Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Bones of Ruin (The Bones of Ruin, #1)” as Want to Read:
The Bones of Ruin (The Bones of Ruin, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Bones of Ruin

(The Bones of Ruin #1)

by
4.50  ·  Rating details ·  10 ratings  ·  14 reviews
As an African tightrope dancer in Victorian London, Iris is used to being strange. She is certainly a strange sight for leering British audiences always eager for the spectacle of colonial curiosity. But Iris also has a secret that even “strange” doesn’t capture…​

She cannot die.

Haunted by her unnatural power and with no memories of her past, Iris is obsessed with discover
...more
Hardcover
Expected publication: September 7th 2021 by Simon Pulse
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Bones of Ruin, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Olivia She physically appears to be in her late teens/early twenties. Actual age? That's part of the "no memory" plotline, so I won't spoil ^_^…moreShe physically appears to be in her late teens/early twenties. Actual age? That's part of the "no memory" plotline, so I won't spoil ^_^(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-49
Average rating 4.50  · 
Rating details
 ·  10 ratings  ·  14 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Bones of Ruin (The Bones of Ruin, #1)
Chloe Gong
May 03, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Bloodily spectacular. The Bones of Ruin builds page after page of visceral intrigue, steamrolling toward the end of the world in Victorian London. These characters could tear you apart, but you will love them all the same. Sarah Raughley’s world breathes true to the past and yet gleams brilliantly new.
Sarah Raughley
Mar 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
You know how The Effigies Series was Sailor Moon meets Pacific Rim?

Well, I like to think of this book as The Greatest Showman meets Clamp's X1999.





Cuz I'm a geek and all.

If that sounds good to you, you know what to do!

The Bones of Ruin Coming 2021!
...more
☀︎El In Oz☀︎
The cover🤩
And for fans of The Last Magician and The Gilded Wolves, two of my all time favourite series??
And a competition to see who gets to be ruler of the apocalypse?? YES PLEASE
rachel ☾
An African tightrope walker who can’t die gets embroiled in a secret society’s deadly gladiatorial tournament in this thrilling historical fantasy set in an alternate 1880s London, perfect for fans of The Last Magician and The Gilded Wolves.


BlogTrigger Warning DatabaseTwitterInstagram
...more
Tina
Apr 17, 2021 marked it as to-read
That cover is giving me life! And the MC is an African tight rope walker in an AU Victorian London!
Mjspice
Apr 06, 2021 marked it as to-read
The cover omg

...more
Samm | Sassenach the Book Wizard
Thissssssssssss sounds amazing
Olivia
Apr 12, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Without spoiling too much..... I am going to have to pull an all-nighter tonight to finish a final exam because I spent all of last night finishing this book instead of working on said exam.

The moral conundrums posed by this book will stay with me for weeks. There are some dark, ugly things in our history, and terrible evils that humanity has imposed on itself (slavery, human zoos, war and genocide, etc). In the face of an apocalypse, do we deserve a second chance? I don't know. I don't know. Ma
...more
Bailey
May 15, 2021 rated it it was ok
I can see the good in this book but at this moment in time, it wasn't for me. I will definitely give this book a reread when I have more time to process what's going on in the book since there is a lot going on.

There are multiple stories happening throughout the story which makes it hard to follow (they do come together in the end). Also, there are many characters introduced, other than the core main characters, most characters were not memorable. When they came back to later chapters, I was ask
...more
Catrina
Feb 09, 2021 marked it as to-read
Shelves: not-released-yet
September 7, 2021
celeste
Feb 14, 2021 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
(free yourself by fantasia plays) OOOOOOOOH YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH
Optimisticbooknerd
Mar 23, 2021 marked it as to-read
What's your skin care routine? mine is looking at beautiful covers like this one. I wanna read it so bad 😭😍 ...more
♠ Tabi⁷ ♠
Oct 25, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: edelweiss
this sounds like a dark fantasy version of The Greatest Showman so, yeah, I'm in ...more
OTIS
rated it it was amazing
May 14, 2021
China
rated it it was amazing
Feb 03, 2020
Eunice
rated it really liked it
Mar 21, 2021
Anna
rated it it was amazing
Mar 27, 2021
Arden Prins
rated it it was amazing
Mar 16, 2021
Gary
rated it really liked it
May 14, 2021
Daiane
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Deborah Falaye
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Taylor (Frayed Books)
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Ivy
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Amanda D.
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Beth G.
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Adriyanna Zimmermann
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Sabrina
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Rebecca Blum
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Nick
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Ms. Woc Reader
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Sam Miller
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Kathy (Kindle-aholic)
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Kellie Williams
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Elza B
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Felicia
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Kaleb
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Fallon
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Aubrie
added it
Jan 24, 2019
Ashley
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Caroline
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2019
☾
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2019
Amber
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2019
Nicole
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2019
Cira
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2019
Sarah
added it
Jan 25, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • For All Time
  • Long Distance
  • Aristotle and Dante Dive into the Waters of the World (Aristotle and Dante, #2)
  • The Witch Haven
  • Blood Like Magic (Blood Like Magic, #1)
  • The Wild Ones
  • We Can't Keep Meeting Like This
  • How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe
  • Beasts of Prey
  • Firekeeper's Daughter
  • Bad Witch Burning
  • Better Than the Movies
  • Within These Wicked Walls
  • Roxy
  • The Conductors
  • Reaper of Souls (Kingdom of Souls, #2)
  • So Many Beginnings: A Little Women Remix
  • A Clash of Steel: A Treasure Island Remix
See similar books…
325 followers
Sarah Raughley grew up in Southern Ontario writing stories about freakish little girls with powers because she secretly wanted to be one. She is a huge fangirl of anything from manga to SF/F TV to Japanese Role Playing Games, but she will swear up and down that she was inspired by ~Jane Austin~ at book signings. On top of being a YA Writer, she is currently completing a PhD in English, because the ...more

Other books in the series

The Bones of Ruin (3 books)
  • Untitled (The Bones of Ruin #2)
  • Untitled (The Bones of Ruin #3)

Related Articles

Looking for some out-of-this-world reading this summer? Then we suggest taking a peek at these highly anticipated young adult books, all...
121 likes · 18 comments