Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Between the Bliss and Me” as Want to Read:
Between the Bliss and Me
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Between the Bliss and Me

by
3.80  ·  Rating details ·  25 ratings  ·  18 reviews
Acclaimed author Lizzy Mason delivers a moving contemporary YA novel about mental illness, young romance, and the impact of family history on one teen’s future, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, Robin Benway, and Kathleen Glasgow.

When eighteen-year-old Sydney Holman announces that she has decided to attend NYU, her overprotective mom is devastated. Her decision means she w
...more
Hardcover, 336 pages
Expected publication: April 6th 2021 by Soho Teen
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Between the Bliss and Me, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Between the Bliss and Me

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.80  · 
Rating details
 ·  25 ratings  ·  18 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Between the Bliss and Me
Nilufer Ozmekik
Nov 08, 2020 rated it really liked it
This is bittersweet. You smile. You cry. You sigh. You sniff. You wipe your tears more. Then eventually you nod and accept. I feel my heart hurts but it is still filled with so much hope after I finished my reading.

Such a bittersweet, thought provoking, moving story about mental illness, coping mechanism of young adults and their dysfunctional family relationships, finding their way to adulthood by doing more mistakes.

Sydney Holman thinks she can convince her overprotective mom to accept her
...more
Liza Wiemer
Mar 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Phenomenal read!

My official blurb:

Filled with compassion and hope, BETWEEN THE BLISS AND ME opens a window into the world of mental illness in an intimate, eye-opening, and thought-provoking way. Impossible to put down, readers will finish the last page knowing that love, acceptance and self-care are the keys to living one’s best life.
Marochka
Oct 17, 2020 rated it really liked it
7/10
Novel Novice
Apr 13, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Between the Bliss & Me will hit you right in the feels. Set during that unique time between high school and college, the book packs an emotional punch while exploring themes about family, first love, and mental health. It’s smart, realistic fiction with heart and humor.
Amy
Apr 04, 2020 rated it really liked it
Many thanks to EdelweissPlus and the publisher for providing me with a DRC of this title for review. All opinions are my own.

I was excited to read this. Any book that has a blurb comparing it to Jandy Nelson's work had better have a strong presence, because Nelson's works are extraordinary. This was definitely in the same realm as I'll Give you the Sun and very realistically deals with the nuances of graduating high school and the stigma of mental illness. There were a few flaws (the friendship
...more
Alex
Nov 06, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: 10-and-11
Thanks to the publisher for providing an eARC of Between the Bliss and Me in exchange for an honest review.

Between the Bliss and Me follows 18-year old Sydney after accepting a huge check from her grandparents to go to NYU against her mother's wishes. From there, Sydney grows closer to her grandparents and discovers something shocking about her absentee father: he has schizophrenia. Sydney grapples with friendship, love, her future, family, and her fears of having schizophrenia herself while try
...more
Andi (Andi's ABCs)
Another gem by Lizzy. This book isn’t out until 2021, but add to your tbr. Review to come much later!
Sacha
Feb 07, 2021 added it
Thanks to NetGalley and Soho Teen for this arc, which I received in exchange for an honest review. I’ll post that review upon publication.
Inkpot Blogger
Nov 30, 2020 rated it liked it
This book wasn’t my forte, but it was still a good read. I usually go for something with more action and suspense, but obviously this was not of that sort of genre. It was, however, very insightful and interesting to read. I liked its fresh perspective on mental illness as seen through the way it impacts the family and loved ones, rather than the individual themselves. There were quite a few cliches in this novel though, which could have been avoided. Things such as the gay best friend and writi ...more
Melissa
Mar 02, 2021 rated it liked it
Shelves: giveaways
I won a copy of this in a Goodreads Giveaway.

Sydney Holman recently turned 18 in April and just graduated from high school. She’s beginning the summer with plans to hang out with her best friend Elliot and his band, work her summer job before heading to NYU, and getting ready for the big move. Not much happens according to plan when she discovers the real reason her absent father has been missing for the past 15 years.

This was an interesting, if not in your face, take about mental illness and
...more
Laura ( Latteandbooks )
Mar 04, 2021 rated it really liked it
Shelves: arc, netgalley
With this being the first book that I have read by this author it was bittersweet. I think that the author did a great job of dealing with mental illness.

Sydney tries to convince her mom that she wants to go to collage at NYU and is upset that she is getting the financial aid from her in laws. Her father left when she was a kid oddly enough when her depression gets bad, she talks to her dad as if he’s an imaginary friend. While she’s in NY she gets a bit of a shock that changed the story and kep
...more
Kerry
Feb 21, 2021 added it
Shelves: giveaways
I won Between the Bliss and Me in a Goodreads Giveaway. I'm well beyond the age of YA books being on my favorites list, but I often enjoy them, and like this one they are usually a quick read. Can you imagine you're 18 and your mother wants you to attend college close to home? Sydney's grandparents have set up a college trust and offer $30,000 for incidental expenses while she attends NYU. Then they tell her her long absent father is homeless in New York and he suffers from schizophrenia. Sydney ...more
Courtney
This book started in one place and ended in a very different place and I am still not sure how I feel about it. I liked the struggle the main character had with schizophrenia and her possible diagnosis, I even liked her romance with the band member. I felt the lawyers speech about her dad's situation to be very forced (even though I liked the lawyer) and I felt the main character's attitude toward money and her reactions to certain situations to be very hypocritical. ...more
kglibrarian  (Karin Greenberg)
A moving story about a teenage girl dealing with her recent discovery that her absent father suffers from schizophrenia. An important book highlighting mental illness.
**Full review to come in a future issue of School Library Journal.
Jamie
I really liked this compassionate take on the mental illness of a father. And its role in creating homelessness. The romantic subplot keeps it from being too heavy but doesn't feel out of place. ...more
Ksenia
Jan 04, 2021 added it
This was f***in' beautiful and emotional. I loved it. ...more
Susana
Dec 14, 2020 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2021-releases, arcs
Thank you to the publisher for providing me with an eArc via Eldelweiss+ in exchange for an honest review.

The colours in this cover just- wow...
Shanise John
rated it did not like it
Jan 17, 2021
Sara Grochowski
rated it really liked it
Jan 30, 2021
Emily
rated it really liked it
Nov 23, 2020
Anna Woodward
rated it it was amazing
Feb 20, 2021
Carrie
rated it really liked it
Dec 22, 2020
Elizabeth Gold
rated it it was amazing
Feb 04, 2021
Jenna Friebel
rated it liked it
Jan 02, 2021
Anna Mason
rated it it was amazing
Feb 20, 2021
L
rated it it was amazing
Feb 04, 2021
Kenneth Mason
rated it it was amazing
Feb 20, 2021
Patrice
rated it really liked it
Dec 17, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Searching for Christmas: What If There's More to the Story Than You Thought?
  • Happy Paws (Layla and the Bots #1)
  • Where It All Lands
  • Make Up Break Up
  • Pug Blasts Off (Diary of a Pug #1)
  • Where the Road Leads Us
  • Beach Read
  • Fire! Fire!: Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #3): A Branches Book
  • The Canyon's Edge
  • None Shall Sleep
  • The Chaos of Standing Still
  • Displacement
  • Highly Illogical Behavior
  • My Life in the Fish Tank
  • Golden Arm
  • Chosen Ones (The Chosen Ones, #1)
  • The Blackbird Girls
  • The Marriage Game
See similar books…
171 followers
Lizzy Mason grew up in northern Virginia before moving to New York City for college and a career in publishing. She now lives in Salem, MA with her husband and two cats in an apartment full of books. When not writing, she loves to travel and has visited 44 states and 11 countries, so far. She is the author of The Art of Losing and Between the Bliss and Me. Visit her online at www.LizzyMasonBooks.c ...more

Related Articles

Welcome to the world of irresistible young adult fiction! Every month our team takes a look at the books being published and how they're...
69 likes · 102 comments