Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Fables Foibles & Follies” as Want to Read:
Fables Foibles & Follies
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Fables Foibles & Follies

by
it was amazing 5.00  ·  Rating details ·  8 ratings  ·  6 reviews
"Fables, Foibles & Follies" is a delightful potpourri of stories collected from the author's immediate family members, distant relatives, friends and close acquaintances. Each of the seven tales within the book detail the fruits borne from forgotten and newly discovered branches of a twisted family tree. Once the bough is bent and shaken, a myriad of unexpected fruit can f ...more
Paperback, 200 pages
Published January 15th 2019 by CreateSpace Independent Platform
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Fables Foibles & Follies, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Fables Foibles & Follies

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-31
it was amazing Average rating 5.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  8 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Fables Foibles & Follies
Sharon Huether
Feb 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: stories, fables
Lester Moore and Ekateria Priede spent a romantic night in a Gotenburg Hotel. A quick departure the next morning kept them and Maxim protected. The family jewels, Maxim is indeed precious.

Annie Fargahl came to the United States to find a new life for her. There was not much in Ireland to keep her there. She got a job as a domestic as an identured servant. She served four years then she was free to go.
All this time she was thinking of her brother Donagh, who had left home 10 years earlier.
Her st
...more
Edward Hackemer
Jan 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Recommends it for: Elston Gunn
While standing alone on a dark, cobbled street somewhere in central Europe, a traveler may wonder who could be casting that intriguing silhouette upon the window up above.



Such tempting tidbits constantly tease the reader’s appetite and tantalize the imagination.
I invite you to go ahead, take that DNA test, open the book and begin turning pages.
{Goodreads invites the author to submit their own review.}
...more
Peyton Hammond
Jun 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
~I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review~

I really wish I could give it more than 5 stars.

What happens when you take a DNA test? This book explores a few stories about family members on the family tree. Each narrative contain elements of fact, fantasy, and fiction.

When I first saw the synopsis, I was curious but hesitant because I always have very mixed feelings on books like this. In general, I don't like them but this book has made me fall in love with t
...more
Kathy Church
Feb 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
These stories were pure joy to read. I tried to decide which is my favorite but they were all unique in their own way.
Kim Bakos
Sep 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing
If you haven't read this author before, let me just say you need to. He writes in a style that no other author I've ever read does. He is unique in the way that he can create the era he is writing about with his word choice and descriptions. This book was the perfect showcase for that since it was written in the voice of different characters from different places and eras. He nails it down to the smallest details, whether it is the cocktail they are drinking, the car they are driving, or the sla ...more
Donna
Fables, Foibles and Follies is collected stories from family members, friends and other relations of Edward Hackemer.

I truly loved reading this collection. I especially enjoyed the one entitled "An Irish Odyssey". This is an account of Aine Faergahl and her emigration to the United States. She was an indentured servant when she arrived. After working the amount of years needed, she was off to find out whatever happened to her brother Donal who had come over many years earlier to work on a ship.
...more
Jenna Demerest
rated it it was amazing
Oct 03, 2020
Xolandaluza
rated it it was amazing
Aug 16, 2020
Teri
marked it as to-read
Jan 17, 2019
Renate Dusquesne
marked it as to-read
Jan 23, 2019
Geralyn
marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2019
Stacy
marked it as to-read
Mar 03, 2019
Karen Mann
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2019
Cathy
is currently reading it
Mar 31, 2019
Hazel
marked it as to-read
Jul 16, 2019
Suzanne
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2019
msleighm
marked it as to-read
Aug 31, 2019
Cheryl
marked it as to-read
Sep 25, 2019
Melissa
marked it as to-read
Sep 25, 2019
Kelly
marked it as to-read
Oct 30, 2019
Beamie
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2020
Leah
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2020
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2020
Ariel Lo
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2020
Ashley Coridan
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2020
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2020
Bianca
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2020
Astrid Galactic
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2020
Bettye Short
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2020
Lydia Wallace
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2020
Brenda Maki
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2020
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Reviewe...: DNA Results 3 8 May 11, 2019 05:12PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • A Palm Beach Scandal
  • The Peer and the Puppet (When Rivals Play, #1)
  • Fallen King (Court of the Sea Fae, #2)
  • The Air He Breathes (Elements, #1)
  • The Hunter (Boston Belles, #1)
  • Long Bright River
  • Westering Women
  • Rules
  • Jesse Sings: Searching for Family (Jesse's World Book 1)
  • A Wedding Transpires on Mackinac Island
  • Wishing for Wonderful
  • The Clock Tower Treasure (Searching for Family 2)
  • Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes
  • Southern Storm (Cape Refuge, #2)
  • Gravity Is the Thing
  • Arrows of Fire
  • God's Hostage: A True Story of Persecution, Imprisonment, and Perseverance
  • Cape Refuge (Cape Refuge, #1)
See similar books…
201 followers
¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤
Edward R Hackemer lived in Western New York for 55 years before retiring from government service and moving to North Georgia; roughly halfway between Atlanta & North Carolina.
His college education was abbreviated by induction into the US Army in 1968. Ed's civilian employment history runs from paperboy, dishwasher, paper mill laborer, laboratory technician, warehous
...more

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
12 likes · 7 comments