Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Blood In The Valley” as Want to Read:
Blood In The Valley
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Blood In The Valley

by
4.56  ·  Rating details ·  9 ratings  ·  4 reviews
Catherine flung out her hands as if her flesh could protect the children huddled behind her from musket balls and tomahawks. She raised her head and stared into the war-hardened eyes of a Mohawk warrior. A weapon clutched in each hand, his body smeared with grease paint and blood; he had come to wreak destruction he had come to kill. In 1753, Catherine Wasson and her exten ...more
Kindle Edition, 275 pages
Published January 19th 2019 by Amazon Digital Services
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Blood In The Valley, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Blood In The Valley

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-19
Average rating 4.56  · 
Rating details
 ·  9 ratings  ·  4 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Blood In The Valley
Laura Maybrooke
Dec 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Blood In The Valley is a fascinating, rich, and layered read - it tells the story of Catherine Wasson/Clyde and her immediate and extended family through several decades, through some of the key points in America's history. This story is based on true people.

I do not read much historical fiction, and as a Nothern European myself, I knew only the very basic timeline of the events described in this book. Much of it was wholly unknown to me. Therefore I am even more fascinated that this kind of st
...more
Elizabeth Merry
Jun 09, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Elizabeth Merry's review of "Blood in the Valley" by Jean M Roberts, historian, genealogist, blogger and novelist.

I was sorry to come to the end of this book. Although it finished in exactly the right place I was loathe to leave behind all the characters I had come to know. This is a story about the birth of the United States, and although I briefly studied the American War of Independence at school (a long time ago), it was so interesting to read about it in a novel, and to see what it must ha
...more
Margaret Potter
Aug 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book! The story is gripping and kept me on the edge of my seat. The author does a wonderful job of transporting the reader back in time to the beautiful Mohawk Valley. It is set in the years leading up to and during the American Revolutionary War - the birth of our nation. It is an amazing story of resilience and shows a side of the war that I had not heard of before. It captures far more than just the war. It is really a look at the daily struggles and harrowing conditions that peo ...more
Peggy Daniell
Oct 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book pays wonderful attention to detail, bringing to life the lives of the peoples who endured the American Revolution. As a result, Blood in the Valley is a spellbinding read. I felt totally immersed in the historical times when Catherine and her extended family lived, and I was caught up in their daily struggles as they dealt with the hardship and loss of home and loved ones that war brought. The strength and perseverance of those early settlers can only be described as extraordinary. One ...more
thursa martin
rated it it was amazing
Aug 01, 2019
Jean Roberts
Jan 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Curtis Mauldin
rated it it was amazing
Jan 28, 2019
Jan Kayser
rated it it was amazing
Aug 10, 2019
Mary
rated it did not like it
Mar 01, 2020
Dan Cross
marked it as to-read
Jun 26, 2019
Lexia
added it
Aug 02, 2019
J.S. Milik
marked it as to-read
Aug 08, 2019
David Fitz-Gerald
marked it as to-read
Sep 22, 2019
Debbie Cowman
is currently reading it
Nov 22, 2019
Bill White
is currently reading it
Apr 10, 2020
Lucas Mann
is currently reading it
May 25, 2020
Emma
marked it as to-read
May 31, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Keep Your Eyes on Me: A twisting tale of vengeance, perfect for fans of Liz Nugent and Jo Spain
  • Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, #1)
  • Keep Your Eyes On Me
  • Heart of Darkness
  • RAINY SEASON: A Heartbreaker Noir Romance
  • Shadow City
  • Fated to Meet You
  • The Moon Hunters
  • Black Coat
  • Cape of Storms
  • The Community
  • A Storm of Silver and Ash (The Oncoming Storm, #1)
  • Death Takes a Holiday at Pemberley
  • We Survivors: A Story from After the End
  • Index of Watchtower Errors 1879 to 1989
  • Rebecca's Choice
  • Iron Lake (Cork O'Connor, #1)
  • Founding St. Louis: First City of the New West
See similar books…
46 followers
My love of genealogy was the genesis for my first book, Weave a Web of Witchcraft. My first foray into writing was blogging. It was love at first type. I currently write two blogs, The Family Connection, which deals mostly with my New England ancestors and their English ancestors and Indian Reservations, which oddly enough is about mythical Indian ancestors, none of which are mine. My second book ...more

News & Interviews

They’re baaaaaaack! Young adult vampires, that is. Fifteen years after Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight took the world by storm, we’re seeing a brand...
46 likes · 25 comments