Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The How the Why” as Want to Read:
The How  the Why
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The How the Why

by
it was amazing 5.00  ·  Rating details ·  5 ratings  ·  4 reviews
A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing
...more
Hardcover, 464 pages
Expected publication: November 6th 2019 by HarperTeen
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The How the Why, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The How the Why

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-36
it was amazing 5.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  5 ratings  ·  4 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Cynthia Hand
Feb 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
I'm told the cover is ALLLLLLLLMOST here. Check back.
Cynthia Hand
Feb 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Covering coming SOOOOOOOON.
Kait Goodwin (Kait Plus Books)
Full review to be posted on http://kaitplusbooks.com closer to the release date (which is in November, not December. Oops!), but just know that this is probably going to be my favorite book of 2019. So read this book as soon as you can get your hands on it!!! (And also have a box of tissues ready)
🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
Samm | Sassenach the Book Wizard
Feb 11, 2019 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2019
Not a damn clue what this is about but it's Cynthia Hand so I gotta have it
Erika
rated it it was amazing
Mar 27, 2019
Iany Mcgrawn
rated it it was amazing
Nov 23, 2018
Monica
marked it as to-read
Feb 02, 2018
Mew
added it
Feb 17, 2018
Gabi
added it
Feb 21, 2018
Gracie Liberty
marked it as to-read
Feb 21, 2018
Angie
marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2018
Marla Mei
marked it as to-read
Feb 23, 2018
Julie
marked it as to-read
Feb 23, 2018
Kim
marked it as to-read
Feb 23, 2018
Zoë Danielle
marked it as to-read
Feb 24, 2018
Daiane
marked it as to-read
Feb 24, 2018
Caroline Floyd
marked it as to-read
Mar 05, 2018
Gillian Berry
marked it as to-read
Mar 07, 2018
Ben Gaffney
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2018
Ellie
marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2018
Kacie
marked it as to-read
Mar 21, 2018
Aubrey
marked it as to-read
Mar 21, 2018
Caro
marked it as to-read
Mar 29, 2018
Faida orrie
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2018
Jesa Rachele Burgoyne
marked it as to-read
Apr 04, 2018
Vivian Duong
marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2018
Myra
marked it as to-read
Apr 24, 2018
thebookbitch
marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2018
Sami Passlow
marked it as to-read
Jun 18, 2018
JoNetta
marked it as to-read
Jun 20, 2018
Alexa
added it
Jun 20, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
8,466 followers
Cynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of several books for teens, including the UNEARTHLY trilogy, THE LAST TIME WE SAY GOODBYE, MY LADY JANE and MY PLAIN JANE (with fellow authors Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows), THE AFTERLIFE OF HOLLY CHASE, and the upcoming novels THE HOW AND THE WHY and MY CALAMITY JANE (also with Ashton and Meadows). Before turning to writing for young adults, ...more