Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Pug’s Snow Day (Diary of a Pug #2)” as Want to Read:
Pug’s Snow Day (Diary of a Pug #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Pug’s Snow Day

(Diary of a Pug #2)

by
4.19  ·  Rating details ·  249 ratings  ·  26 reviews
The second book in a sweet and funny Branches series about a pug and his human, told from the pug's POV!

Pick a book. Grow a reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line, Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations on every page, these books will boost reading confiden
...more
Paperback, 80 pages
Published December 26th 2019 by Scholastic Inc.
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Pug’s Snow Day, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Pug’s Snow Day

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.19  · 
Rating details
 ·  249 ratings  ·  26 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Pug’s Snow Day (Diary of a Pug #2)
Reading is my Escape
This is a cute story in the form of a diary written by Bub the pug. He hates water and loves peanut butter, but he especially loves Bella (his human girl). Another great Branches book for young readers - an early chapter book that kids will love, especially those who like animals. :)
Descendents
Feb 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Bub was so scared about the beast.
Steph
Dec 17, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
As cute as book #1! Love all of the Branches books but this pug series is one of my faves for sure!
Brooke Shackelford
Feb 24, 2021 rated it it was amazing
My sons LOVE these books! They’re great easy chapter books for boys and girls ages 4-8. Bub the pug says all kinds of funny things, including a bit of potty humor which is well appreciated in my household. 😂 They laugh and laugh when we read these books.
Westminster Library
Apr 06, 2020 rated it really liked it
This is a sweet and simple early chapter book, ideal for readers that are ready to get into longer books. The bright, cute illustrations help the story move along with visual cues related to the text. And among all that, parents can feel good about the positive messages Bubs the Pug and his
friends share with readers, such as don't judge a person (or dog) until you know them. The author also included a list discussion questions at the end of the book to further engage early readers.

ReadAlike: Sim
...more
Cindy Mitchell *Kiss the Book*
Diary of a Pug: Pug’s Snow Day by Kyla May, 72 pages. CHAPTER BOOK. Branches (Scholastic), 2020. $25
Language: G (0 swears); Mature Content: G; Violence: G.

BUYING ADVISORY: EL (K-3) - ESSENTIAL

AUDIENCE APPEAL: AVERAGE

Pug does not like to be wet, so when he experiences snow for the first time he is very nervous. His nerves are compounded when he hears a scary dog barking next door. His human, Bella, is also nervous to meet the new neighbor but they conquer their fears together and end up making
...more
RedPoppyReading
Feb 25, 2020 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
zapkode
Dec 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
{My thoughts} – Bell and Bub have a few things going on in their world. First off Bella gets a couple of snow days and gets to miss school. Bub finds out he doesn’t really like the snow at all. But then once he is properly dressed to be out in the snow things change for him.

Second, while they are outside they learn they have new neighbors moving in. The new neighbors have a dog that sounds like a mean ole nasty monster. There is also a lot of noise and smoke coming from their backyard. This has
...more
M.L. Little
Feb 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing
@kidlitexchange Partner: Diary of a Pug: Pug’s Snow Day by Kyla May. AVAILABLE NOW through @scholasticinc.
I have a question. Who DOESN’T love a pug and wanna squish their little face? In the sequel to Pug Diaries, Kyla May takes us through a week in the life of a pug. Now, if someone followed my dog around, it would get pretty boring, but Bub the Pug solves the mystery of the monster next door (with some hilarious inner monologue).
In a journal style with color illustrations, this book will app
...more
Nancy
This is a must for families with beginning readers, and if they have a dog, it will be even more memorable. The second book in this series, rescue pug "Bub" keeps a diary of his daily doings, and this time they revolve around his introduction to snow. The only thing is that Bub hates water and has never been around snow. Through his diary entries, he describes his life from his point of view (of course, it's a diary!) and his adventures and misadventures with his human, Bella. The graphic-novel ...more
Pamela Hatch
#2 in the DIARY OF A PUG series. So the story is in diary format told by the pug, Bub who has never seen or experienced snow and he is not sure if he likes it or not. But he learns to enjoy his snow adventure until he comes across a strange sound coming from next door where a new family has moved in and is said to have a monster. This is a short book with only 72 pages and contains lots of colorful illustrations. Not great...but not bad either....a good read for beginning chapter reader who like ...more
Lara Samuels
Apr 09, 2020 rated it liked it
This book is targeting the reader who is interested in chapter books but still needs picture support. It was disappointing to notice the text and pictures don’t always sync up. I noticed it mostly in the beginning. For example Bella and Bub are laying outside when it starts to snow. Bella isn’t dressed for winter. The picture of the 2 playing on the previous page evoked a beach. If you have extra money to spend for school and classroom libraries it would find an audience.
Christine Rains
Sep 03, 2020 rated it really liked it
Bub does not like to get wet, but when Bella is so excited about this stuff called snow, he figures he can go out and play with her. On top of the yucky snow, there's new neighbors and they have a monster!

This is the second book in this cute children's series. The illustrations are fabulous, and I love how Bella and Bub go on adventures together. Plus the crazy squirrel Nutz and the snooty cat. A great short read.
...more
Cara
My son absolutely adores these books. The second was just as good as the first with Bub being an excellent narrator.
This story is about snow and the new neighbors next door who seem scary, especially when Bella's mom sets them both up for a play date.

Spoiler
(view spoiler)
...more
Simplekind
Nov 06, 2020 rated it liked it
A great beginner chapter book for my 6 year old. I was able to read this book to him in two nights. Sitting still that long, and being interesting in what mom is reading, is not always that easy. He is already asking for the next one.
Dawn
Jun 25, 2020 rated it it was ok
Why is Bella's head so ginormous? ...more
Nathan J. Mirocha
So cute!
Melody
May 29, 2020 rated it liked it
Easy reading.
Lots of bright, colorful illustrations.
Stacy
Jun 13, 2020 rated it really liked it
Another good one. Love these for young readers.
Sutton Hargrove
Apr 14, 2021 rated it it was amazing
AR test 10 out of 10
Tara
Aug 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Cute!
Andrea
Jan 07, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: funny, juvenile
Cute beginning chapter book with color pictures.
Kelly Jo
Jul 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Reading this series with my daughter. She loves it. And I’m enjoying it right along w her :)
Michele
Jun 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: elementary
Perfect for readers transitioning into chapter books. Pictures support the text throughout and the chapters are short. Love!
Kyla
rated it liked it
Nov 07, 2020
Jessica Braun
rated it really liked it
Oct 07, 2020
Sky Groden
rated it it was amazing
Apr 18, 2021
Sue Maloney
rated it really liked it
Jan 14, 2020
Alissa
rated it really liked it
Feb 07, 2020
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Bo's Magical New Friend (Unicorn Diaries #1)
  • Bo and the Dragon-Pup (Unicorn Diaries, #2)
  • Eva's Campfire Adventure: Branches Book (Owl Diaries #12)
  • Eva Sees a Ghost (Owl Diaries, #2)
  • A Woodland Wedding (Owl Diaries, #3)
  • Eva's Treetop Festival (Owl Diaries, #1)
  • Warm Hearts Day (Owl Diaries, #5)
  • Baxter is Missing (Owl Diaries, #6)
  • Trip to the Pumpkin Farm: A Branches Book (Owl Diaries #11) (Library Edition)
  • Eva and the Lost Pony: A Branches Book (Owl Diaries #8)
  • The Wildwood Bakery (Owl Diaries, #7)
  • Bo the Brave: A Branches Book (Unicorn Diaries #3)
  • Eva and the New Owl (Owl Diaries, #4)
  • Snow Place Like Home (Diary of an Ice Princess #1)
  • Eva and Baby Mo: A Branches Book (Owl Diaries #10) (Library Edition)
  • Eva in the Spotlight: A Branches Book (Owl Diaries #13)
  • Eva's Big Sleepover: A Branches Book (Owl Diaries #9)
  • Mia Mayhem Is a Superhero!
See similar books…

Other books in the series

Diary of a Pug (5 books)
  • Pug Blasts Off (Diary of a Pug #1)
  • Paws for a Cause (Diary of a Pug #3)
  • Pug's Got Talent: A Branches Book (Diary of a Pug #4)
  • Scaredy-Pug: A Branches Book (Diary of a Pug #5)

News & Interviews

Here’s some trivia for your next vacation get-together: The concept of the summer “beach read” book goes all the way back to the Victorian...
11 likes · 8 comments