Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Yes No Maybe So” as Want to Read:
Yes No Maybe So
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Yes No Maybe So

by
4.16  ·  Rating details ·  276 ratings  ·  177 reviews
New York Times bestselling authors Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed have crafted a resonant, funny, and memorable story about the power of love and resistance.

YES
Jamie Goldberg is cool with volunteering for his local state senate candidate—as long as he’s behind the scenes. When it comes to speaking to strangers (or, let’s face it, speaking at all to almost anyone),
...more
ebook, 448 pages
Expected publication: February 4th 2020 by Balzer + Bray
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.16  · 
Rating details
 ·  276 ratings  ·  177 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Yes No Maybe So
Chaima ✨ شيماء
Who needs extreme sports when news of new book releases by my favorite authors give me more adrenaline than I will ever need for the rest of my life???
Warda
Oct 31, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
There's part of me that is gagging for this book and another part of me that is questioning how the faith aspect is going to be handled. I'm tired of it being inauthentic, wishy-washy and westernised, just so that it suits the audience. Just so that Muslims are perceived as normal.
Keeping my fingers crossed all the same.
may ➹
Apr 16, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
I live my life by simple rules: I see Becky Albertalli? I read it

update: I LOVE THIS COVER
sarah xoxo
Dec 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arcs, 2020-read
I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it I loved it

review to come!

_______________________________________
I just got accepted for an arc of this and
WHEN I TELL YOU I SCREAMED

thank you so much Netgalley and Simon and Schuster Australia!
beth ✨
Jan 31, 2019 marked it as to-read
Shelves: releases-2020
we have a title and description about this book and i’m even more excited now!!

———

there’s literally no title, description or cover but it’s already one of my favourite books.
Tucker
May 16, 2019 marked it as not-released-tbr  ·  review of another edition
OoOoOoOooOoOoOooOo. What a pretty cover

************

y
ye
yes
yes n
yes no
yes no m
yes no ma
yes no may
yes no mayb
yes no maybe
yes no maybe s
yes no maybe so
yes no maybe s
yes no maybe
yes no mayb
yes no may
yes no ma
yes no m
yes no
yes n
yes
ye
y


this is the most beautiful title i have ever witnessed in my entire existence
Ivy
Feb 02, 2019 marked it as to-read
Shelves: coming-soon-20
This book sounds great, and really cute! Becky is good at collaborating with other authors, so I’m sure she’ll be fantastic, and while I don’t know much about the other author she seems cool. So yeah. This’ll be good.
Cassie
Dec 27, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: edelweiss-arcs
Actual rating: 4.5 stars

This book was very good and I enjoyed it immensely. I thought it was just going to be this cute rom com type of story, and sure, it was. But, it was so much more than that. It honestly took me by surprise with how relevant it was, with religion, politics, even what people will do to go viral on the internet.

I’m a white cis woman, so perhaps take this review with a grain of salt, but I felt like the religion was handled in a respectful way and I appreciated that a lot.
...more
The Nerd Daily
Jan 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Originally published on The Nerd Daily | Review by Mimi Koehler

Listen, I hate the current political climate as much as the next guy, but I can’t deny that I love the stories that are being published because of it. Never have authors been more politically active and never have young adult stories made me want to pick up a sign and protest to save the world more than they have in the last few years. Yes, No, Maybe So is a story that gives you back a voice you might feel like you have lost—or never
...more
Parker Jensen
Jan 19, 2019 marked it as to-read
I don't know anything about this but I want it....now
Emma
Jan 11, 2020 rated it liked it
The ARC of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

3.5/5 Stars

I'm so happy for the recent recurring themes that a lot of young adult books seem to want to explore recently: politcs and elections. I didn't know it was something I needed to read so badly, but apparently I did and I'm glad I got the opportunity to do so.

This book focuses on Maya and Jamie and how the two of them spend the Summer canvassing for their local state senate candidate. I
...more
kayla ☕
Apr 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
take ALL of my money. there is no title, cover, or description but i can already tell you it's going to be my favorite ...more
Dahlia
I just...cannot say enough good things about this book. Come for the romance and wonderful Jewish and Muslim rep, stay to feel completely inspired about politics and an individual's ability to make a difference, whether or not they're of voting age. (And I particularly admire the respect this book pays to teens and the sensitivity to how difficult it is to be pre-voting age and feeling helpless in that regard.) There are so many decisions in this book I just loved, especially the ending, and I ...more
Kate ☀️ Olson
(free review copy) as a very liberal, almost-40 school librarian I adored this book! It is a hard-core political message book (with sweet romance thrown in) and it’s a message I very much appreciated ~ just a heads up that it’s definitely a rally cry for liberal ideals......if those aren’t your personal ideals going into it, please keep an open mind political activism + love and peace and human decency and religious and gender/romantic freedoms for all are perfectly awesome messages to be ...more
Swetlana (The Caffeinated Bookworm Life)
It's Becky Albertalli. Of course, I'm at the very least interested in this book but then I read the synopsis and now with the cover? I'm sold! Is it February 2020 yet?!
Amanda
Loved this! Fun, sweet, clever, positive, hopeful.
Enne (they/them)
update: we have a synopsis and this book sounds really cute and interesting and wow im so excited aaaaaah
~~~
hi good morning afternoon evening night, i would sell my soul for becky albertalli and for her next book. that's all.
Sara➽ Ink Is My Sword
Sep 29, 2019 marked it as to-read
"Navigating the cross-cultural romance of the century is another thing entirely" I AM SOLD.
rachel ☾
Review copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

BlogGoodreadsTwitterInstagram
...more
Linda
Nov 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book explores topics like political acticvism (especially when you're too young to vote) and a cross- cultural friendship, while also having two of the most adorable maincharacters. It's a very important and thoughtful read, but also a really cute and funny one
The blurb says it: Maya, whose parents are separating and Jamie, who has to hold a speech at his little sisters bat mizwah, are kind of "forced" to go political canvassing together.

Both of the characters are so sweet and well
...more
Laura Gardner
Dec 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Thank you to the authors for sharing this SIGNED ARC with me and Kidlitexchange!! I love everything Becky Albertalli has written (I've read them ALL) and I'm a big fan of Amal Unbound by Aisha Saeed so I knew going in that I was going to like this one. Dual perspective books are always a lot of fun to read and this was no exception. I loved the activism angle, as well as watching their friendship bloom into romance. Swoon! This is a must buy for all high school libraries. Maybe it will even ...more
Cody Roecker
Oct 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Politically engaging, YES NO MAYBE SO launches the reader into a campaign that is absolutely essential, much like this book is for everyone. Not only is the romance adorable, the characters are spectacular and refreshing. I adored every moment of this book
Jenna
Jan 21, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
I need this book now!!!
Reason: It's going to be awesome!!!
Evidence: Everything by Becky Albertalli is amazing!!!
Kathy - Books & Munches
I GOT AN ARC OF THIS IN A BOOK BOX AND I AM SO READYYYYY.
hillary
I’m crying, that cover is so pretty, help.
Maria
Nov 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Fans of S.K. Ali, Sandhya Menon, Becky Albertalli, Aisha Saeed
This book!!!

Okay gimme a second to recollect my memory of ever reading a book as cute and adorable as this one. It is like the authors found an ocean of cuteness and poured it all on this book.

Every damn chapter was so freaking cuteeeeee!!!

And it never felt cloyingly cute at all!!

Gosh, my review will be mostly incoherent fangirling but I don't care. This book should and must be fangirled over and I love it so so much!! I can't wait till February 2020 anymore!!

So first of all, I was so moved by
...more
✨Emily | Procrastinating • Bibliophile
4.5/5 stars

*** E-arc kindly sent by Netgalley and Simon & Schuster Australia in exchange for an honest review***

First off this is the first e-arc I have ever gotten and I’m so very thankful to have read this early. And I have to say that I loved this story; the commentaries, the messages, the family dynamics, friendships and the friends-to-lover romance (that DIDN’T take up the entire plot).

Yes No Maybe So is a story of religion, family, relationships and finding your footing in a world
...more
USOM
Jan 14, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
(Disclaimer: I received this book from Edelweiss. This has not impacted my review which is unbiased and honest.)

Yes No Maybe So is a story about activism. How our individual actions can feel small, but how much of an impact they can make. It's a story that celebrates progress, resilience, and hope. Yes No Maybe So was exactly the book I needed. Faced with the world and the demoralizing politics, you can wonder, "What can I really do to hold back this storm?" Well Yes No Maybe So is a relevant
...more
Salma19 (High Lady of the Dawn Court)
I'm already suffering from the long wait...
˗ˏˋliaˎˊ˗
May 02, 2019 marked it as anticipated-2020  ·  review of another edition
ooo the synopsis sounds so interesting, i can't wait for this one to be released!
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei, #1)
  • Of Curses and Kisses (St. Rosetta's Academy, #1)
  • All Your Twisted Secrets
  • Tweet Cute
  • Infinity Son (Infinity Cycle, #1)
  • Only Mostly Devastated
  • Don't Read the Comments
  • How to Be Remy Cameron
  • The Honey-Don't List
  • Jackpot
  • Lucky Caller
  • What Kind of Girl
  • Foul Is Fair
  • Slay
  • Full Disclosure
  • Permanent Record
  • How to Speak Boy
  • The Gravity of Us
See similar books…
13,905 followers
Becky Albertalli is the author of the acclaimed novels Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (film: Love, Simon), The Upside of Unrequited, and Leah on the Offbeat. She is also the co-author of What If It's Us with Adam Silvera. A former clinical psychologist who specialized in working with children and teens, Becky lives with her family in Atlanta. You can visit her online at www.beckyalbertalli.com. ...more