Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dorothy and the Glass Key” as Want to Read:
Dorothy and the Glass Key
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Dorothy and the Glass Key

by
4.34  ·  Rating details ·  32 ratings  ·  26 reviews
14-year-old Dorothy Alston had to grow up fast when her father’s alcohol-induced carelessness resulted in a house fire that claimed her mother’s life. She finds a new life on her uncle’s farm in Florida…but not for long. Now, thirty-four years later, Dorothy’s in a permanent vegetative state and it’s up to Ellen Steward – the hard-working, slightly jaded administrator at a ...more
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published February 28th 2019 by Austin Macauley Publishers LLC
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dorothy and the Glass Key, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Dorothy and the Glass Key

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.34  · 
Rating details
 ·  32 ratings  ·  26 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Dorothy and the Glass Key
Alexia (Right Writing Words)
Hi! Welcome to my review of Dorothy and the Glass Key by Christopher J. Finn!


The spoiler-free review :

Dorothy and the Glass Key follows Dorothy, a 14 year old girl who’s mother had died in a fire, as she and her father move to her uncle’s farm for a fresh start during the summer vacation. Dorothy comes across a glass key, which can transport her to a new, almost magical world. Here, she meets new friends and finally finds an escape from the awkward tension back home between/>The
...more
Cathy
Aug 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Dorothy and The Glass Key by Christopher J. Finn
I loved this book and found myself not wanting to put this down and return to my world. When we first meet Dorothy she is a young woman who is comatose but otherwise healthy, what or who put her into the condition she is in? You have got to take the trip with Dorothy and her Glass Key to another magical world where she meets Charlie and later they meets Rags, they travel separately and together between the worlds escaping their normal unhappy
...more
Marta Cox
Jun 27, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: my-reviews, netgalley
What can I say about this book that won't ruin it for others ? Well from the title I had imagined something perhaps inspired by the Wizard of Oz but actually it was far more twisted than that. This book is the story of Dorothy who is comatose and her rich benefactor takes her to a new clinic hoping that answers can be found there. He tells a story of how a very sad fourteen year old Dorothy found a mysterious key that transported her to a magical world where she found two other boys who like her ...more
Marcy Coonce
Jul 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
In Christopher J. Finn’s debut novel, he takes the reader on fantastically crafted journey that plays with the confines of both time and place. He masterfully captures the struggle many teens encounter, not a child but not yet an adult, while giving his characters their own demons to wrestle with. He then sends these three friends into a world those twice their age would fail to comprehend. The ending will leave you eagerly anticipating the next glimpse into the lives of these resilient characte ...more
Bridgett
Jul 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This was such an interesting book to read. I enjoy books with a fantasy element from time to time and I have to say, this one was just so well written. I really liked the character of Ellen. She went to such great lengths to find out what exactly happened to Dorothy.

The story was well paced, the characters were well fleshed out, the whole thing just really worked for me. I will definitely be adding Christopher J. Finn to my list of authors to seek out.

Stacy Mandel
Mar 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Author Christopher J. Finn takes you on a fantastic journey where the line between fantasy and reality keeps the reader captivated. You are brought to a world of the unexpected and unanticipated with each new page. The story is told in descriptive and distinct voices filling your mind with imagery of an exciting story. This is a must read that keeps you wanting more.
Gail
Mar 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Read this book! You will NOT be able to put it down til you get to the end and then you will be left longing for more. A mix of fantasy and harsh reality, the story of Dorothy and her friends will suck you in to a world like no other.
Kenny Davis
Feb 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A fantastic read. Once you pick it up it's hard to put down. Will read again and again
Melissa Marchand
Mar 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Excellent addition to the fantasy epic genre. I finished it in less that two days; hard to put down.
Ruth
Mar 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
From the very first moment you starr reading,you get caught up this fascinating tale. I couldn't put it down. Now i eagerly await the next book. Please hurry!
Jessica Smith
Nov 11, 2019 rated it liked it
You can find this review and all of my others over at www.readbookrepeat.wordpress.com

I received a copy of this book from the publisher, Austin Macauley, and the author via Book Sirens in exchange for an honest review.

Actual rating of 3.5

Dorothy has lost it all. Her mother perished in a house fire caused by her drunken father and now she has no one to turn to. When Dorothy and her father end up at her Uncle Al's place in Florida, she begins to hash out a new life for herself. She comes across a glass key/>
...more
Ayesha Ghaffar
Aug 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Dorothy and the Glass Key is the sensational and other-worldly tale of three children who find keys that act as portals into another alternate reality. This reality seems like a temporary hiatus from their trauma plagued lives. We have an American named Dorothy whose mother died in a fire in the 80s, Ragesha in a tumultuous pre-uprising India of the 60s, and Charlie struggling in post war London of the 40s, yet their paths all converge in another time and place when they are all 14 years old. Wh ...more
Marjorie
Aug 12, 2019 rated it liked it
Starting in a privately operated Mental Health Facility, the book initially introduces us to the administrator, Ellen, who is dismayed to have her peaceful Monday shattered by the wealthy Ragesh Dutta and his ward, Dorothy. Taking over a suite of rooms Ellen is shocked to find all the furnishings and decor removed from the room and, even more shocked to find out that Ragesh seems to insist that Dorothy and he were 14 year olds together when it is quite clear that there is a huge age gap between ...more
Jessica Bronder
Aug 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing
We start this story at a mental health facility where rich Ragesh Dutta has brought his ward Dorothy. Ellen is the administrator but figures if Ragesh is willing to pay she has no problem letting him. Then Ragesh starts telling Ellen Dorothy’s story. When Dorothy was 14 years old a fire killed her mother. Together her father and she move to Florida to live on her uncle’s farm. Things are strained between the two since Dorothy blames her mother’s death on her father.

When Dorothy discovers a key
...more
Kylie
Sep 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley
Where to begin? This story flips back and forth a little bit between the present and the past. In the present Ellen Steward meets Ragesha Dutta and his "ward" so to speak Dorothy Alston. Dorothy is in a persistent vegetative state and is brought to see Ellen at the Elements of Recovery to see if she can help Dorothy come out of it. So begins Ragesha's story of how he and Dorothy met, and why she is how she is.

In the past, Dorothy is a 14 year old girl who recently lost her mother to
...more
Daniela Catarino
Sep 17, 2019 rated it really liked it
I'll be honest, I almost gave up on this book in the first chapter, but I'm now really happy that I pulled through it!

I'm torn on how to rate it though, since I really enjoyed the middle of it, but the ending made me feel dizzy. Let's say a 3,5 rating.

First of all, what I enjoyed about this book:
- The witting was great, I really really liked how effortlessly the author seemed to write dialogues featuring both teenagers and adults, it all flows so well, I think that's no easy feat. I've seen many good/>First
...more
Sarah
Aug 24, 2019 rated it liked it
Dorothy and the Glass Key by Christopher J. Finn is a dark fantasy with a very intriguing premise about a grieving 14-year-old girl who finds a key that allows her to escape into different worlds, and the ensuing mysteries. A big thank you to the author and to BookSirens for allowing me to enjoy this novel for free in exchange for my honest review.

First off, I loved the much more sinister approach to the Wizard of Oz-esque feeling that accompanies the story. The portrayal of Dorothy
...more
Anna Szabó
Sep 30, 2019 rated it really liked it
Every once in a while I start a review like this: this book was not what I expected.

Dorothy Alston and her father move to Florida to Dorothy’s uncle after a tragic incident. She wants to start her life over, go to school, meet new people. Butone day she finds something that changes not just her life but someone else’s too. That someone else is Ellen Steward. She is an administrator an a rehab facility where Dorothy is being brought to get her help. Dorothy is in a vegetative state fo
...more
Hayley
Jul 04, 2019 rated it did not like it
Shelves: netgalley
I was very interested in this book from the beginning. I mean a book where the main character is stuck in a coma from the whole thing and living in a fantasy life while the people around her try to figure out what is going on? It sounded very different and interesting. What I didn't like was I found the plot of this book a bit muddled and hard to distinguish exactly what was happening. Did this happen while Dorothy was asleep? Is she awake now? Is she asleep in real life but awake in a fictional ...more
Lynndell
Thanks to Austin Macaulay Publishers and NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review Dorothy and the Glass Key by Christopher J. Finn!
Dorothy, a twenty-five year old who is wheelchair bound, is brought to a recovery center for hopeful assistance. A friend brought her to the center after searching the world for help but not getting any changes in Dorothy. She’s catatonic but looks healthy otherwise. The center administrator is baffled so the friend tells her the story of how it all beg
...more
Jen Solak
This book left me feeling confused. The plot wasn’t the cause, mostly... I just find it really hard to review because I enjoyed many of the characters, I thought the writing was well done, and the concept was completely unique. Normally that would lead to a glowing review. Yet, there is something about this book that left me feeling more ‘meh’ than anything. If I were to try to point to why I felt that way, I would say part of the problem is the length. The book is only 179 pages and a huge shif ...more
Genelle Themann
Oct 17, 2019 rated it really liked it
Life had been tough for Dorothy since her Mom died due to her Dad's negligence. When her Dad decided to move to Florida to her uncle's place, she was hoping for a big change. Dorothy discovered a strange Key in an old dresser, that unlocked a portal to a strange "world" where another kid with a key was camping. One new friend soon led to another strange "world" and another kid. Kids being kids, exploration and discovery soon brought them in contact with a sinister smoky, being,...the Spintwister ...more
Elna
*Received an ARC in exchange for a review*

The beginning made me initially think the audience was mislabeled as "young adult" (as it focuses on adults) and the writing seems a little weak, but it soon becomes evident that this is a frame narrative, the story picks up with the tale of 14-year old Dorthoy, who uses a key to travel to some alternate world. In those worlds, she meets two boys from what is their present but her past.

Once we get into the "meat" of the story, it'
...more
Josh
Aug 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book was trip it own! So many attributes compliment to this story as a whole its impeccable.. I can’t grasp the words to say exactly how this made me feel other then, imaginative, happy, sad, confused, lost, and wonderfully spontaneous! So many mixed emotions when reading this and the character I found myself getting so attached to mentally!

This story is one that incorporates the theme of a monster under your bed or a recurring nightmare so to speak. Conquer your fears and send those beast
...more
Crystal Mayfield
Aug 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This story was not at all what I expected, I will start with that. This is the first book that I have read that I was unable to figure out the future of the story, what twists and turns that were held within. It is a beautiful story told beautifully. I am not going to say much about the story because I wouldn't want to spoil it for anyone else. I will say this I opened it yesterday and finished in less than 24 hours. It was that good.

I received an advance review copy for free, and I
...more
Karin Cooney
Aug 05, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
After reading the synopsis of Dorothy and the Glass Key, I was intrigued. The book did not disappoint. As an avid reader, I can usually predict what will happen in the books I read, but not with this one. It kept me on my toes trying to figure out what was happening right until the very end. I can not wait to read more of the characters adventures.
David Jerry
rated it it was amazing
Feb 27, 2019
Billy
rated it it was amazing
Mar 03, 2019
Elisabeth Beatman
rated it it was amazing
Feb 26, 2019
Christopher Finn
Mar 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Writhing: A Horror Novel
  • Mooncakes
  • A Monster Escapes
  • Slumber
  • Rise of the Gorgon
  • State of Chaos: a Cade Rearden Thriller
  • Part-Time Monster Hunter (Kat Drummond #1)
  • The Secret Keeper (Grant Garrick, #5)
  • Snowball: A Christmas Horror Story
  • Leaving Shadows
  • The Devouring Gray (The Devouring Gray, #1)
  • The Christmas Walk Caper: A Mac and Millie Mystery (Mac and Millie Mysteries Book 1)
  • Blood Cartel (Kat Drummond #2)
  • Rewind
  • Silent Sisters
  • Snug Harbor Stories: A Wallace the Brave Collection!
  • Aphrodite Made Me Do It
  • The Good Luck Girls (The Good Luck Girls, #1)
See similar books…
Christopher J. Finn has long been a fan of things that are quirky, odd and dark, believing those aspects make for the best stories. Dorothy and the Glass Key, his debut novel, falls right into those categories.

Christopher J. Finn lives in Missouri with his wife and three kids. When he isn’t writing his next novel, he is painting, woodworking, playing PS4 with his pre-teens or watching
...more