Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Frozen Beauty” as Want to Read:
Frozen Beauty
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Frozen Beauty

by
really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  25 ratings  ·  15 reviews
Everyone in Devil’s Lake knows the three golden Malloy sisters—but one of them is keeping a secret that will turn their little world inside out….

No one knows exactly what happened to Kit in the woods that night—all they have are a constellation of facts: icy blue lips and fingers cold to the touch, a lacy bra, an abandoned pick-up truck with keys still in the ignition.
...more
Hardcover, 368 pages
Expected publication: March 17th 2020 by HarperTeen
More Details... Edit Details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Frozen Beauty by Lexa Hillyer
    Frozen Beauty
    by
    Release date: Mar 17, 2020
    Everyone in Devil’s Lake knows the three golden Malloy sisters—but one of them is keeping a secret that will turn their little world inside out...

    ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 2122 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Feb 03 - Mar 02, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about Frozen Beauty, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about Frozen Beauty

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-59
    really liked it Average rating 4.00  · 
    Rating details
     ·  25 ratings  ·  15 reviews


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Start your review of Frozen Beauty
    Brenna Clark
    Aug 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    Thank you so much to Edelweiss for this advanced copy of a thrilling murder mystery! I was hooked from the synopsis itself, having been the daughter to a single mom with two sisters herself, so the mostly female cast of characters felt so familiar to me; like home. I love a story with good twists and turns, and although I don’t see myself as a very good sleuth in the slightest, I still don’t think anyone with more honed observation skills would have predicted the end of this one!

    We enter the
    ...more
    Jerico
    Extending my deepest gratitude to Edelweiss and HarperTeen for providing this ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    I'm starting this today and it looks like this book and I are going to be probably in for the most stirring ride I may have yet to experience.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------

    4.5 frozen stars! FRTC.

    I am still in need of gathering cohesive thoughts on this one. Yes, you saw that right. I am indeed reeling from intense shock, sheer repugnance and
    ...more
    karli
    Dec 28, 2019 rated it really liked it
    4/5 stars!

    Thank you Edelweiss and HarperTeen for providing this ARC in exchange for an honest review

    Frozen Beauty is a gripping story about sisters, high school, first loves, and commentary on the fear women feel everyday. I thoroughly enjoyed the entire book, I even read it in a day. The dueling timelines really added to the mystery. I think some of the diary writing was cringey, but I understood what the author was trying to do with the characterization. I would definitely recommend this book.
    Nia •ShadesOfPaper•
    Thank you HarperCollins and HarperTeen for the ARC.
    Fanna
    Feb 19, 2020 marked it as definitive-tbr  ·  review of another edition
    Shelves: 2020-releases
    - sisters bond over a lush prose
    - romance with boy next door + bad boy
    - tragedy meets mystery
    - narration over a split timeline

    February 19: 2020 So happy to be a part of the blog tour for this! Thank you, FFBC Tours & Harper Teen!
    Kat
    Aug 10, 2019 rated it really liked it
    Thank you to Edelweiss and HarperCollins for the E-arc copy of Frozen Beauty.
    #MustRead2019
    #FrozenBeauty
    Melissa Anderson
    Jan 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    Thank you Harper Teen for this adanced copy of Frozen Beauty. I loved it. I adored Lexa Hillyer's Spindle Fire duology and was very excited when I first learned of this novel. The sample first chapter had me hooked.
    This murder mystery novel is told through different perspectives and different time lines, but it doesn't become confusing. Each perspective has a different tone that becomes easily recognizable as that character.
    This book kept me guessing and somehow all of my back and forth between
    ...more
    Lucsbooks
    Dec 31, 2019 rated it really liked it
    I often mention how authors fail to portray believable teenage emotions and thoughts but that certainly did not happen in “Frozen Beauty”, much the opposite.

    I absolutely loved how each one of the Malloy sisters and their personalities and relationships with each other was portrayed and how even the way the chapters were told changed according to who’s pov it was: Kit with her poetry, Lilly with her journalling and Tessa with her more analytical mind.

    My favorite thing about this book was how
    ...more
    Trang
    Feb 13, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
    Shelves: giveaways, mystery, arc, teen
    This is an honest, unedited review by Trang Hoang in exchange for an ARC of Frozen Beauty.
    Thank you, Harper Collins!

    I have VERY mixed emotions on this book. There were moments where my brain would
    be like "IT'S SO BEAUTIFUL!"

    And then moments where I was like
    --just bored.

    So, in the character of all interesting reviews, I’m providing a listed one.

    Here are the GOODS
    1. Writing Style/Prose- 4/5 Hillyer said that she was a poet before a novelist and that’s
    apparent in the text. In the unique glimpses in
    ...more
    Rianne
    Sep 22, 2019 rated it liked it
    Frozen Beauty is a great choice for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, Alice Sebold, and Natasha Friend. It will be available on MARCH 17 from Epic Reads.
    Thank you for gifting me a copy.
    — This YA novel is compiled of flashbacks, multiple character perspectives, diary entries, and poetry to create a mystery surrounding three very different sisters.
    I quite enjoyed the concept—it is a quick read full of mystery, jealousy, secrets, loss, and love.
    It reminded me of both The Lovely Bones and Looking for
    ...more
    rachel ☾


    Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    BlogGoodreadsTwitterInstagramThe Book Depository
    ...more
    Lauren ✨ (YABookers)
    Disclaimer: I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you kindly to HarperTeen for my review copy.

    Frozen Beauty was an intense murder mystery that had you guessing till the very last page. I adored the focus on the sibling dynamic (I have two sisters myself, one of whom is my twin), and this explored grief so very well. RTC.
    Tatyanna
    Jan 14, 2020 marked it as i-want-now
    Shelves: looks-lit
    I don’t even care what this is about. This is one of the most beautiful book covers I’ve ever seen.
    Manon
    Feb 20, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
    I really enjoyed this!
    James Harmon
    rated it it was amazing
    Jan 26, 2020
    Jessica
    rated it it was ok
    Dec 09, 2019
    Rebecca Serle
    rated it it was amazing
    Oct 09, 2019
    Melissa Cheresnick
    rated it it was amazing
    Feb 14, 2020
    Marochka
    rated it it was ok
    Aug 31, 2019
    Bethany Everett
    rated it liked it
    Jan 14, 2020
    Lexa Hillyer
    Jun 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
    China
    rated it it was amazing
    Jul 27, 2019
    Sandi Jones
    rated it really liked it
    Dec 19, 2019
    Shama
    rated it it was amazing
    Jul 04, 2019
    Lindsay
    rated it it was ok
    Dec 10, 2019
    Chloe Grady
    rated it really liked it
    Feb 17, 2020
    Dave Sloan
    rated it it was amazing
    Feb 02, 2020
    Sarah
    rated it really liked it
    Dec 31, 2019
    Daiane
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 03, 2019
    Faida orrie
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 04, 2019
    Rae
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 10, 2019
    Joy
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 11, 2019
    Bella Mauro
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 13, 2019
    Melissa
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 18, 2019
    Mel (Daily Prophecy)
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 19, 2019
    Caro
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 19, 2019
    Juli
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 19, 2019
    Daniel Tfm
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 19, 2019
    Alexandra
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 23, 2019
    Stephanie Noel
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 05, 2019
    Nicole Mortenson
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 18, 2019
    Aubrey  Salonen
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 23, 2019
    Connie
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 31, 2019
    R. K. Bishop
    marked it as to-read
    Apr 17, 2019
    Milian Glafira
    marked it as to-read
    May 02, 2019
    SoKawaiiBebe
    marked it as to-read
    May 09, 2019
    m a d d s
    marked it as to-read
    May 13, 2019
    *mk*
    marked it as to-read
    May 14, 2019
    Ricarda
    marked it as to-read
    May 17, 2019
    Adele
    marked it as to-read
    May 18, 2019
    Lauren
    marked it as to-read
    May 21, 2019
    Amanda
    marked it as to-read
    May 26, 2019
    Ocean Weeks
    marked it as to-read
    May 29, 2019
    Nicole Dumas
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 02, 2019
    Katie
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 04, 2019
    Jenn
    marked it as to-read
    Jun 04, 2019
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

    Readers also enjoyed

    • In Five Years
    • The Deep
    • Lock Every Door
    • Incendiary (Hollow Crown, #1)
    • Shine
    • Hush (Hush, #1)
    • Crier's War (Crier's War, #1)
    • The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
    • Be Not Far From Me
    • Paper Girls, Vol. 1
    • If These Wings Could Fly
    • The Girl the Sea Gave Back (Sky in the Deep, #2)
    • Wayward Son (Simon Snow, #2)
    • A Good Girl's Guide to Murder (A Good Girl's Guide to Murder, #1)
    • The Jinni Key: A Little Mermaid Retelling (The Stolen Kingdom Series Book 2)
    • Daughter of Chaos (The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
    • Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (Tristan Strong #1)
    • Race to the Sun
    See similar books…
    510 followers
    Hello! I'm the author of the YA fantasy duology Spindle Fire & Winter Glass, YA speculative contemporary Proof of Forever, and the upcoming YA contemporary Frozen Beauty. I also wrote the poetry collection Acquainted with the Cold, which won the 2012 Foreword Book of the Year Award. I'm one of the founders, and President of Publishing, at creative development company Glasstown Entertainment. I ...more
    No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »