Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Wardens of Eternity” as Want to Read:
Wardens of Eternity
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Wardens of Eternity

by
3.50  ·  Rating details ·  36 ratings  ·  17 reviews
Ziva Ellison has one memory of her parents, made the day they abandoned her on the streets of New York City when she was three years old. They left her with only a memory and a promise that she had a great and terrible destiny.

Fifteen years later, Ziva discovers that destiny includes powers that she doesn’t understand and can barely control. Her magic attracts vicious,
...more
Hardcover, 368 pages
Expected publication: January 21st 2020 by Blink
More Details... Edit Details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Wardens of Eternity by Courtney Allison Moulton
    Wardens of Eternity
    by
    Release date: Jan 21, 2020
    Enter to win one of 10 copies—with a signed bookplate—of what Midwest Book Review says is “a terrifically entertaining and compulsive page-turner of a ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 10 copies available, 1425 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jan 07 - Feb 06, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-30
    Average rating 3.50  · 
    Rating details
     ·  36 ratings  ·  17 reviews


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Start your review of Wardens of Eternity
    Shelley
    Jan 07, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
    Have got to get my hands on the sequel.
    Maranda
    Egypt, Mythology, gods, WWII. Love the cover art very impressive. This story was fast passed and held my interest for the most part. Characters were flat and their emotions were kind of all over the place. Ending hinted at this being the start of a series. "A copy of this book was provided by Blink via Netgalley with no requirements for a review. Comments here are my honest opinion."
    Alison
    Apr 10, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
    Release date January 21, 2020! And it has a cover too!!! Yay!!

    description
    Olivia
    Jan 02, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
    Shelves: yabc-reviews
    See my full review here: https://www.yabookscentral.com/yafict...

    WARDENS OF ETERNITY follows Ziva, a young woman who was abandoned as a toddler, became a ward of the state, and is now making her own way by working in a factory. Ziva carries magical powers that she does not fully understand, but she only uses them in self-defense. However, one day, a confrontation with some beasts leads to her learning that there are others like her- a group that she once belonged to with her parents.

    As she
    ...more
    Rachel
    Nov 08, 2019 rated it really liked it
    Courtney Moulton, author of the YA series Angelfire, brings us a new young adult fantasy book, Wardens of Eternity. The story opens in New York City in 1939, on the cusp of World War II. Ziva grew up in an orphanage and is now trying to eke out a living as a factory worker, and she uses her free time to research her unknown heritage. She soon finds answers when she is attacked by magical creatures and rescued by two Medjai, protectors of the pharaohs from Northern Africa – and she is a missing ...more
    Sarah
    Sep 04, 2019 rated it really liked it
    This book fell right into two of my niche interests: Ancient Egyptian Mythology and World War II. It was an interesting combination that the author executed almost perfectly. The world building is carefully planned, though the explanation of magic spells was a bit rushed. I especially enjoyed the humanization and depiction of the Egyptian gods. However, the climax of the story was very predictable, and the ending kind of fell flat for me. Magic was used to yada yada through a lot of the plot, ...more
    Kristin
    Sep 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    4.5 stars for that “holy shit, I did not see that last page coming” ending. There’s also the historical aspect, too, that I ate up. I’m dinging on the leadership point I made in my progress comments but other than that, no super horrible cliffhanger! Just an overwhelming desire to get to the rest of the story. Thank you so much for that

    Oh yeah, I read the ARC, Thank you Blink! Yada, yada, yada...
    ...more
    Aly
    3.75/5 stars

    This book was a bit all over the place for me. I sometimes loved it, sometimes felt bored, and other times had no idea what I even felt. I've been trying to digest my thoughts, but it's a bit difficult for me to truly give then out. I did enjoy this for the most part, so I decided to round up my rating.

    The plot was interesting and definitely unique. I lived all the Egyptian mythology that this book covered. Mythology is always one of my favorite topics in general, so seeing them p
    ...more
    Michelle
    Sep 13, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
    I received an arc for this at ALA.
    I’m not a fan of this book. I think it’s a little odd that the main character goes from knowing nothing About self defense to being a better warrior than everyone else with just a couple of days of training.
    There are also several inconsistencies with this book That I hope will get fixed in the final printing. One of the main ones is that on the back of the book it says she was abandoned when she was three, and then 15 years later discovers that she has
    ...more
    Sarah (Cover to Cover Reviews)
    Aug 10, 2019 rated it really liked it
    NOTE: thanks to NetGalley, the author, and the publisher for an ARC of this novel. "Wardens of Eternity" will be released on January 21, 2020.


    THE POSITIVES

    I don't read much action-adventure, nor do I read a lot of books that deal with magic and mythology; "Wardens of Eternity" was a bit of an outside-of-the-box read for me. I love action-adventure movies, so I'm not surprised, but the degree to which I enjoyed this was unprecedented.

    The premise of "Wardens" - teenage girl with magical powers
    ...more
    Julia
    Jan 04, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
    Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the ARC!

    Review contains spoilers for the book.

    Wardens of Eternity was a decent book but never really pulled me in because of the problems I had with it.

    I was so excited when I read from the blurb that this book was perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Kiersten White. Those are two authors I love. I grew up alongside Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series, and I read Kiersten White’s The Guinevere Deception last year and loved it. However, I didn’t love
    ...more
    Tessa Pulyer
    Jan 01, 2020 rated it really liked it
    Wardens of Eternity is a fun, action-packed story that takes the reader on an international journey of magic and mayhem.

    Favorite character: Ziva Mereniset
    I debated this choice for a while because she is a very complex character but ultimately decided that she is indeed my favorite in this story. She goes from being a poor orphan girl with no idea about who and where she came from to being someone willing to fight to protect the identity that she discovers throughout the novel. She is open to
    ...more
    Kay Mcleer
    Aug 14, 2019 rated it really liked it
    I really enjoyed the mix of mythology and history in this novel I think its what made me enjoy it more. The characters were great and the only thing I was confused about was using Nazis and ancient Egypt. But it worked for me.
    Jana (HokuGirlReads)
    Dec 28, 2019 rated it really liked it
    Review to come
    Nicole
    Nov 19, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
    I received this as an ARC and I sadly found the story to a bit predictable..
    ♠ TABI ♠
    Sep 13, 2019 marked it as to-read
    is this gonna fill up the empty hole RR's version of Anubis left behind in my teenage soul???
    Emily Kerr
    rated it liked it
    Dec 09, 2019
    Sara
    rated it liked it
    Dec 28, 2019
    Amy Bullis
    rated it really liked it
    Jan 09, 2020
    Hmr28
    rated it did not like it
    Jan 18, 2020
    Rebecca Greer
    rated it it was ok
    Oct 15, 2019
    Shama
    rated it it was amazing
    Jul 04, 2019
    Sarah (Cover to Cover Reviews)
    rated it really liked it
    Aug 09, 2019
    Adam Nellson
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 21, 2019
    Stephanie
    rated it liked it
    Sep 17, 2019
    Hannah Killingsworth
    rated it really liked it
    Nov 02, 2019
    Eleni Chimarrides
    rated it it was amazing
    May 03, 2019
    Simon Fennex
    rated it it was amazing
    Oct 03, 2019
    « previous 1 next »
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

    Readers also enjoyed

    • There Will Come a Darkness (The Age of Darkness, #1)
    • Song of the Crimson Flower
    • The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
    • Crier's War (Crier's War, #1)
    • The Kingdom
    • The Good Luck Girls (The Good Luck Girls, #1)
    • Belle Révolte
    • The Tenth Girl
    • Capturing the Devil (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #4)
    • The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
    • Dangerous Alliance: An Austentacious Romance
    • The Memory Thief
    • Frankly in Love (Frankly in Love, #1)
    • A Beginning at the End
    • Beyond the Black Door
    • 10 Blind Dates
    • Strange Planet
    • Tweet Cute
    See similar books…
    Courtney Allison Moulton lives in rural Michigan with her family, horse, donkey, and a flock of spoiled sheep. When she isn't studying ancient civilizations or writing about magic and monsters, she's busy with farm chores. Her debut novel ANGELFIRE was published when she was just 24 years old.

    For more information about Courtney, visit her online at www.courtneyallisonmoulton.com.