Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Flipping The Script (Flicker # 2)” as Want to Read:
Flipping The Script (Flicker # 2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Flipping The Script (Flicker # 2)

4.32  ·  Rating details ·  28 ratings  ·  20 reviews
Miri dela Merced’s film director grandfather and Pabs Paglinauan’s studio head grandmother had a huge falling out that ended Lolo Ikong’s career. At seventeen, Miri finds herself in the same summer film internship program as the down-to-earth film studio heir Pabs, whom she’s decided to automatically write off, just because of his lineage. As Miri gets a crash course in he ...more
Kindle Edition, 182 pages
Published February 15th 2019
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Flipping The Script, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Flipping The Script

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-46
4.32  · 
Rating details
 ·  28 ratings  ·  20 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Geri Reads
Mar 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
Cute and sweet YA set in the Philippines. :)

FRTC...

ARC provided by the author
Kaitlyn
Full review can be found on my blog here.

Flipping the Script is an insanely kilig (literal translation would be akin to the feeling of having butterflies in your stomach!) novel. It’s cheesy in the best and purest way possible, and it’s so easy to fall in love with Miri and Pabs’ love story. It’s a quick love at first sight, friends to lovers romance that serves as a quick and light-hearted read. My favorite part would probably have to be how Pabs, despite his rich and privileged background, wa
...more
Inah (The Bibliophile Confessions)
Hate to love isn’t my favorite trope but it’s slowly growing on me, possibly because I love witty banters and tension. Add the fact that this book revolves around the film industry, then we’ve got a winner!

Flipping The Script was a ideally a quick read, but since I was nursing a book hangover, it took me around 2 weeks. It was worth it though, and I’m slowly coming to terms with my present reading pace. Anyhoo, I’m here to share about the things I loved about this book.

The meet cute was absolute
...more
Divine
Feb 09, 2019 is currently reading it
YES. I'll be reading a YA Contemporary Romance for film enthusiasts and ACTUAL FILIPINOS???? I'm so proud with myself for supporting more local books! (which I don't usually do SHAME ON MY COW)
I received an ARC for this book from the publisher and will be reading it for more fluff this Feb!
kb
Was fortunate to have read an ARC, and I was into it from start to end, every chapter and every page. This is the first, I believe, of its kind—a Filipino YA romance set in the film industry—and it's awesome how it nails pop culture references, and the culture of entertainment production as a whole. (I didn't work in film, but I did work in a TV network, and a lot of things were so reminiscent and undeniably ~on point.) And the romance? I have no complaints. The meet cute was right up my alley, ...more
Kristy Mauna
Miri wants nothing more than to follow in her Lolo’s footsteps and become a director herself. Her hopes and dreams capture you in the very first chapter. You’ll want to read until she truly reaches all of her goals! Miri is such a fun character. I admired her for being such a go-getter.

“As far as family grudges go, there’s nothing like a romance between members of the rivaling families to bring peace to the valley.”

Flipping the Script has one of the BEST “meet-cute” moments I have yet to read.
...more
Kristin
Feb 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
I received an e-ARC from the author for an honest review.
I absolutely have to tell you that this book was so cute. Miri and Pabs had such an easy chemistry and I loved following their film internship journey together.

Growing up in the Philippines, I was exposed to Filipino films from a young age so the references to local pop culture had me feeling so much nostalgia. They just don't make films like that anymore. It also gave an insight into the behind the scenes or the less than glamorous side
...more
Rachelle Belaro
Feb 24, 2019 rated it really liked it
Let me just go and say that this book is a gem. The chemistry of the characters (especially Miri and Pabs) were on point. The first and second meeting were unexpected and remarkable but the history of their family that go way back was really something. From their grandparents to their parents and uncles, it was as if the whole universe conspired to make them meet and get over the family feud that lasted for years.

Full review on my blog.
Yeyet Soriano
Feb 25, 2019 rated it really liked it
Classic Filipino movies from the 80s and 90s. An internship program. A group of strangers who become life-long friends. An MC and an LI from two families with an age-old feud. All the elements of an interesting and engaging story, definitely. But in the hands of Danice Mae P. Sison, the story became very magical. She made the characters come alive on the printed page, and you find yourself rooting for each of them.

Read my full review on my blog: http://yeyetsoriano.com/post/book-rev...
Stephanie
Feb 23, 2019 rated it really liked it
4.5 stars.

Omg the cuteness! I loved the filmmaking setting, the chemistry between Miri and Pabs, and the friendship amongst all of the film interns.

To read my full review, check out my post on my blog.

Weekend Reader_
Feb 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: young-adult
A novella that takes place in Manila and makes Breakfast Club references is a winner. This novel is a quick love at first sight, family enemies, high school lovers- love story with a side dose of rag tag friendship and figuring out your life’s passion. I’m not kidding you. I loved how Sison integrated Filipino and American slang throughout the book. This fusion of both cultures speaks volumes to representation matters and shows the fluidity of language. And I’m here for it!

I loved that Pabs was
...more
Leah
This story was a fun, hate to love story between two teens learning to put an end to a decades old family feud.

Read the review on my blog!
❤ Anj | ★☆ Hiding Behind Books Blog ☆★
I LOVED IT! I LOVED IT! I LOVED IT! REVIEW COMING SOON ❤

--

Update 2/26/19

IS THIS A BOOK ABOUT ACTUAL FILIPINOS????
WRITTEN BY A FILIPINO AUTHOR????
YASSSS, IT IS!!!! ❤ ❤


As I delve further into the beautiful masterpiece that is #romanceclass, I realize that I’ve been missing SUCH GLORIOUS GEMS written by local authors! SHAME ON MY COW!!

So what did I enjoy about Flipping the Script? Honestly, WHAT DIDN’T I ENJOY OMG I WAS SUCH A SAPPY, KILIG MESS WHILE READING THIS!!!! If I haven’t confirmed befo
...more
Katt Briones
Mar 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Florence Joyce
Feb 26, 2019 rated it really liked it
I have no idea how the film industry works at all so reading this book somehow gives me a glimpse of that world. I did dream about working there once before. But I think it's a far-fetched dream for me, after all.

I imagined both Pabs and Miri as fourth year high schoolers instead of being in their last year in senior high when I read this. Another thing I was unfamiliar with since I haven't experienced being in junior and senior high, considering the fact that there was no such thing when I was
...more
Romana Em

ARC supplied by the publisher in exchange for an honest review


How absolutely adorable! I adored this read so much it caused me to read more Young Adult after a very long time which is incredible. Sison manages to perfectly capture that feeling of being young, as if your entire future is spread out in front of you and you can make it into whatever you want. At the centre of the story is Miri, the granddaughter of a somewhat known Pinoy director and the daughter of a semi-famous but now retired

...more
Bon
Feb 27, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ebook
Santelmo Pictures is the fictional film studio where seventeen-year-old Miri dela Merced spends her summer as an intern, along with four other senior high students I’ll be dubbing collectively as The Army. Miri’s love for movies has partly to do with her late lolo, a former movie director. However, before her lolo even reached the height of his career, he had a falling-out in the 90s with the matriarch of Santelmo over pito-pito films. Now, we see this family feud element in other books and film ...more
Erika (The Nocturnal Fey)
Flipping The Script is a light and kilig read that is perfect for fans of Kate Evangelista and Kasie West. This is something that I'll definitely pick up during my summer vacation, a long boring commute, or a road trip. I'm definitely off to a good start on my #romanceclass adventure.

You can read my full review at The Nocturnal Fey

-----

Disclaimer: I received an eARC from #romanceclass in exchange for an honest review in participation for a blog tour. This doesn’t affect my opinion of the book in
...more
Angel C. Aquino
Mar 11, 2019 rated it really liked it
Such a sweet romance between two aspiring filmmakers! I love all the references to Pinoy movies and the immersive behind-the-scenes look at the local film industry. The author clearly knows her stuff! More than the romance and kilig moments, this story is also about loving one’s family, developing strong friendships, learning to forgive, working hard for one’s passions, having the courage not to quit, and having fun on the journey!
Alexia Cambaling
rated it really liked it
Feb 23, 2019
Stella
rated it it was amazing
Feb 21, 2019
Kristine
rated it it was amazing
Feb 15, 2019
Tara
rated it it was amazing
Mar 04, 2019
Kate
rated it it was amazing
Mar 04, 2019
Gavin
rated it it was amazing
Feb 03, 2019
caesuras
rated it really liked it
Feb 17, 2019
Jayvel De Guzman
rated it really liked it
Feb 28, 2019
M
rated it really liked it
Feb 28, 2019
Jillanie
rated it it was amazing
Feb 19, 2019
Maria
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2019
Angeli Dumatol
marked it as to-read
Feb 04, 2019
Amanda
marked it as to-read
Feb 05, 2019
Katrina
marked it as to-read
Feb 05, 2019
Ella Oktaverina
is currently reading it
Feb 05, 2019
Rose
marked it as to-read
Feb 07, 2019
Carla Guzman
marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2019
JM Cabral
is currently reading it
Feb 11, 2019
NAT
marked it as to-read
Feb 13, 2019
Anjeli
added it
Feb 21, 2019
Jess
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2019
Amy
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2019
Sam
marked it as to-read
Feb 28, 2019
Eli
marked it as to-read
Mar 02, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »