Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Black Hawks (Articles of Faith, #1)” as Want to Read:
The Black Hawks (Articles of Faith, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Black Hawks

(Articles of Faith #1)

by
really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  11 ratings  ·  5 reviews

Dark, thrilling, and hilarious, The Black Hawks is an epic adventure perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch.

Life as a knight is not what Vedren Chel imagined. Bound by oath to a dead-end job in the service of a lazy step-uncle, Chel no longer dreams of glory – he dreams of going home.

When invaders throw the kingdom into turmoil, Chel finds opportunity in the

...more
Kindle Edition, 429 pages
Expected publication: October 3rd 2019 by HarperVoyager
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Black Hawks, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Black Hawks

Community Reviews

Showing 1-41
really liked it 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  11 ratings  ·  5 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
James Tivendale
Aug 23, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fantasy, freecopy
I received an uncorrected proof copy of The Black Hawks in exchange for an honest review. I would like to thank David Wragg and Harper Voyager for the opportunity.

Chel is from a minor noble house and is bored to death working for his step-uncle. He has no real ambitions. He misses his family and cannot wait until he can see them again. The city Chel now resides within is attacked by the Norts with their giant black ships that fling fireballs and huge silk birds who breathe flames on the unfortun
...more
Ed McDonald
Aug 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fantasy
I was sent an advance copy of this book by Harper Voyager. I never manage to get through all the books that I’m sent, and I duck out on a lot somewhere around the 20% mark if they aren’t grabbing me. But hey, I like things that are dark and feathered, right? So how did debut novelist Wragg do with this outing?

First up, here’s what you get (very briefly):
Chel, a young nobleman of no great consequence, ends up stuck with a cowardly but somehow adorable prince, and after some intrigue and fuckery,
...more
Anna Stephens
Jul 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
This a remarkably assured debut novel. I thoroughly enjoyed the characters and the setting, and the central premise - of a barely-competent lackey trying to protect a thoroughly incompetent prince - makes for a whole lot of fun.
Humour abounds in The Black Hawks as the band of mercenaries take somewhat reluctant possession of said prince and bodyguard in a bid to get him to their employers and collect their reward. Oh, if only it were that simple.
Told from the single third-person POV of Vedren
...more
Tom Lloyd
Sep 02, 2019 rated it really liked it
A highly entertaining and very readable adventure that combined great characters with a fun adventure. It's all told from the POV of Chel, but he's easy to like and entertaining in his continuing inability to be any sort of a useful bodyguard/escort. The rest are fun too, a good mix in the mercs and one issue I had was simply that I wanted more of them! The book's called the Black Hawks but we don't quite see as much of them as I'd have liked, everything centres around Chel while I'd have enjoye ...more
Hiu Gregg
Sep 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
That was a lot of fun. Some great banter, some lovely characters, and I could have kept reading forever. A few quibbles, but we'll get to them in the dreaded "review to come".
Isabella
rated it really liked it
Aug 25, 2019
Laurence
rated it it was amazing
Sep 03, 2019
Paul Sparks
rated it really liked it
Sep 11, 2019
Lucy
rated it really liked it
Sep 10, 2019
Jessie Burgess
rated it did not like it
Aug 09, 2019
James Steele
rated it really liked it
Sep 04, 2019
Meekachii
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2019
John Zeleznik
marked it as to-read
Apr 05, 2019
Will.J.R. Gwynne
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2019
Stephen Richter
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2019
Zachary Frieling
marked it as to-read
May 05, 2019
Phil
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2019
Maria
marked it as to-read
May 16, 2019
Vicki
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Zsófi Berta
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Tavis
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Minnie
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Cassondra
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Ticha_11
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Lela Jones
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Magda
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Karolína Hubáčková
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Izzy
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Izzie
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Kata
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Annina
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Sophia
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Hannah Schmölzer
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Michelle (Witchy Books)
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Fernanda
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Livia
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Kyla
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Jenny
added it
May 18, 2019
Books with Brittany
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Amy
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »