family lived with their father, a local pastor, and even though they were very poor, certain standards must be kept. The family all dabbled at their writing, but no one paid much attention to it at the setting of this story.

There has been a murder i
...more
Adriana
Jun 24, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: mystery-thriller
I enjoyed most of what the Brontë sisters wrote and I usually love historical novels and mysteries, but Ellis managed to take all that pleasure away by constantly hitting me over the head with the woes of women in Victorian England. Yes, they had an awful and unfair lot in life but I really don't see the point in constantly making it the most important part of the narrative. Which makes the fact that the murder mystery is actually incredibly engaging and rather well plotted out kind of depressin ...more
Jill Elizabeth
Jul 14, 2019 rated it really liked it
I must admit that the Bronte sisters are not my favorite authors of the time period, but I was intrigued by the idea of the three of them as lady detectors, and since the program was shutting down and I still had a lot of points left, I thought I would give it a try. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would, although did find it to have the slower-paced gothic feel of a Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre - and for someone who is not a lifelong fan, that made it a little bit of a slog at times. Still ...more
Derek Moore
Jun 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A gruesome scene in a bedroom and a young woman has gone missing. Rumors fly about her marriage and her husband's first wife, whose death was a suicide. Is the husband a suspect? Nearby live the Bronte sisters, Charlotte, Emily and Anne who immediately became intrigued and interested in this mysterious disappearance. The three sisters are very creative and resourceful. They also discover they have a knack for solving murders. Bella Ellis has quite an imagination to cast the Bronte sisters as det ...more
Mahala
Jun 11, 2019 rated it really liked it
This is a great period piece book written when the Bronte sisters were living back at the parsonage in Haworth with their brother Branwell and their father. They have not found their niche of writing yet and Branwell is having a hard time coping with a loss. The author has written the story in the the style of that time period so I can truly imagine the girls being very prim and proper. They have decided to try their hand at being detectors and the mystery they are trying to solve is an appropri ...more
Krista
Jun 26, 2019 rated it liked it
Ms. Ellis has researched and worked hard to keep the Brontes personalities true to form, while having them in the completely fictional circumstances of solving mysteries. This instalment was about the probable murder and disappearance of a local landowner's wife. The story is well written with several plot twists or false leads for the sisters to follow. The chapters are written from each person's point of view which is interesting and fun. I personally enjoyed the actual mystery more than the e ...more
Laura
Jul 12, 2019 rated it really liked it
The inspiration for the Bronte sister’s novels,such as Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights, has been a topic of conversation and speculation among fans since the author’s identities were revealed to be daughters of a parson. In The Vanished Bride, Bella Ellis creates an imaginative, but also plausible, plot that shows Charlotte, Emily and Anne as amateur detectors when a local woman goes missing.

The story was fun, but also seemed authentic to the time period and what we know about the Brontes. I fe
...more
Kat
Jun 28, 2019 rated it really liked it
#TheVanishedBride #NetGalley
A fun, take on a pair of sisters whom we have fallen in love with over the years. The Bronte sisters are not only writers, but sleuths in this novel. The family, mystery, and clever plot twists make for an entertaining mystery novel that will make you wish for a sequel.
Lynn
May 23, 2019 rated it really liked it
I won an advance reader copy from Goodreads. What if the Bronte sisters solved mysteries? The book uses that premise to good effect. Great sense of time, place, and timeless sibling dynamics. Always a good sign when I want a sequel. I want to read Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights. I immediately went to Wikipedia to learn more about the Bronte sisters and their brother, Bramwell.
Susan
Jul 14, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2019-reads, arc, wom2019
The story revolves around a mystery that Charlotte, Emily and Anne Bronte are attempting to solve. I really enjoyed learning more about the sisters and their brother. As would be expected, one also learns about Victorian manners. The mystery was good and I didn't suspect what would happen at the end.

Thanks to Penguin's First to Read program for an advance copy of this book.
Anna Fox
Jul 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
I was not able to get into this book. I do not do well with books that change the POV. I'm not sure if the chapters took place at different times or just changed the POV. If you can handle such things, I recommend this book, it seemed like it would be interesting.

Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for my eARC in exchange for my honest review.
Janilyn Kocher
Jun 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
A creative spin on the Bronte sisters. They are confronted with a mystery to solve and I think the author was innovative with the plot, writing, and intrigue. Fans of Emily, Charlotte, and Anne will eat this up. Thanks to Penguin First Read for the early copy.
Hillary
Jul 12, 2019 rated it really liked it
A little meandering, but quaint, pleasant. A tiny twinge of the supernatural and a healthy dose of early feminism rounded this book out nicely.
Small Review
Looking forward to reading more in this series!
Patricia
Jun 22, 2019 rated it really liked it
A lively mystery with many twists and turns. Bronte sisters were a force to be dealt with in their detecting endeavors.
MsAprilVincent
rated it liked it
Jun 18, 2019
Carol
rated it it was amazing
May 01, 2019
Kate
rated it it was amazing
May 23, 2019
nikkia neil
rated it it was amazing
Jun 29, 2019
Mary Shafer
rated it liked it
Jun 03, 2019
Jo Beth
rated it really liked it
Jun 07, 2019
Cindy Christensen
rated it liked it
Jul 07, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »