Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Her Husband's Mistake” as Want to Read:
Her Husband's Mistake
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Her Husband's Mistake

by
really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  18 ratings  ·  11 reviews

Should a woman be ready to forgive and forget to save her marriage? Roxy's not so sure... The riveting new novel from No. 1 bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan. Perfect for readers of Marian Keyes and Kerry Fisher.

R oxy's marriage has always been rock solid.

After twenty years, and with two carefree kids, she and Dave are still the perfect couple.

Until the day she com

...more
Kindle Edition, 448 pages
Expected publication: May 30th 2019 by Headline
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Her Husband's Mistake, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Her Husband's Mistake

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-48
really liked it 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  18 ratings  ·  11 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Frenchorchidea
Apr 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What a brilliant book! I already knew that I like Sheila O'Flanagan's book and writing style but with this book "Her Husband's Mistake", I can say that Sheila O'Flanagan now counts among my top favorite authors! "Her Husband's Mistake" is a powerful book about adulteries, forgiveness, trust but also about feminism and machism in our today's society, this book is also about working mum and working women in general. This book is for all women out there. It raises a tons of questions that we women ...more
Jeanniehay64
Mar 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wow what a fantastic book.!!! I couldn’t put it down and could relate to all the wonderful characters.

Roxy has been happily married to her childhood sweetheart for 20 years and they have 2 children, but that all changes when she comes home unexpectedly to a life changing discovery.

With her life in turmoil Roxy throws herself into her late dads business hoping time will give her more perspective on the way ahead.

I felt so much for Roxy and understood how she had changed even though it wasn’t s
...more
Jacob
Mar 28, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is a family relationship driven novel written really well and I felt connected and rooted for the main character, Roxy. When her husband cheats on her with the next-door neighbour, she is left with a big decision. She spends a lot of her time carrying on her late father’s chaueffer business and you witness Roxy take ownership of her life and decisions. I did get a bit bored by this book as its quite long and there’s not as much drama as id of liked!
Helen Edwards
Mar 22, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I took awhile to get into this, but when I did I was gripped. I was eager to know what decision Roxy would make (I'm so glad she made the decision she did). I enjoyed reading about the way she built up her chauffeur business, and the conversations with her mum were good too. I can't help thinking that Dave's character was overdone. Are men really like that these days? He irritated the hell out of me. I liked the stories about Roxy's passengers. All in all, a great read, and the ending doesn't di ...more
Trish at Between My Lines
I can always depend on Sheila O’Flanagan to deliver a book that will both entertain me and make me think. I love that while her book’s are light reads, they are not fluff. I find they present issues to debate over in my mind, as I’m always wondering just what I would do if I were in the characters shoes.

Full review coming.
Isabella
Mar 01, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book is a constant surprise from the beginning to the end. It kept me in constant tension as it was totally impossible for me to anticipate where the author (or the protagonist/narrator) would want to lead me. This fact kept me reading for two solid days until I finally reached the much liberating end. While it might seem heavy and suffocating (such as the protagonist's life) and hard to bear, the story is in fact so well written that the reader is never bored. Those unexpected twists towar ...more
Brenda Steele
rated it really liked it
Apr 15, 2019
Annarella
Even if I love this author this story wasn't my cup of tea. I found it slow and it didn't keep my attention.
Many thanks to Headline and Netgalley for this ARC, all opinions are mine.
Annette
Apr 06, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I have read a few of Sheila O’Flanagan’s other novels and thoroughly enjoyed them. They look at families and feelings in a humorous and light hearted way and are very entertaining.
This one was a real family story. Roxy has recently lost her father and is trying to juggle between her husband and young family and her widowed mother.
One day she comes home early from her mother’s house to find her husband Dave and the next door neighbour in their marital bed.
Completely shocked, Roxy moves out with t
...more
Caroline Sweeney
rated it really liked it
Feb 20, 2019
Amy Rowland
rated it really liked it
Jan 15, 2019
Lindsey Roberts
rated it it was amazing
Apr 08, 2019
Morgan Schulman
Apr 12, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reader-s-copy
I received an advanced reader's copy in exchange for an honest review

Whew. Always a pleasure to see a woman discover her own power. There are few surprises but you really do relate to Roxie as a wife and mother and feel for her struggle, and while the payoff is a bit obvious it still satisfies. 3.5 rounded up
Rachel
rated it liked it
Mar 23, 2019
Marie
Apr 15, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I absolutely love Shelia O'Flanagan and I was very excited to get a copy of this book from Netgalley.
I was not disappointed. Basically Roxy and Dave are rock solid until she catches him with the next door neighbour in a comprising position. What will she do ? she has to make a decision. Roxy is not sure about anything now - her past, her Dads business which she has taken over or what it will mean for the family. She has spent so long thinking about everyone else she has forgotten what she wants
...more
Heidi Murphy
rated it it was amazing
Apr 10, 2019
Ruth
rated it liked it
Jan 17, 2019
Joanna
Apr 25, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Sheila O'Flanagan is one of my favourite authors and I was really looking forward to reading this new novel from her.

I was very surprised when I began reading as the book is written in the first person. Maybe it's just me but I am not at all used to this style from this author so it took me aback somewhat and I wondered whether I would in fact enjoy the book.

I didn't need to worry as I really did enjoy it - the tale of a woman in business was a real inspiration for me. I felt that I wanted to gi
...more
Bookread2day
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Gareth Bacon
marked it as to-read
Dec 07, 2018
Hannie
marked it as to-read
Dec 23, 2018
Katy Colbert
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2019
Lesley McDonald
marked it as to-read
Jan 03, 2019
Karen
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2019
Fraser's Fun House
marked it as to-read
Jan 08, 2019
Carol Caissie
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2019
Tanya McIlwraith
marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2019
Kirsten C
marked it as to-read
Jan 16, 2019
Colleen Duggan
marked it as to-read
Jan 17, 2019
Caroline G'wattage
marked it as to-read
Jan 19, 2019
Jane
marked it as to-read
Jan 22, 2019
Emilia Rosengård
marked it as to-read
Jan 23, 2019
Jen O
marked it as to-read
Jan 26, 2019
Tracey Stringer
is currently reading it
Jan 26, 2019
Lenelle
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2019
Bigfatbookworm
marked it as to-read
Feb 01, 2019
Catherine Falvey
marked it as to-read
Feb 01, 2019
Emma
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2019
Angela Armstrong
marked it as to-read
Feb 16, 2019
Marilyn
marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2019
Andrea
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2019
Alexandra Balzia
marked it as to-read
Feb 28, 2019
MRN
marked it as to-read
Mar 02, 2019
Barbara Sadowick
marked it as to-read
Mar 03, 2019
Lorilin
marked it as to-read
Mar 17, 2019
Michaela
marked it as to-read
Mar 18, 2019
Anne Jenkins
marked it as to-read
Mar 21, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
628 followers
As you can see, a Dubliner all my life. My parents owned a grocery shop in the Iveagh Markets, in the Liberties area of the city and I guess city blood runs through my veins.

As a child I enjoyed reading and telling stories and everyone thought that I end up in a job which had something to do with books and literature. But though I applied for a job in the library all of the job offers I got were i
...more