Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Bouncing Back” as Want to Read:
Bouncing Back
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Bouncing Back

4.07  ·  Rating details ·  29 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green, Bouncing Back brings readers onto the wheelchair basketball court in a story brimming with heart, humor, and thrilling sports action.

Back in his old basketball league, Carlos Cooper owned the court, sprinting and jumping and lighting up the scoreboard as opponents (and teammates) watched in awe. Now thirteen-year-old "Cooper
...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published October 8th 2019 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Bouncing Back, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Bouncing Back

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.07  · 
Rating details
 ·  29 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Bouncing Back
Ms. Yingling
Jul 29, 2019 rated it really liked it
E ARC provided by Edelweiss Plus



Carlos Cooper "the Hooper" is in a wheelchair after an accident that claimed the lives of both his parents. He is fortunate that his very supportive Aunt Rosie and Uncle Augie have stepped in to raise him, even if it means moving several hours away from his old friends. Wanting to get Carlos interested in something, his aunt and uncle have him go to the Buccaneers wheel chair basketball practice. It seems like an impossible task, especially since the coach,
...more
Darla
Oct 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book is heartwarming and filled with authentic basketball court action reminding us that wheelchair basketball is indeed real basketball. The book begins with Carlos going to his first practice with the team. He is relatively new to being in a wheelchair and struggles with being on the court in a chair. Once a hotshot scorer, he is forced to be a student of strategy and that makes him a better teammate. The team faces a crisis with their home gym and the book depicts their efforts to ...more
Melanie Dulaney
Scott Ostler is a writer of sports non-fiction and that background allows him to bring a ring of authenticity to the basketball aspect of his debut novel for middle grades students. But there is so much more than basketball in this novel! Students and teachers will easily recognize themes of perseverance, working together, and being a true friend, but there are other messages that are more subtle--standing up to bullies, both the typical school yard type as well as the scarier ones in the role ...more
Anita McDivitt Barrios
Dec 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: middle-grade, sports
Carlos was his basketball team's top scorer, but he's not great when it comes to passing to his teammates, so when he's in an accident that kills his parents and has to use a wheelchair, he thinks his basketball days are over.

Until his Aunt Rosie and Uncle Augie introduce him to wheelchair basketball in a run-down gym the team nicknames the "Rat Palace" after a rat missing a leg steals a bite from Carlos' donut.

Carlos and his teammates battle not just to make it to the state finals, but to keep
...more
Jennybeast
Jul 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: kids
Jam-packed, exciting story focused on a wheelchair basketball team that is fighting to become a strong team and save their community gym. Tons of issues in here -- from the various personal stories of the kids on the teams (losing parents, dealing with chronic illness, foster system) to the backstory of the notorious school bully (DV) to the loving family that Carlos, the main character, has created with his aunt and uncle following the death of his parents in the same accident that paralyzed ...more
Kylie
Recommended for grades 4-7. The story of Carlos, a recently wheelchair-bound middle schooler who rediscovers his love of basketball on a wheelchair basketball team. This book really has the feel of a sports book more than a realistic-fiction-about-having-a-disability book. (Basically the opposite of Mascot by Antony John, where the disability experience is more of the focus and the sports is more in the background.) The team is made up of a diverse cast of disabled players who work hard, support ...more
Carolyn
Jan 25, 2020 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
J L
Dec 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I absolutely loved this one. The tension of game action paired with the struggle to keep their gym kept me turning the pages. The characters are incredible too, with full personalities. It incorporates a lot of important topics and themes, but does not feel preachy or heavy.
PWRL
Jan 03, 2020 marked it as to-read
SM
Melinda
Jan 16, 2020 rated it liked it
Bedtime book with Isaac. He loved it. Positive story filled with easy to love (or hate, where appropriate) characters and lots of basketball play by play.
Hoover Public Library Kids and Teens
Carlos owned the basketball court before his accident. Will he be out of his league on his new wheelchair basketball team?
Chris Fike
Dec 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Bouncing Back by Scott Ostler is a book about a handicapped boy named Carlos, who loves basketball, but doesn’t feel normal on his wheelchair team, He then realizes that his school bully’s father (The Mayor) is going to tear down their gym. The Rollin Rat’s do everything they can to stop the mayor and Carlos starts to feel like part of a team again. If you like comedy and sports with a little bit of heart. Then this book is for you.
Lee
rated it really liked it
Dec 29, 2019
Trish
rated it really liked it
Sep 02, 2019
Heather
rated it really liked it
Jan 15, 2020
Michele Knott
rated it really liked it
Aug 05, 2019
Fabulous Book Fiend
rated it really liked it
Dec 18, 2019
Wesley Chang
rated it liked it
Nov 06, 2019
Whitney Emeigh
rated it really liked it
Jan 12, 2020
Jenny Hinojosa
rated it really liked it
Jan 04, 2020
Jean
rated it it was amazing
Oct 11, 2019
MayorEmma
rated it it was ok
Nov 14, 2019
Katie Jane
rated it liked it
Nov 22, 2019
Brianna Gray
rated it really liked it
Dec 17, 2019
Alex
rated it it was amazing
Jan 21, 2020
Christine
rated it liked it
Dec 03, 2019
Jaelyn T
rated it it was amazing
Dec 01, 2019
Jason Gregory
rated it it was amazing
Nov 25, 2019
Emily
rated it liked it
Nov 01, 2019
Catherine Boddie
rated it liked it
Nov 20, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Look Both Ways
  • Some Places More Than Others
  • Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation
  • Benchwarmers
  • Saving Fable
  • White Bird
  • Pet
  • Ruby in the Sky
  • Under the Broken Sky
  • Archimancy (Shadow School, #1)
  • My Jasper June
  • Owl's Outstanding Donuts
  • I Can Make This Promise
  • A Slip of a Girl
  • Pie in the Sky
  • Queen of the Sea
  • A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying
  • Changeling (The Oddmire #1)
See similar books…
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »