Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Lexi Magill and the Teleportation Tournament” as Want to Read:
Lexi Magill and the Teleportation Tournament
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Lexi Magill and the Teleportation Tournament

by
4.61  ·  Rating details ·  36 ratings  ·  21 reviews
For fans of The Amazing Race, Lexi Magill and the Teleportation Tournament is the perfect adventure for middle grade readers who like scavenger hunts and puzzle-solving.

Twelve-year-old physics whiz Lexi Magill won't let anything stop her from winning Wisconsin's Teleportation Tournament--the annual competition where teams teleport around the world to solve science-based
...more
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published October 1st 2019 by Running Press Kids
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Lexi Magill and the Teleportation Tournament, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Lexi Magill and the Teleportation Tournament

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.61  · 
Rating details
 ·  36 ratings  ·  21 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Lexi Magill and the Teleportation Tournament
Naomi Milliner
Apr 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing
What a fun and engaging read! I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this book - especially mg readers. The title character and her unlikely allies come together and form a team easy to root for, and I really liked their blossoming camaraderie. The obstacles they faced held my interest, and the puzzles they had to figure out (which the reader ALSO gets to figure out) were varied and challenging. As an added bonus, Long shows how physics can be applied to unexpected fields like sports and ...more
Nicole Hewitt
Oct 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This review and many more can be found on my blog: Feed Your Fiction Addiction

This book is absolutelyperfectfor fans of The Amazing Race!! Of course, you don't have to be familiar with the show to enjoy the book, but if you are, you'll get that extra layer of enjoyment. I actually hadn't read the blurb before reading the book, so I hadn't expected the comparison---but I immediately found myself thinking, "This is a middle grade Amazing Race with a teleportation twist!" Everything I used to love
...more
Meagan Dallner
Apr 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
*Huge thank you to NetGalley for providing me with an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review**

This book stole my heart, took it on an adventure, and brought it back to me swollen with happiness. In other words, I absolutely adored this middle grade STEM adventure.

Lexi Magill loves science. Unfortunately, when her dad lost his job, Lexi lost her spot in the Academy, a science school with all the best nerd clubs and her bff. Luckily, you don't have to be an Academy student to enter the
...more
Christi M
Mar 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Lexi Magill and the Teleportation Tournament is a wonderful story of a 12-year old girl who has recently moved to a new school due to a change in her parents financial situation. She is lonely at her new school, which doesn't even have a science club and Lexi really wants to be back at her old school (a science academy) with her old friends. To help get the money she needs to rejoin the science academy, she sets out to enter in the annual Teleportation Tournament with 2 classmates she enlisted ...more
Tina Athaide
May 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Lexi Magill and her teammates are the perfect group of kids to capture the attention and hearts of MG readers.
They are relatable, flawed, and totally believable.

The story hits the ground running and doesn't stop. The pace and tension will keep readers turning the pages, from beginning to middle to end.

Kim Long has cleverly threaded STEM aspects into this wild ride that will engage and challenge MG readers. They can choose to stop and try and solve the clues with the characters, or just keep
...more
Leah
Apr 29, 2019 rated it really liked it
Lexi Magill is so desperate to go back to the way things were before her family started struggling with money, that she is unable to see the good things right in front of her. Her way to "fix things" is to win a science teleportation scavenger hunt and use the prize money to pay for the tuition to the fancy science school she previously attended and rejoin her best friend Haley. She begrudgingly gets two current classmates to join her team, even though they are more interested in art (Mal) and ...more
M.L. Little
Jun 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
@kidlitexchange #partner: Lexi Magill and the Teleportation Tournament by Kim Long and @runningpresskids. Releases October 2019.
—————-
This book is quite honestly the cutest thing I ever read in addition to being very intelligent and clever. A trio of very unique twelve-year-olds teams up to enter a competitive and high-stakes teleportation tournament. Yes, this is a world where kids nonchalantly teleport from one country to the other and I was HERE for it. Along the way, they recover from very
...more
Karen Hollins-Stallman
Jun 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
I read this with the thought of getting for my nephew who is 8 and I think it will be perfect for him. I found the book to be enjoyable and I was engaged right from the start. It was nice to see that each student used their own clue solving abilities and worked as a team when making decisions and shows that their perseverance pays off.

I highly recommend this for children from age 8+

I requested and received an advanced reader copy from the publisher and Netgalley. All thoughts and opinions are my
...more
Colleen
Jan 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Awesome book—I loved reading it with my second-grader! It combines science and travel with important lessons on teamwork and friendship. So so good—I hope there will be more!
Malayna Evans
Apr 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Lexi will take you on an adventure you won't soon forget. Well written, cleverly constructed, and loaded with lovable characters, this debut will warm your heart and challenge your mind. Such a terrific read--middle graders are going to love this fun-filled treasure hunt.
Sarah R. Baughman
May 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
LEXI MAGILL AND THE TELEPORTATION TOURNAMENT by Kim Long offers not only a super fun and intellectually challenging global adventure, but also a realistic, poignant look at what it means to be a loyal friend and teammate. Readers will appreciate Lexi as she matures throughout the novel, and they’ll love her talented teleportation pals Ron and Mal. Don’t miss this fast-paced, puzzle-filled book!
Viviane Elbee
Oct 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
In this entertaining book, middle grade science teams race around the world to solve science & math puzzles in an effort to win a prize. Though set in the future, where tele-transportation is possible, for the most part it feels realistic and contemporary. Kids who like science, math, competition and sports will probably enjoy this book.

The main character, Lexi, is a science fanatic. She wants to win this tournament so that she can afford to go a prestigious science academy. She teams up
...more
Teresa
Dec 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is a super fun read with so much to love: from it's quick adventurous pacing, to the lovable MC and her two "sidekicks"/friends, to the puzzles that readers get to solve along the way. Kim Long knows how to appeal to middle-graders with her exciting and accessible writing style! My only minor quibble is that there is no such thing as the Nobel Peace Prize in chemistry: peace and chemistry are separate award categories for the Nobel Prize. But that doesn't detract from the overall enjoyment ...more
Libby
Sep 28, 2019 rated it really liked it
Set in the not-s0-distant future, the unique premise has middle school kids teleporting around the world a la the Amazing Race. The action starts early, and in the beginning, I wrote off the characters as cardboard stereotypes - Lexi, the scientific nerd, Ron, the athlete, and Mal, the creative artist, but they grew during the story and had a bit more depth than I thought they would. The race aspect and the puzzles were fun; the middle school friendship issues were handled with a light touch, ...more
M. Velasco
Nov 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Teamwork makes the dream work, and when you're in a competition like Wisconsin's Teleportation Tournament, you gotta trust in your teammates.

LEXI MAGILL AND THE TELEPORTATION TOURNAMENT is a fast-paced adventure around the globe, full of clever puzzles and smart science. The book dazzles with fully-realized characters, each with their strengths and weaknesses, and fun twists that will keep readers racing to the finish line.
Debra Shumaker
Jan 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing
What a fun read! I LOVED Lexi and her cleverness, her ambition to win, but also her realization at the end of the story. If you are a fan of the Amazing Race, you will be a fan of this book. Because that's what this book is—The Amazing Race for kids but with science! And being a former Wisconsinite, I really enjoyed the references to the Packers and the Brewers. After I read this book, I passed it on to my 10 year old niece in Wisconsin. I know she'll enjoy it!
Pam
Sep 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Matthew Smith
Dec 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A Teleportation Tournament - such a cool idea!

Long's prose is vivid, with realistic, propulsive dialogue that keeps the pages turning. The characterization is warm and quirky in the best way. The puzzles are incredibly fun to solve along with the characters.

Highly recommend!
Erin
Oct 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Not just for kids! A fun read for adults too! I loved it!
Arianne Costner
Dec 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
What a charming book! Clever puzzles, great characters, and a plot that keeps you turning pages. Would recommend for anyone who enjoys middle grade literature
Diana Johnson
Oct 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Lexi Magill and the Teleportation Tournament is so much fun. It’s like Amazing Race with teleportation for kids! The history and puzzles are presented in a great accessible way for children. I want to visit all the places Lexi, Ron, and Mal do in the book and I’m sure kids will, too. Lexi is a relatable character with a fantastic voice. The dynamic between her and her teammates is well done with a great lesson on how everyone has something unique to offer to a contest and more importantly, ...more
Nancy McGinley Myers
rated it it was amazing
Oct 10, 2019
Ms. Donovan
rated it really liked it
Oct 03, 2019
Elizabeth S
rated it really liked it
Nov 04, 2019
Adrianna
rated it really liked it
May 04, 2019
Kim Long
May 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Mitastouch
rated it really liked it
Apr 19, 2019
Maria M
rated it it was amazing
Oct 11, 2019
Karen
rated it really liked it
Nov 24, 2019
Anthony
rated it it was amazing
Oct 23, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Stargazing
  • The Miraculous
  • Roll with It
  • Midsummer's Mayhem
  • Emmy in the Key of Code
  • Words on Fire
  • A Time Traveler's Theory of Relativity
  • Maybe He Just Likes You
  • The Strangers (Greystone Secrets, #1)
  • Guts
  • Orphan Island
  • All of Me
  • Save the Cat! Writes a Novel
  • The True History of Lyndie B. Hawkins
  • Survival
  • A Songbird Dreams of Singing: Poems about Sleeping Animals
  • Friend or Fiction
See similar books…