Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Carina (Roma Nova #1.5)” as Want to Read:
Carina (Roma Nova #1.5)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Carina

(Roma Nova #1.5)

by
4.79  ·  Rating details ·  19 ratings  ·  12 reviews
An alternative cover edition for this ASIN can be found here.

Carina Mitela is still a young inexperienced officer in the Praetorian Guard Special Forces of Roma Nova. Disgraced and smarting from a period in the cells for a disciplinary offence, she is sent out of everybody's way on a seemingly straightforward mission overseas.

All she and her comrade-in-arms, Flavius, have
...more
Kindle Edition, 134 pages
Published February 2019 by Pulcheria Press (first published November 23rd 2017)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Carina, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Carina

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-37
4.79  · 
Rating details
 ·  19 ratings  ·  12 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Shomeret
Nov 25, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received this novella as a gift from the author via Book Funnel in return for this review.

It was a suspenseful narrative. Since I'd already read Perfiditas, which takes place after these events, I knew that Carina would survive. What I didn't know was whether there would be serious consequences for her actions. I also didn't know how her superiors in the Praetorian Guards would react.

My favorite scene in this novella made me a huge fan of Carina's bond with her grandmother Aurelia. Aurelia's
...more
Helen Hollick
Nov 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I am posting a review of Carina for myself, and as founder of the review blog, Discovering Diamonds (where there is an independent review of Carina)
There are several essentials that can turn a good book into a brilliant book (or a good series into a brilliant series) Obviously good writing and good editing are two, but for whatever the genre and sub-genre (in this case Alternative/Thriller) believability for the plot, the locations, the characters - the entire caboodle in fact - is essential. Ms
...more
Norma
Nov 26, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
"Cloak and daggers."
Author Alison Morton is a self confessed 'Roman nut', and she is not alone. But instead of writing stories set within the frontiers of the, sadly, no longer existent Roman Empire of old, she has reimagined history and developed a world where a little fragment of Ancient Rome survived and prospered into the present.

Carina is a fairly recently arrived citizen of Roma Nova, having moved from America at a traumatic point in her young life. But she belongs, through her mother's he
...more
Inge Borg
Nov 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Another Homerun in the Roma Nova Series

I received a pre-publication copy as a reviewer for the Discovering Diamonds review site; however, another tough reviewer beat me to it in posting his on Helen Hollick's Blog (definitely worth reading).

Here is my review:
Alison Morton’s excellent Speculative History series poses the underlying question, “What If...” While the thread also runs through "Carina," it does not detract from the thriller-element of this novella.

Having read several full-length (5-s
...more
David Baird
Feb 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Carina is part of the Roma Nova series by Alison Morton. I came late to the series but was instantly hooked in by the uniqueness of the plots.

Think alternative fiction and strong female leads mixed with intriguing and well planned plots.. yeh you’re on to a winner.

This novella is perfectly suited for someone who hasn’t read the other novels in the series yet.. It’s got the detail to make you want read the rest of the series but there's noting that isn't explained that would confuse the reader so
...more
Angelica Bentley
Driven by impeccable research and anchored in a skilfully constructed alternative world, the Roma Nova saga has grown to six full-length books, and now this lovely surprise: a fast-paced novella with all the immediacy and page-turning appeal I have come to expect.

As before, the action is narrated by Carina Mitela, the heiress apparent of a leading family in the tiny country of Roma Nova, which is all that is left of the glory of Rome. For those who have read some or all of the other books, this
...more
Rosie Amber
Carina is an alternative history novella. It forms part of the Roma Nova series. These books feature stories of a Roman Empire enclave which still thrives in central Europe, some hundreds of years after the traditional downfall.

Carina is the heir to one of the twelve leading Roman families, but she is also a member of the Praetorian Special Forces guard. She is sent on a mission to Quebec to bring back a person of interest. However, the operation turns sinister, and upon her return she must disc
...more
A.J.
Dec 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was my introduction to the Roma Nova series; now I definitely want to read ALL of them! Fans of Lindsey Davis, David Weber, Dick Francis & Lee Child will enjoy this book, for several reasons: 1) well-developed, strong and honorable characters, of both genders; 2) fast pace; 3) rich in details that bring the story "to life."

I received a review copy from the author and am very glad I took the time to read it. Alison Morton is my new favorite! The Roma Nova concept is intriguing, the chara
...more
Paul Bennett
Jan 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed the entire Roma Nova series, I eagerly opened up the new installment, Carina.  This installment takes place between the first two books of the series and finds Carina tasked to apprehend an alleged traitor in Quebec and return her to Roma Nova.  A straightforward task for a member of the elite Praetorian officer corps.  However, things turn out to be a bit more complicated and she is  plunged into a web of deception and intrigue.  The author has given the reade ...more
Eileen Iciek
Jan 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I really enjoyed this novella early in Carina Mitela's career in the PGSF. It was fun and just the right length for a quick read between weightier tomes. The author's research into not just Roman history, but the cities of Montreal and New York shines through. The plot has our heroine chasing after a possible traitor who has flown to Montreal, only to find out that the traitor may not be who she's been told it is. Or maybe so...

If you enjoy thrillers and Roman history, Carina and the other books
...more
Caroline
Aug 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I won this book in a charity auction - and was intrigued as to how it would work the concept was either going to work brilliantly or crash horribly - however I’m glad to say it was the former, I was spellbound by this, even though it was quite gung ho for my tastes the characters were well written and their world was rich and well developed and I want to know more about them - I’ll definitely be buying the rest of the series
Juliet Smith
Nov 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An awesome novella with some surprising twists and some lovely locales. This should tide Morton's legions of fans over until she comes out with her series about the founding of Roma Nova.
Jim Dee
rated it it was amazing
Nov 11, 2018
Su Poole
rated it it was amazing
Jul 27, 2018
Richard Rausch
rated it it was amazing
Feb 27, 2019
Jonmontanavega
rated it it was amazing
Dec 08, 2017
Ian Bertram
rated it really liked it
Aug 21, 2018
Geri F
rated it it was amazing
Nov 23, 2017
Nicky Moxey
rated it really liked it
Aug 05, 2018
Anne
marked it as to-read
Nov 27, 2017
Leila
marked it as to-read
Dec 02, 2017
Asteropê
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2017
Leslie Smith
marked it as to-read
Dec 24, 2017
Mervi
marked it as to-read
Dec 26, 2017
Alysa H.
marked it as to-read
Jan 06, 2018
Chris Huntley
marked it as to-read
Jan 10, 2018
Tristan
marked it as to-read
Jan 23, 2018
Adam Hakeemi
marked it as to-read
Apr 25, 2018
Richard Fair
is currently reading it
May 08, 2018
Lenore
marked it as to-read
May 31, 2018
Deena Wilde
marked it as to-read
Aug 20, 2018
Angela
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Yudp
added it
Dec 28, 2018
Miel
marked it as to-read
Jan 27, 2019
Andrea Stoeckel
marked it as to-read
Feb 16, 2019
Rob Henderson
marked it as to-read
Feb 23, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
119 followers
Even before she pulled on her first set of combats, Alison Morton was fascinated by the idea of women soldiers. After six years in a special communications regiment, she left as a captain, having done all sorts of interesting and exciting things she can't talk about, even now…

The mosaics at Ampurias (Spain) and their creation by the complex, power and value-driven Roman civilisation made her wonde
...more

Other books in the series

Roma Nova (7 books)
  • Inceptio (Roma Nova #1)
  • Perfiditas (Roma Nova #2)
  • Successio (Roma Nova #3)
  • Aurelia (Roma Nova #4)
  • Insurrectio (Roma Nova #5)
  • Retalio (Roma Nova #6)
  • Roma Nova Extra (Roma Nova #7)