Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Blood-Dimmed Tide (The Remembrance War #2)” as Want to Read:
The Blood-Dimmed Tide (The Remembrance War #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Blood-Dimmed Tide

(The Remembrance War #2)

by
4.04  ·  Rating details ·  24 ratings  ·  10 reviews
Book 2 in 'The Remembrance War' series. Reclaiming Earth from the Zhen was only the beginning. For the first time in a thousand years, humans walk the world where their civilizations first arose. Settlements have become towns, swelling with new settlers fleeing the oppression and lies of the Empire. For the first time in a thousand years, the human race is free. But freedo ...more
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published February 20th 2020 by Flame Tree Press (first published February 13th 2020)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-48
Average rating 4.04  · 
Rating details
 ·  24 ratings  ·  10 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Blood-Dimmed Tide (The Remembrance War #2)
Lel Budge
Feb 17, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A sequel to The Widening Gyre. It can be read as a stand-alone but I feel you are missing out on a great beginning to this series.

Tajen has just married Liam, when an alert sounds. Ships have entered Earth’s atmosphere. One of these ships deliberately crashes into the shipyard and so Tajen and his new husband are back in action.

Due to the Zhen’s constant attacks, Earth’s fleet are in trouble and so Tejen, Liam and a crew head to the Kelvaki to ask for help.

But while they are away, the Zhen take
...more
charlotte, (½ of readsrainbow)
On my blog.

Actual rating 3.5

Rep: gay mc & li

Galley provided by publisher

I really enjoyed The Widening Gyre last year, so when I heard that there was to be a sequel, obviously it rocketed up my TBR. This sounds like a set-up to say I was disappointed: I was not. I liked this book, perhaps less so than the first, but it was still an enjoyable read.

The Blood-Dimmed Tide opens a few months after the end of The Widening Gyre. Tajen and his crew are busy defending Earth from repeated Zhen attacks,
...more
Lel Budge
Feb 17, 2020 rated it really liked it
A sequel to The Widening Gyre. It can be read as a stand-alone but I feel you are missing out on a great beginning to this series.

Tajen has just married Liam, when an alert sounds. Ships have entered Earth’s atmosphere. One of these ships deliberately crashes into the shipyard and so Tajen and his new husband are back in action.

Due to the Zhen’s constant attacks, Earth’s fleet are in trouble and so Tejen, Liam and a crew head to the Kelvaki to ask for help.

But while they are away, the Zhen take
...more
Suanne
Oct 29, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: sci-fi, lgbtqi, war
This is the second in Michael R. Johnston’s Remembrance War space opera series. It would have been helpful to have read the first, but Johnston provides enough backstory that reading the first isn’t essential. In the distant past, human destroyed their planet and took to the stars. They wandered alone in space until finally taken in by the Zhen. The Zhen were not as compassionate as they originally seemed. Earthlings remain second-class citizens. Tajen Hunt, a human, has rediscovered Earth and t ...more
Anne Szlachcic
Sep 08, 2020 marked it as to-read
If space operas with aliens , space battles , spies and the battle for the right to exist is just what you want , look no further - this book meets all these points and more .

After 800 hundred years under the yoke of the Zhen , Humanity is finally beginning to fight back .
In Tajen , Humanity finally has a Commander who is able to take the fight to the Zhen - along with his husband, Liam, his niece, Kiri, and the rest of his team the Fight for Earth just might succeed - its not a great chance but
...more
M.E. Garber
Mar 24, 2020 rated it really liked it
A fast-paced sequel to his debut book, "The Widening Gyre," Johnston delivers more of exactly the right stuff. His characters are fun to be with, but never too slight or facile, and the complexities of the situations that protagonist Taken Hunt find himself in are thoroughly explored. Hint: it turns out, Tajen has plenty of room to grow and change! And of course, the dogfight in space scenes are simply spectacular in this space opera beauty. If you liked the first book, you're gonna love this on ...more
 Reading Reindeer Cobwebbed
...They thought it was over. They believed the Zhen invasion had been thoroughly repelled. Earth would be safe again at last.


....Not so.


Tajen, Liam, and crew burst into action again, because Earth MUST be defended....no matter the personal cost. THE BLOOD-DIMMED TIDE is Book 2 in THE REMEMBRANCE WAR Series, sequel to THE WIDENING GYRE.
Josh Hamacher
Mar 19, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: science-fiction
About halfway through this book, I realized I was enjoying it quite a bit less than The Widening Gyre. This was mostly because this volume was light on action and heavy on politics. Luckily, it picked up later on and I thought the ending more than made up for it. I can't wait for the sequel.
Christopher Gerrib
They say history is the raw material of fiction. This book is very much a case in point. It's book 2 in a series, and opens about a year after the events of the previous book. Tajen Hunt has led a group of humans in reclaiming an uninhabited Earth from the Zhen Empire. Said empire had claimed to "save" humanity from the wreck of a slower-than-light starship.

Here's where the history comes in. The template for the events of this book are based on the Irish war of independence which started with th
...more
Beverly Caouette
Apr 27, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A solid 4.7!

I was so excited to see the follow up to The Widening Gyre. It was an excellent second to the series and I am now fully anticipating the next! You won't be disappointed!
Gregory Clinton
rated it really liked it
Feb 29, 2020
Emily Whitmore
rated it liked it
Nov 19, 2019
Michael
rated it it was amazing
Mar 05, 2020
Tracy
rated it it was amazing
May 20, 2020
Sean
rated it liked it
Jun 03, 2020
Sam Simmons
rated it liked it
Feb 25, 2020
Rich Van Ollefen
rated it really liked it
Mar 12, 2020
cajetane
rated it liked it
Mar 16, 2020
Ralph Ferrett
rated it liked it
Oct 16, 2020
Lee
rated it it was amazing
Apr 14, 2020
Sarah
rated it really liked it
Apr 01, 2020
Michael Glazner
rated it really liked it
Apr 23, 2020
Rob Jones
rated it it was amazing
Mar 27, 2020
Jacob
rated it it was amazing
Oct 22, 2020
Joan
marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2019
David C
marked it as to-read
May 04, 2019
Tyler Bittaker
marked it as to-read
May 08, 2019
Rita Shryock
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Jonathan Tripp
marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2019
Michael Johnston
Jun 17, 2019 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Shelves: i-wrote
E.D. Walker
marked it as to-read
Jun 17, 2019
Chelsea
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2019
Mya
marked it as to-read
Jul 22, 2019
Rebecca Merhej
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2019
Willj_1984
marked it as to-read
Aug 14, 2019
Benjamin Straw
marked it as to-read
Sep 17, 2019
Ah
marked it as to-read
Sep 22, 2019
Dayana
marked it as to-read
Sep 25, 2019
Mars Rising
marked it as to-read
Sep 25, 2019
Witchwood
marked it as to-read
Oct 15, 2019
Blake
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2019
Kasi
marked it as to-read
Dec 23, 2019
Michelle
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2020
Terri Meyer
marked it as to-read
Jan 16, 2020
Nikita Afsar
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2020
Jacob
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • In the Dream House: A Memoir
  • Wild Game: My Mother, Her Lover, and Me
  • The Sun Down Motel
  • The Last Emperox (The Interdependency, #3)
  • A Pale Light in the Black (NeoG #1)
  • Vendetta in Death (In Death, #49)
  • Best Kept Secrets
  • Wyrd Sisters (Discworld, #6; Witches #2)
  • I Never Told You
  • The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act (The Wicked + The Divine, #1)
  • Sixteenth Watch
  • Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb #1)
  • Mexican Gothic
  • The City We Became (Great Cities #1)
  • A Second, Less Capable, Head and Other Rogue Stories
  • Gods of Jade and Shadow
  • We Are Monsters
  • The Need
See similar books…
Michael R. Johnston is a high school English teacher and writer living in Sacramento, California with his wife, daughter, and more cats than strictly necessary. He can be found at mjohnstonbooks.com and Twitter @MREJohnston

Other books in the series

The Remembrance War (2 books)
  • The Widening Gyre (The Remembrance War #1)

Related Articles

If you love the fantasy genre, this is the season for you! Some of the biggest books out this fall promise to be epics full of magic, adventure,...
167 likes · 43 comments