Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “It's A Living: Volume One” as Want to Read:
It's A Living: Volume One
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

It's A Living: Volume One

by
4.40  ·  Rating details ·  5 ratings  ·  3 reviews
The realm of fantasy is filled with legends of dashing heroes and epic quests. But behind every hero stand hundreds of average denizens that just want to get on with their lives. These are their stories.

This anthology is filled with 14 brilliant and hilarious stories that follow the lives of everyday citizens who just want to do their jobs and live their lives.

Dive in to t
...more
Kindle Edition
Published March 6th 2019 by Mystic Inkwell
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about It's A Living, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about It's A Living

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-35
4.40  · 
Rating details
 ·  5 ratings  ·  3 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Gabby Butt
Mar 10, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A mixed bag, but overall a really enjoyable anthology!

A really good read, quite a mix of different styles which made it really interesting.

A great idea to see how the other side lives in a fantasy realm! Some of the stories made me laugh, and one had a great twist in that I wasn’t expecting at all!

I would recommend this to anyone who reads fantasy, and I’m looking forward to a Volume 2 😊
A.M. Steiner
Mar 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Leaving my own contribution aside, I think this is a top notch anthology based around an interesting premise: fantasy characters with banal day jobs. Likely to appeal to fans of Terry Pratchett and Piers Anthony, it covers the range of blue collar work from housecleaners and sewer workers through to policemen, tax collectors and librarians. The stories are as varied as the protagonists; humour, horror and exciting adventure all get a good look in. I particularly enjoyed the contributions by Bran ...more
Nick
Mar 19, 2019 rated it liked it
This book was a mixed bag. Some of the stories were 4 stars, some were 2. Also, it needed better editing--there were at least 14 spelling/grammatical errors, although to be fair half of those were in a single story.

The stories on the whole also had a much less light-hearted nature than the cover or the first story seemed to imply.
Aria Nocturne
rated it it was amazing
Mar 17, 2019
Tyler Musgrove
rated it it was amazing
Feb 12, 2019
A.M. Justice
Feb 11, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  (Review from the author)
Christine Thomas
marked it as to-read
Feb 12, 2019
Harry Chilcott
Feb 12, 2019 is currently reading it  ·  (Review from the author)
Brandon Draga
Feb 12, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  (Review from the author)
Andy Konecny
marked it as to-read
Feb 12, 2019
William Davis
Feb 14, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  (Review from the author)
Arkadeb
marked it as to-read
Feb 20, 2019
Dustin
marked it as to-read
Feb 21, 2019
Miriam Michalak
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2019
Al Burke
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2019
Lukasz
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2019
Luca
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2019
Rachel
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2019
Ben
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2019
Jack W.I. Byers
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2019
Mathew
marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2019
Isaac
marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2019
Claire Durlacher
marked it as to-read
Mar 07, 2019
Christa
marked it as to-read
Mar 07, 2019
Rich
marked it as to-read
Mar 14, 2019
Steven Carter
marked it as to-read
Mar 15, 2019
Harry McCudden
marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2019
Jean Cattley
is currently reading it
Mar 06, 2019
Samantha
marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2019
Dan Sippel
is currently reading it
Mar 09, 2019
Hazel
is currently reading it
Mar 10, 2019
Mary Boyd
is currently reading it
Mar 10, 2019
Laura Hughes
marked it as to-read
Mar 12, 2019
Tom
marked it as to-read
Mar 14, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
69 followers
Stefan M. Nardi grew up on a healthy diet of books, books and more books (pretty sure there was some lollies and other junk in there too). He read his first fantasy novel, Deltora Quest when he was 6 years old. Coincidently it was about the same time that his dad sat him in front of the TV and put Star Wars in the VCR. From then on he was hooked, he consumed every fantasy and science fiction novel ...more