Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Things Nobody Knows But Me” as Want to Read:
Things Nobody Knows But Me
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Things Nobody Knows But Me

by
4.24  ·  Rating details ·  46 ratings  ·  18 reviews
‘Brave, compassionate, searingly honest and funny, this is a memoir in a voice like no other. Amra Pajalić’s love letter to her mother is a book that grabs at your heart and doesn’t let go until the final page.’ ALICE PUNG
When she is four years old Amra Pajalić realises that her mother is different. Fatima is loving but sometimes hears strange voices that tell her to do bi
...more
Paperback, 272 pages
Published May 1st 2019 by Transit Lounge
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Things Nobody Knows But Me, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Things Nobody Knows But Me

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.24  · 
Rating details
 ·  46 ratings  ·  18 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Things Nobody Knows But Me
Calzean
The author relates her life till marriage. Her life is a series of contrasts. Her mother's bipolar makes her a part time and not reliable parent in times of illness. Her mother has a series of relationships with men who are generally misogynists; there is volatility in the home. The family lives in Australia but the mother moves them back to Bosnia for four years to escape a violent partner. In Bosnia they live with their grandparents - a traditional and religious Muslim couple. Freedom in Austr ...more
Cass Moriarty
Jul 25, 2019 rated it really liked it
Things Nobody Knows But Me (Transit Lounge 2019) is a memoir by author Amra Pajalic about her experience of growing up between Bosnia and Australia under the care of her mother, who suffered from a mental illness, and other members of her extended family. This is a raw and vulnerable account of an adolescent girl struggling to make sense of her family relationships and her cultural identity along with all the usual teenage anxieties and fears. The content of the story itself is important and ill ...more
Lisa Ireland
Jun 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Amra Pajalic’s memoir is a compelling read. The author recalls her (at times extraordinarily difficult) journey to adulthood in two countries (Bosnia and Australia) with breathtaking honesty. The writing is infused with warmth and humour despite the sometimes grim reality of the subject matter. I found it hard to put this book down. Highly recommended.
Lee Kofman
Sep 30, 2019 rated it really liked it
This is an unputdownable book! The story is powerful, and the narrative flows wonderfully, energetically, with great rhythm and flair. Pajalic manages to tell tough stuff without getting emotional about it, but with the wisdom of distance.
R.W.R. Mcdonald
Sep 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Beautifully written with so much compassion, love and respect
Jay
Jun 12, 2020 rated it really liked it
This unflinchingly honest memoir explores cultural differences and the complexity of living with a mother whose mental illness has a profound effect on her family. Told almost dispassionately, some of Anna's experiences are disturbing. This is a book that should give readers an insight into the challenges of the migrant experience for this particular family.
Marj
Jun 22, 2019 rated it liked it
2.5 stars
This is Amra's account of growing up between St Albans, Australia and Bosnia. Her mother Fatima suffers from bi-polar but is not diagnosed until Amra is in her teens.

I expected more from this book. The writing is okay but lacks depth and jumps around at times. I thought there would be more details regarding Fatima's health and her journey.
Clare Kelly
Mar 01, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-2020
A Powerful Memoir.

I selected this book because of my history of teaching at a St Albans primary school in the 70s. I was thoroughly engrossed in the juxtaposition of life in Australia and Bosnia, the customs and traditions of these countries, the past and present views of mental health and the realities of life for the immigrants at this period. The openness of the author dealing with the mental health illness of her mother was brave and revealing. This memoir faced so many issues and will leave
...more
Demet
Apr 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Raw, honest and so real, this is an intimate look at the complexities of the mother-daughter relationship and the love that binds them. I was plonked in Amra’s world and heart, and related to her search for connection, belonging and identity. I laughed and my heart ached for Amra and Fatima and I was with them until the end. An important read.
Mabel Violet
Dec 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
An absolutely brilliantly written account of Amra's life growing up as the Muslim child of an immigrant mother with bipolar disorder. A gripping and heartwarming read right until the last page.
Rania T
Jul 12, 2019 rated it really liked it
An autobiographical insight into identity in the bicultural worlds of Brimbank and Bosnia, discoveries of the self and the ties that bind women across generations. Recommended.
Liz Filleul
Jul 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Captivating memoir, which I would have read in one sitting had I not started reading it yesterday evening.

Things Nobody Knows But Me is Pajalic's account of growing up with a mother who is bipolar. But Fatima's illness hasn't been been diagnosed at that point, and to the young Amra, her mother is 'different' and sometimes does and says crazy things. The memoir also draws the reader in to a childhood partly lived in her mother's home village in Bosnia and partly in a Bosnian community in Melbourn
...more
Rebecca
Sep 22, 2019 rated it really liked it
I liked Amra’s writing and her ability to tell a story. There was a flow that made the book a very pleasant read. I enjoyed reading about her childhood In Bosnia before the Yugoslav war and insights into the lives of her mother, grandmother and great grandmother, all of whom had no real say in their own lives due to the traditional patriarchal society they grew up in.
The story though really is Amra’s, about how her culture, background, ethnicity and her mother’s illness affected her childhood.
Bethany
Jul 26, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: australian, memoir
I had the strangest feeling that I know this author, although I’m sure I don’t. Perhaps it was simply that I recognised some of the western Melbourne setting and specific places from my own adolescence, and that I went to school with some kids from former Yugoslav nations.

Such a deftly written book. Gentle and loving even as it speaks of less-than-gentle or loving matters. I very much enjoyed it.
Christina Maisano
Sep 04, 2020 rated it liked it
A very well written insight on what it is like to live with someone with bi polar mood disorder. In a word - chaotic!
Katelijne Sommen
Jul 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favourites
Very compelling and hits home, hard.
Peta
Nov 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This memoir is absolutely gorgeous and I couldn't put it down.
Vikki Petraitis
May 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A great read!

I couldn’t put this book down! Amra Pajalic tells us the story of her life, growing up not only with a foot in two countries, but in two cultures, Bosnian and Australian. Her struggles and the peril she faces leaves the reader feeling constantly concerned for child Amra. At the heart of her story is a spirit of rebellion as she copes with a mother with bipolar and finds a place where they can both finally experience peace.
Phelon
rated it it was amazing
Mar 04, 2020
Jane Garner
rated it it was amazing
Jul 03, 2019
Mary-Ann
rated it really liked it
Jun 09, 2020
Maygan Dyer
rated it really liked it
Feb 02, 2020
Laura
rated it it was amazing
Dec 23, 2019
Gabrielle
rated it it was amazing
Jan 20, 2020
Mrs Marianne Power
rated it it was amazing
Jun 06, 2019
K Mihai
rated it really liked it
Aug 18, 2020
Malcolm
rated it it was ok
Dec 28, 2019
Jacqui
rated it really liked it
Aug 17, 2019
Safkhet Craigen
rated it liked it
Jun 30, 2020
robert d waltham
rated it it was ok
Jan 26, 2020
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Dictionary of Lost Words
  • The Loudness of Unsaid Things
  • Below Deck
  • The Erratics
  • Trust
  • The Chain
  • No One Is Too Small to Make a Difference
  • The Good Turn (Cormac Reilly, #3)
  • Agent Running in the Field
  • Rodham
  • Levels of Life
  • A Room Made of Leaves
  • Sweetness and Light
  • Actress
  • Love After Love
  • See What You Made Me Do: Power, Control and Domestic Violence
  • Teacher: One woman's struggle to keep the heart in teaching
  • I Miss You When I Blink: Essays
See similar books…
41 followers
Amra Pajalic is an author and teacher. Her debut novel The Good Daughter (Text Publishing, 2009) won the 2009 Melbourne Prize for Literature's Civic Choice Award, and was a finalist in the 2009 Melbourne Prize for Literature Best Writing Award. Prior to publication it was shortlisted in the 2007 Victorian Premier's Awards for Best Unpublished Manuscript. She is also author of a novel for children ...more

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
29 likes · 15 comments
“Our mother was different, but that’s what we liked about her. While other children had strict routines and consequences, we had freedom and frivolity— and we didn’t want the party to end.” 2 likes
“She was a victim of her own brain chemistry, and as her daughter my role was to accept and love her for who she was, not who I wanted her to to be.” 1 likes
More quotes…