Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Past Life: the most gripping crime debut of 2019” as Want to Read:
Past Life: the most gripping crime debut of 2019
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Past Life: the most gripping crime debut of 2019

4.30  ·  Rating details ·  10 ratings  ·  6 reviews


THE ONLY THING DETECTIVE ABIGAIL BOONE REMEMBERS...IS THE WORST THING THAT EVER HAPPENED TO HER.

'A great story told with real poise' Simon Kernick, Sunday Times bestseller

From a blistering new voice in crime fiction, PAST LIFE is a gripping and razor-sharp debut perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Tim Weaver and Susie Steiner.

'It's gripping, addictive, a thrill of a ride. This

...more
Kindle Edition, 432 pages
Expected publication: March 7th 2019 by Headline
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Past Life, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Past Life

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-38
4.30  · 
Rating details
 ·  10 ratings  ·  6 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Liz Barnsley
Nov 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I’ve read a few “memory issues” books this year, here is one for 2019 that is positively brilliant- mainly because the characters all shine, mostly the highly engaging Boone, who was once one person but is now quite another. Question is, can she re-capture her old self and more to the point, does she want to?
Past Life is a pacy, highly addictive read with some of the best characterisation and group dynamics I’ve read for ages. We focus on Abigail Boone, who after trauma has lost the memory of an
...more
Jo Spain
Nov 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Expertly written, totally gripping, fresh and sharp. Wonderful.
Chris Nolan
Feb 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is the debut novel from Dominic Nolan and it is an excellent start to what will hopefully be a prolific career. Amnesia is not an uncommon trope in crime fiction but Nolan uses it in a refreshing and interesting way. Boone was a cop who was violently attacked and remembers nothing from before the assault, including her son. Now not fit to work as a detective, she pursues a case that she was formerly involved in, and the story is gripping from start to finish.
Martha Brindley
Feb 07, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Past Life was a gritty thriller which gripped me from the start. Wonderful characters, a sharp plot and a touch of dark humour at times which won me over from the start. I thoroughly recommend this read and I do hope there will be a follow up soon. My thanks to Net Galley for my ARC.
Lindsey Roberts
rated it liked it
Jan 25, 2019
Sharon
Feb 11, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is a fast paced thriller of a ride, about a police detective who, having been subjected to horrific injuries, loses her memory. She knows she was involved in missing persons cases and there is one woman she is still keen to track down.
The story takes us through her private life and the difficulties she faces re-entering a marriage with a son, having no memory of either as well as her complex relationships with other interesting characters from her past.

It starts off really well, but, for me
...more
Jo
rated it really liked it
Oct 21, 2018
Georgia Holmes
rated it it was amazing
Dec 22, 2018
Nigel
That's a damn good read. A bit more than that soon! 4.5/5 but rounded happily enough
Marina
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2018
Abby Slater- Fairbrother
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2018
Linda
marked it as to-read
Oct 31, 2018
Corey Murphy
marked it as to-read
Nov 04, 2018
Lori
marked it as to-read
Nov 04, 2018
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Nov 04, 2018
Casey Coghill
marked it as to-read
Nov 04, 2018
Katie
marked it as to-read
Nov 04, 2018
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
Nov 05, 2018
Pamela
marked it as to-read
Nov 05, 2018
Kate
marked it as to-read
Nov 05, 2018
Mich
marked it as to-read
Nov 05, 2018
Clare
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2018
Maddie
marked it as to-read
Dec 17, 2018
Margot
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2019
Mary
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2019
Kristen
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2019
Julie
marked it as to-read
Jan 02, 2019
Michelle
marked it as to-read
Jan 02, 2019
Beau
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Livia
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2019
Mandy
marked it as to-read
Jan 06, 2019
Bookread2day
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2019
fergi
marked it as to-read
Jan 13, 2019
Jennifer Saliba
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2019
Kate Avery
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Karen Brown
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »