Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Remaining Aileen” as Want to Read:
Remaining Aileen
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Remaining Aileen

by
4.70  ·  Rating details ·  44 ratings  ·  28 reviews
Aileen was dead. At least she was supposed to be.

When Aileen wakes up in the hospital after her plane crashes during a storm, everyone says it’s a miracle. All Aileen cares about is seeing her husband and children again. Unfortunately, it doesn’t take long for Aileen to realize her survival wasn’t random. Her mind and body are changing in ways she can’t explain. As Aileen
...more
Paperback, 320 pages
Published May 7th 2019 by Magnolia Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Remaining Aileen, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Remaining Aileen

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.70  · 
Rating details
 ·  44 ratings  ·  28 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Chelsea Ballard
Apr 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Remaining Aileen was a seriously delightful read.

Personally, I loved how vampirism was handled in this book. I love the slightly different take on lore, I love the complications (wanting to eat your husband?!), even the delicacy of motherhood was handled with grace (wanting to eat your kids?!).

The best part? Lindsey weaves the supernatural so seamlessly with the everyday. Even as a vampire, Aileen holds onto her human problems: coffee addiction, marital openness, and body image. Even as a vamp
...more
Joy Rancatore
Apr 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Aileen's a mom like any other. She faces unscalable mountains of laundry and tries not to look too long in the mirror at a body she has trouble recognizing. Unlike other moms, Aileen survives a plane crash to face immortality—with all its side effects. Can she embrace the monster she's become and still be the mother and wife she once was?

Remaining Aileen blends women's fiction with a bite of paranormal to produce a metaphorical vintage genre that works. Who knew vampires made the perfect metapho
...more
Alese Maree
Apr 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I love vampire books and Remaining Aileen was a homerun to me!

Aileen is struggling with surviving a plane crash that she knows she wasn’t meant to survive. Her family tries to help her cope but they have no idea what to make of her new behavior or the strange things that start to happen once she is safe at home. The transition of the wife and mother she was before the accident to who she is after is what makes this such a great story.

This book hit me right in the feels at many different times.
...more
Amanda Linsmeier
Apr 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing

Editorial Blurb:

REMAINING AILEEN is that perfect blend of heart-pumping suspense, unexpected humor, and bittersweet and beautiful truth. Aileen's struggle to figure out who--and what--she is as both a vampire and a mother, is poignant, and the love she holds for her family versus the reality of what she's become will rip apart your heart and then mend it back together a dozen times over. This book shook me--in the best possible way--proving that debut novelist Autumn Lindsey is a force to be re
...more
Jamie Erin
May 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book was compulsively readable, which was completely unexpected to me. Honestly, I picked it up because it was written by a local author. I found myself sucked in from page one, and read obsessively all day. Hence, I’m done within 24 hours, and now I’m waiting for more. When will book two be out??

A book about a vampire mom is not the norm…and I thoroughly loved that about Remaining Aileen. Every vampire book I’ve read or seen at the library is typically about unattached young adults who wre
...more
Everly Reed
May 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Remaining Aileen was the perfect blend of intrigue, heart, and humour.

The imagery was eerily beautiful and pulled me through the story- from Aileen's fateful trip, her struggles to recover, her transformation, and into her new existence. I enjoyed how the paranormal details found a place in the contemporary world as Aileen learns the truth behind how she survived the plane crash that should have killed her and the reality of melding her new fate with her old life. Even the setting details walk
...more
Mandy McHugh
May 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Let me start by saying Remaining Aileen isn't the genre I'd typically read. I gravitate towards horror titles bordering on thrillers. That being said, I'm so glad I chose this title. Remaining Aileen was a wonderful read. The concept was enticing--a mother's fallout from a devastating plane crash and the realization she has been saved by being changed into a vampire--the characters were well-developed and interesting, and on a personal level, I related to Aileen as a mother of young children try ...more
January
May 16, 2019 rated it really liked it
I was a little surprised how much I enjoyed this book. I started the book, then got busy(I’m a mom too). When I picked it back up again I could NOT put it down. I ended up binge reading the rest of the book in one day. The way she writes is very easy to follow and I enjoyed how real she made the struggle feel. Not only ethically but morally being a mom and vampire. I can’t wait to read the second book!
Shawna Melville
May 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing
It's been awhile since I've read a book that I could really sink my teeth into! This book was outside my normal book genre, but I found myself relating to Aileen and it kept me turning pages. The story is able to take a tragedy and make it somehow okay and even humorous in parts. The clever metaphor that Autumn Lindsey creates reminds you to live each day to the fullest and don't lose yourself in the process. I was left craving more from the characters I had gotten to know and I truly hope that ...more
Autumn Lindsey
May 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
If you read this book, THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart! Whether you liked it or not you gave my story a chance and I truly appreciate that!
Ash | EmeraldBookOwl
Jul 07, 2019 marked it as short-to-read-list
two words: motherhood, vampirism

finally, a book that deals with being a mom and the paranormal

because this is exactly the stuff i never knew how much i needed
Karen Hugg
May 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Remaining Aileen takes a close look at how a typical mom's life drastically changes after she's transformed into a vampire. It's a kind of women's fiction novel, outlining both Aileen's physical and psychological transformation as she deals with heightened bodily powers and the dilemma of immortality. Throw in sweet children, a loyal husband, and sexy British vampire, and you've got a fun summer read. Written in energetic, focused prose, Remaining Aileen is a perfect Mother's Day gift for those ...more
NICOLE Rubino
May 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
One might find it hard to relate to a Mom that has become a vampire, but I have never found a character more relatable, or likable for that matter, than Autumn Lindsey's Aileen. We follow Aileen's struggle to cope with her new life as a vampire after a devastating plane crash, all the while attempting to keep this particular new attribute of herself a secret from her family. Autumn creates the perfect parallel in Aileen's journey to discover not only who, but what she is and the disconnect mothe ...more
Rachel Hodges
Jun 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I haven't read or watched anything vampire related since Buffy, but I loved Remaining Aileen. It was a fast-paced read that was really, really hard to put down. It looks like there's going to be a sequel, and I can't wait! Seriously, this is the kind of story that needs to get made into a miniseries or movie. The writing is fresh and easy to read. The storyline clean and coherent. The concept original. Not my usual reading fare, but I'm definitely coming back for more!

I'm typing quickly and can'
...more
Heather Reese
May 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Remaining Aileen had me captivated from page one. Aileen is a relatable character from the start. Stretch marks, a Target wardrobe, a lovable yet slightly annoying mother-in-law, and a heaping dose of mom-guilt at the thought of leaving her children for some much-needed time away. Aileen is every mom. But even as she struggles with her new life as a vampire, I found bits of myself in Aileen and her life.

Remaining Aileen addresses the difficult and sometimes heart wrenching situation women find t
...more
April M
May 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Are you a bored Housewife and Stay At Home Mom? You'll love this story!

A handsome guy sitting next to me on an airplane?
Next thing I know I'm immortal?
Check yes or no...
hmmm. Would I dare?

I very much enjoyed this book!
Being a housewife and stay at home mom, I found Aileen's story VERY relatable!
But having the choices she had to make...would I do the same?
I found myself drooling over Donavan.
Feeling bad for Phil
and cheering Aileen as she went through this journey.

I don't want to say too much mo
...more
Liz Oller
Jul 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book intrigued me both in fantasy and reality. It's a story of growth, heartache, and choices. We don't often get to pick the moments in our lives that force us to change, to make those difficult even seemingly impossible choices. in that way, Aileen is no different then you or me. Life and the choices of others have thrust her into an impossible place. She can never truly return to her old life, but does she even want to know what this new life entails.

This story hit me in a deeply and une
...more
Sophia Moskalenko
May 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Aileen lives for her family, every day, all day, raising her kids, keeping the house. Until one day she takes a long-deserved solo vacation, and everything changes in the most unexpected way. Every mother's worst fears and deepest-held fantasies come alive in this book.
(I received an advance reader copy in exchange for an honest review)
Kaeli Fisher
Jun 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book! As a fan of vampire fiction I was so intrigued by this fresh take, a vampire mom! Being a mother myself and also recently turning 30 I felt myself connecting with Aileen on so many levels and the way Lindsey writes is so easy to read and enjoy. This book blends beautifully the struggle of being a mom and a supernatural creature. I could not put this book down and found myself craving more when I had finished! I eagerly await the sequel!
Marisa Noelle
May 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Adored this book. What a fresh take on vampires. the author brings a well trodden trope to life and highlights the emotional journey of motherhood from the start. Conflict and tension on every page that kept me reading into the early hours of the night!
Melissa Woods
May 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed Remaining Aileen. As a mom, there is always that difficult balance between loving your children without losing who you once were/ are as a person. Autumn captures this wonderfully through a very unique metaphor! It was much different than I expected— part vampire novel/ part journey to find oneself. All in all, a great blend of genres. I can’t wait to see more from the author!!!
Allison Brewer
May 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I loved meeting Aileen in this book and I connected with her struggle to figure out who she was after being a mom for awhile- though being a vampire would be a new challenge for me. Ha! This book is set in a place very near my home and that made her relatable story all-the-more easy to sink into. This also made the characters seem so real to me- like I might run into Aileen and her girls at Target. I also have the urge to go to Silver Lake in the middle of the night in winter just to see what it ...more
Bradeigh
May 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Aileen is a regular mom: she loves Target runs, coffee, her kids and husband—but she could also use a break, like so many of us! She heads away for a weekend, but the plane ride there ends in disaster—and Aileen is the only one who survives. Or so she thinks. In the days after the plane crash, she soon realizes something unexplainable has happened to her. She’s different—and when a dark stranger from the crash reappears in her life, he explains why. Aileen is horrified by her new identity, but i ...more
Tasha Wiginton
Jun 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
You know those perfect sparkly, self-assured, vampires? The ones that you could never in a million years relate to? Aileen isn't one of those. Aileen is a normal mom who second guesses herself, her body, her relationships, and well... everything you might too. Autumn Lindsey draws the parallels between the transition into mid-life motherhood and transition into vampirism expertly, adding in a touch of humor too. If you're one of those Twilight fans that couldn't in good conscious love Edward bec ...more
J.L. Park
Jul 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed this novel from Autumn Lindsey. Remaining Aileen is a refreshingly different take on a vampire story. Rather than your traditional vampire, Aileen is a mom trying to manage being a mom, managing all those expectations, and the side of mom-guilt that goes with being a busy mom, as well as newfound cravings for blood. I could see myself as a Mom in some of the things she felt bad about (Not the blood cravings...haha), and the struggle to maintain the household when the world you k ...more
Sarah Armstrong-Garner
Jun 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book was written for every mom who’s struggled with finding herself after having children. I love reading about Aileen’s transformation from mom to mom vampire and all the difficulties of trying to figure out how to keep her supernatural secret from her family. Highly recommended.
A.J. Richmond
Jun 30, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I enjoyed this book however it wasn’t what I expected. But don’t get me wrong, that’s not a bad thing. It’s a good thing.

The author’s take on vampires is unlike anything else I’ve read. It’s a tale of a woman trying to navigate her life and motherhood as a vampire.

It’s the kind of book that makes you stop and think “Huh, what would I do?”

If you’re looking for a different vampire novel, this is it.
K.T. Daxon
May 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I was so impressed with this debut novel by a fellow writer mom. The authors take on vampires is something a little different as there wasn't really any magical aspect to it. I found that refreshing because it made me relate to the story a bit better than I would have.

I won't give you the run down on what the book is about, that's what blurbs are for, and the author did a fine job of that anyway.

I recommend this book to any reader who enjoys vampires, is a parent (not just a mom), and wants to
...more
Kelsey Medel
rated it really liked it
Jul 03, 2019
Rebecca
rated it really liked it
Jun 04, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
24 followers
Autumn lives with her husband and three kids in a deep, dark, magical forest. Fluent in typo and fueled by caffeine, she writes Women’s Fiction with characters that bite. You can find her on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or lost somewhere in her jungle of a house due to her massive collection of houseplants.

Her debut novel REMAINING AILEEN, from Magnolia Press is available at all major online book
...more