Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Rosewater Redemption (The Wormwood Trilogy, #3)” as Want to Read:
The Rosewater Redemption (The Wormwood Trilogy, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Rosewater Redemption

(The Wormwood Trilogy #3)

4.10  ·  Rating details ·  725 ratings  ·  95 reviews
The Rosewater Redemption concludes the award-winning, cutting edge Wormwood trilogy, set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction's most engaging new voices.

Life in the newly independent city-state of Rosewater isn't everything its citizens were expecting.

The Mayor finds that debts incurred during the insurrection are coming back to haunt him. Nigeria isn't willing to let
...more
Paperback, 416 pages
Published October 15th 2019 by Orbit
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Rosewater Redemption, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Rosewater Redemption

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.10  · 
Rating details
 ·  725 ratings  ·  95 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Rosewater Redemption (The Wormwood Trilogy, #3)
Anthony
This, the final book in The Wormwood Trilogy, was as enjoyably imaginative, trippy, and compelling as the first two books. Tade Thompsons work is a delightfully original mashup of tropes including alien invasions, comic book-style superpowers, afrofuturism, and badass female cops.

Hes definitely a writer to watch, with a great ear for dialogue, a welcome skill at crafting surprising plots, and an invigorating blend of dark humor and authentic heart.
...more
Bradley
All three of these Wormwood books are perfect for Weird fans. Not that you have to be weird as a fan to enjoy them, merely that you must enjoy Weird fiction, be tolerant of cthulhu-like alien entities who provide rather miraculous services in return for a foothold in humanity. Wait. Isn't this just an alien invasion story?

Sure, like Fight Club is just a story about self-help groups.

We get a solid return for main characters in the previous two, get thrown into time-travel, end-of-the-world,
...more
Gabi
Oct 16, 2019 rated it really liked it
A worthy, fast paced ending to this outstanding SF series. Colour me a Tade Thompson fan girl.

The final solution fell a bit flat for me, therefore 'only' 4 stars. Yet the buildup had all the wonderful blunt prose spiked with humor and self-deprecation that I adore. We learn more about Oyin Da as all the embosomed characters once more enter the stage trying to save (with varying success) humankind - while Layi only wants to join the first Rosewater Pride march, just in case he turns out gay.

I
...more
K.J. Charles
Oct 20, 2019 added it
Shelves: african, sf
Spectacular ending to the epic trilogy about a slow-burn alien invasion centred in a breakaway ex-Nigerian city-republic. The whole thing is brilliant, imagined on a gigantic scale, with a huge cast (extremely well managed, I had no trouble picking up the story threads from where we left off last time) and marvellous description. Gloriously imaginative, well written, manages a lot of sometimes pretty bleak plot themes and elements while hanging on to the humanity of all involved, so it's ...more
Dawn C
Oct 22, 2019 rated it really liked it
Thompson has really created a unique, genre blending trilogy, so full of twists and turns that its impossible to guess where its going. The language is fresh, the city vibrantly alive with real people fighting for their existence between the alien entity of Wormwood and politicians with an agenda of their own. Ill admit I lost track of what was going on quite a few times, but I kept being mesmerized by this fast paced, almost thriller-like scifi slash adult urban fantasy slash horror slash ...more
Alex Bright
Dec 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A satisfying and thought-provoking ending to a brilliant science fiction trilogy.

Maybe I'll have a more specific review in the future, but that will do for now.
FanFiAddict
Oct 29, 2019 rated it really liked it
Rating: ★★★★☆+

Synopsis

The Rosewater Redemption concludes the award-winning, cutting edge Wormwood trilogy, set in Nigeria, by one of science fictions most engaging new voices.

Life in the newly independent city-state of Rosewater isnt everything its citizens were expecting.

The Mayor finds that debts incurred during the insurrection are coming back to haunt him. Nigeria isnt willing to let Rosewater go without a fight. And the citys alien inhabitants are threatening mass murder for their own
...more
Lata
This was a really good finish to what has been a wildly imaginative and inventive series with a big cast of characters. There are all sorts of elements at play in this last story about an alien invasion and all the people involved with living with it or stopping it. I was a little worried I'd have some trouble getting back into this book, but Tade Thompson handles the many perspectives and time periods well, and I found myself comfortably back in the thick of the complicated plot. There's plenty ...more
Shaun Hutchinson
A wonderful conclusion to a really unique series. Can't wait to see what Thompson comes up with next.
Anna
Dec 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fiction, scifi
Although this feels like a very obvious thing to say, it merits heavy emphasis: the Rosewater trilogy is enormously fun to read. I've read 118 novels so far this year and both 'The Rosewater Redemption' and The Rosewater Insurrection are among the three I enjoyed most. Tade Thompson is quite simply a brilliant writer. His characters are appealing, his plots wonderfully twisty, his world-building ingenious, his pacing impeccable, and his themes cleverly developed. Each book in the Rosewater ...more
Luke Burrage
Dec 27, 2019 rated it really liked it

A really great set of novels! I very much enjoyed them all. It's a good trilogy that doesn't try to continue the protagonist's story past the first novel, and instead finds new people and stories to follow in the next two instalments.

Full review on my podcast, SFBRP episode #415:



http://www.sfbrp.com/archives/1639
Mary
Dec 10, 2019 rated it really liked it
Pretty good wrap up to this trilogy, though not completely satisfying. The story has so many threads to follow at this point, this installment felt a little disjointed. On the other hand, having Oyin Da mostly narrate and having fewer (no?) time jumps made the narrative easier to follow in some ways. Thompson writes great characters, and Ill be looking for other work from him.

Overall, this is a good trilogy and gives the reader a lot to think about, especially in terms of an alien invasion that
...more
Stephanie
Mar 01, 2020 rated it really liked it
This was a fun trilogy, for the most part, although it occasionally collapsed under its own byzantine weight. In case it wasn't clear (it's clear), there's a passage near the end that announces quite literally that the whole thing is an allegory for [bullhorn] CLIMATE CHANGE and [more bullhorn] COLONIZATION. Although to be fair the colonization bit isn't really an allegory.

I don't know whether this is a problem or not, but sometimes I wasn't sure what genre I was in. The back cover says the book
...more
Michael Howley
Nov 05, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: borderlands-rec
I rarely read the third part of a trilogy and want to immediately restart the series. This book is a perfect amalgam of what I loved about the first two parts. Tade Thompson does a good job of reminding you what happened before, though there were some times I couldn't quite place a character or two.

Like the best sci-fi, this series asks a lot of interesting questions about the nature of humanity and our place in the world. What makes it even better it's written by someone with a view and a voice
...more
Dan
Oct 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A phenomenal ending to a truly great sf trilogy. Unlike the slow burn of the first two installments, REDEMPTION by comparison hits the ground running, covering an astonishing amount of fresh ground while expertly weaving together new and existing narrative and thematic strands with truly baffling ease. I devoured this deliciously weird, unsettling, and reliably slippery inversion of Lovecraftian sff with breathless abandon, my one regret being that like all great trilogies, the ROSEWATER cycle ...more
Tia
I thought that in 2020, I might write a short or not-so-short review for every book read. A challenging resolution, but we'll see.

Anyway, to the point.
Short review: bleh, ok.
Longer review: All the things that I liked from the previous books, the things that first got me hooked, are still there, but there is not real development. Instead it seems like the writing has regressed. The writing has always seemed to me like a script for an action movie, but now it feels like scenes are lifted directly
...more
Peter Hollo
Nov 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
It's rare to find something truly original these days. This trilogy really fits the bill. Brilliantly written, deeply strange, very thoughtful and thought-provoking. Thompson has created an important meditation on colonialism but it's crazy, profane, violent and beautiful in equal measure.
Now they're all out, you've got no excuse not to read all three in a row!
Runalong
Nov 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Now this was brilliant end to a fantastic science fiction series and each story gets a pay off so well - read this!!!

Full review - https://www.runalongtheshelves.net/ha...
JonBob
Oct 24, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: science-fiction
Originally reviewed at Parsecs & Parchment

***Spoilers ahead for the first two Wormwood books***


A spectacular conclusion to the genre-blending Wormwood trilogy from one of the most imaginative writers in SFF today. The story of Rosewater is one of insidious alien invasion, self-serving humanity, powerful interest groups, and running through it all the subtle optimism that imperfect, even cynical people can do good things while making mistakes along the way.

There are multiple story threads
...more
Susan
Jan 19, 2020 rated it really liked it
I loved the first two book in this trilogy, but half way through the final installment, I had to force myself to keep picking Redemption up and thought that (at that point, if it kept up like it was) I wouldn't be able to give it more than 3/5 stars. I struggled to articulate to myself what I disliked so much about this volume, and finally identified this (again, about the first half of the book): there are almost no interpersonal connections between characters. Oh, sure, all our favorite ...more
Soo
Oct 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Mini-Review:

4.5 Stars Round Up to 5 Stars for GR Rating

4 Stars for Narration by Bayo Gbadamosi (It would have been 5 but there are still errors that need to be taken out. (view spoiler))

Everything that lead up to the ending was great! This one held all of the alien weirdness, interesting perspectives and reveals that made the whole trilogy come together. I wish each of the books were like this one but realize that the
...more
John Waymont
Mar 19, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A satisfying conclusion to the series, with some well-crafted little twists and a few things I'm left pondering on: (view spoiler)(view spoiler). It would certainly be interesting to re-assess what is a ...more
Charles Payet
Oct 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Absolutely RIVETING!

To give context to how much I enjoyed this, I can only compare it to how much I love Tolkien's LOTR, which I've read over 30 times in the last 35 years. It will certainly take several more read-throughs to fully absorb and appreciate what Tade Thompson has created in his Wormwood Trilogy.

I just finished the concluding book of the trilogy this morning, so I don't want to say too much, as I might give something away. There's no way I'd want to take anything away from the pure
...more
Patrick Stirling
Mar 25, 2020 rated it really liked it
I found this one more challenging than the previous two. Multiple narrative lines with different people, one in first person, the rest in third, all in the present tense. There are so many actors I was glad I read it on my kindle and could look up previous snippets of characters easily! It's also quite long, so be prepared! He's a really good writer, the world and the people feel real and act like the smart humans they are. It became much easier after about the 60% mark, when the various story ...more
Stefan Grieve
Nov 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: science-fiction
A fitting conclusion to an epic yet also introspective series, this satisfyingly ties up all lose ends and tells an entertaining story to boot.
There is a melancholy tone to this tale, yet there are fun moments as well and it doesn't fall to being maudlin or present cheap sentimentality; It is still powerful and interesting.
I think the best part of the book is the character arch of the first books point of view protagonist (he is less prominent a character and not point of view in this book ),
...more
Tricia
Nov 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I need a new word that goes beyond 'outstanding', 'excellent', 'stellar' and other such adjectives. The final part of the Rosewater trilogy is glorious. Most of the surviving characters from the earlier books come into a sharper, brighter focus - often in ways that surprise, developing a whole new dimension to their story that is enthralling and bewildering in equal measure.

The quality of the writing and the use of words makes my heart sing. Tade Thompson is blunt and poetic in equal measure,
...more
Georgina Bawden
Jan 09, 2020 rated it really liked it
A really satisfying conclusion to the trilogy.

I loved how it dug into the parallels with colonialism in Nigeria, I loved the mechanics of the xenosphere, I loved the weird and wonderful alien creatures. I loved how we set up the delicate balance that is the city of Rosewater in book one and then by book three have proceeded to completely smash that balance and show us the inevitable results.

There are characters and relationships here that I bought into more than others. I like Aminat but in
...more
Tammy Moran
Feb 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I really liked this trilogy. An alien invasion story, yes. But so imaginative and innovative it feels new. Unpredictable and weird in all the best ways! Set in Nigeria, a country I only know a little about, made it so much more fun and interesting. (I love a book that gets me Google-ing!) The characters were solid - most were likable/unlikable...like real life. (I kept switching my alliances - thats writing craft!)

I struggled with the third book but stand by my 5 stars. I blame my brain. The
...more
Batjutsu
Dec 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A Fabulous & Epic Series
Rosewater is a fabulous and fascinating series with a great mix of characters, themes and ideas. This series is now part of my all-time favourites, one I will be recommending for years to come. Lots of other great reviews to read, and I wanted to avoid spoilers, suffice to say if you like interesting sci-fi, questions about environment, culture, politics and relationships, then this is a series for you. One criticism is that initially I found the story time jumps a
...more
Hayley
Apr 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
It was a thoroughly interesting/entertaining series to read. It was highly imaginative and the world building for me was really unexpected, kept the series interesting throughout.

Storytelling - I think I preferred the storytelling in book 2, but I think that's because I prefer a character led story. Saying that Oyin Da, is still a good story teller & I did enjoy the flow. I think it's impressive that the style of storytelling has changed throughout the three books.

Characters - Due to the way
...more
« previous 1 3 4 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Norwescon: The Rosewater Redemption by Tade Thompson 4 6 Mar 07, 2020 10:31AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Interference (Semiosis Duology, #2)
  • Light of Impossible Stars
  • The Return of the Incredible Exploding Man
  • The Menace from Farside (Luna, #3.5)
  • Bone Silence (Revenger, #3)
  • The Future of Another Timeline
  • Sisters of the Vast Black
  • Dead Astronauts (Borne, #2)
  • The Quantum Garden
  • This Is How You Lose the Time War
  • The Outside
  • Silver (Inverted Frontier #2)
  • The Little Animals
  • Agency (The Peripheral #2)
  • Velocity Weapon (The Protectorate #1)
  • Made Things
  • Cage of Souls
  • Light of Impossible Stars: An Embers of War novel
See similar books…

Other books in the series

The Wormwood Trilogy (3 books)
  • Rosewater (The Wormwood Trilogy, #1)
  • The Rosewater Insurrection (The Wormwood Trilogy, #2)

Articles featuring this book

You can't boldly go anywhere if you only stick with what's familiar. Imagine if Frodo Baggins had stayed home or if Ender had skippe...
148 likes · 43 comments
“Human consciousness time-travels all the time, albeit at a low level. Sensory input that arrives in the brain can have multiple interpretations, and the brain has to choose a “reality”, which takes about half a second. Once it has chosen, it does a temporal shift of awareness back to the moment of sensory perception.” 0 likes
“am putting rot in our souls for all time, but this moment is our best shot at stopping the pipeline, our time-machine moment, our travel-back-and-kill-Leopold-II moment.” 0 likes
More quotes…