Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Glad Shout” as Want to Read:
The Glad Shout
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Glad Shout

4.02  ·  Rating details ·  85 ratings  ·  25 reviews
After a catastrophic storm destroys Melbourne, Isobel flees to higher ground with her husband and young daughter. Food and supplies run low, panic sets in and still no help arrives. To protect her daughter, Isobel must take drastic action.

The Glad Shout is an extraordinary novel of rare depth and texture. Told in a starkly visual and compelling narrative, this is a deeply
...more
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published February 26th 2019 by Affirm Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Glad Shout, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Glad Shout

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.02  · 
Rating details
 ·  85 ratings  ·  25 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Michael Livingston
Mar 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A horrifically plausible book about the climate apocalypse and the ways families try to survive it. Awful but brilliant. I was less captivated by the alternate chapters that told the family backstory than the breathless chapters set amidst the disaster, but the broader themes of motherhood and family cut across both sections strongly.
Francene Carroll
May 12, 2019 rated it liked it
*spoilers*


Only mothers know what it means to truly love.

They also have a monopoly on deep loss and suffering which those who haven’t pushed a baby out of their uterus can never understand.

This is spelled out clearly in this extract about Isobel's brother Josh and his abrupt departure:

“You won’t get this at all Issy. Why would you? You have your who life ahead of you. But my baby is gone.”

At the time Isobel had been offended by the inference that she was limited in scope, too immature and narrow
...more
Lisa Jewell
Mar 13, 2019 rated it liked it
Grim. Visceral. I enjoyed the writing. Climate change is real so it wasn't difficult to get pulled into the story. Unfortunately, I found Isobel, very unlikable, to the point I wanted to punch her. And I don't think you were meant to feel that way about her. I felt sympathy for her mother Luna; I couldn't quite understand why Josh left the way he did. And poor Shauno. My heart just ached for him. I'm a mother of three; when I finished The Glad Shout, I couldn't help but think about readers that ...more
Lisa
Mar 19, 2019 rated it really liked it
Here in Australia, our national broadcaster doesn't see fit to report on Cyclone Idai (https://www.theguardian.com/world/201...) ...

So it is left to fiction to tell the story of the fate of millions as climate change wreaks havoc around the globe. Alice Robinson's new book The Glad Shout tells the story of a storm which destroyed Melbourne, much like Cyclone Idai wrecking cities in Africa. The streets are flooded; houses have been destroyed; some people are rescued from their rooftops and others
...more
Gaby Meares
May 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
The Glad Shout is a slap-in-the-face call to curb our excesses before the earth says “enough” and turns on us; and it’s a story about the extremes that a mother will go to, to protect her child.

Isobel, Shaun and their three year old daughter Matilda are fleeing a virtual tsunami that has swamped Melbourne. Together with thousands of other survivors, they find themselves barely surviving in an overcrowded camp, with food and water fast becoming scarce. In the camp, Isobel sees “that the trapping
...more
Kirsten
May 31, 2019 rated it really liked it
A novel of mothers and daughters set in a near future climate dystopia. This was a slow burn for me, initially I found the alternate chapters that focussed on the back story more compelling but about mid way through the present day narrative grabbed me and then I couldn’t put it down. It’s real and raw and the scenario it presents is completely plausible and very scary.

My only major gripe is that I found the character of Shaun to be unlikeable and kind of superfluous.
Kevin Murray
Mar 31, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a very disturbing read. It's the first time I've been really able to imagine what a climate catastrophe would be like. I like the duality of plot and back story. Reading about past events created a context of normality against which the disaster seemed more shocking. The very maternal concerns that underlay the book seemed quite convincing.
But at times it seems over-written. There were some details and connections that didn't need to be included. And I wanted the characters to reflect
...more
Lucy
Apr 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book. It managed to weave powerful themes in an incredibly beautiful and plausible way. The struggles of families, particularly motherhood are domestic yet at home in this apocalyptic setting. After reading so many dystopian male-centric apocalypse narratives, it was incredibly moving to identify with Isobel. At a time when our climate seems to be on the brink of disaster, the description of Isobel’s childhood is completely believable. A call to action or a spot light on our inabili ...more
Rachel
Mar 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
This was absolutely exhausting and no fun to read. It’s terrifying, it’s visceral, you can almost smell the water as it oozes up through a stadium where people are sheltering

I grew up in Melbourne, Australia, where this climate change horror is set. I recognise nearly every place that she doesn’t name. These are my people. The dialogue is pure Australian vernacular, almost a pastiche when Shaun calls Issy a drongo. Ya flamin’ galah is something that Alf from Home and Away says. No one talks like
...more
Magnolia Cass
May 07, 2019 rated it really liked it
It is certainly a thought-provoking and worrying read in a genre that I wouldn't normally consider. I have never been a fan of sci-fi or the more recent dystopian fiction, but I decided to give this book a go. I found it hard to put down and finished it in a couple of days. I am still thinking about all of the characters now that I have finished the book. I'm wondering if we are, perhaps, meant to feel sorry for Luna because, like other reviewers here, I did feel empathy towards her.
The themes o
...more
J.W. Garton
Apr 20, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
In “The Glad Shout” Alice Robinson skilfully navigates the competing demands of bringing a dystopian ecological disaster into focus while exploring the emotional lives of her characters with fierce intensity. Isobel fetches up in a refugee camp with her partner Shaun and young daughter Matilda when Melbourne is deluged by rising water levels. She struggles to survive the harsh conditions and the emotional strain of being reduced from a comfortable middle class life to appalling living conditions ...more
Janine
Jun 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
I liked her celebration of women’s strength in an emergency. I liked the politics of climate change and refugee policy being brought into the personal realm, and her exploration of the instincts of maternity, survival and communality in the midst of disaster. I think that these will be the things that I take away from the novel, and that will keep it memorable. I just wish that there had been less of the emotional angst over relationships and human frailty.

For my complete review, please visit
ht
...more
Amy Polyreader
This book absolutely wrenched my heart, many tears were shed. It not only encapsulated the precise embodiment of motherhood SO beautifully, but also covers the brutally dire situation we may find ourselves in if we don’t address climate change once and for all. This better win a prize!! My book of the year and perhaps favourite book ever now :)
Sam Van
Jun 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A scary portrayal of climate disaster, and a touching look at motherhood, sacrifice and women's relationships with one another. Terrifyingly plausible. Full of recognisable Melbourne landmarks, and a uniquely Australian collection of characters. Wonderful, in the bleakest way possible.
Cat
Jun 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Terrifying and beautifully written. It’s a dystopian novel that is so entirely believable that I wish it was compulsory reading for all politicians and powerful people right now, as well as a wonderful account of the imperfections in all relationships. I thought this was a stunning read.
Vivian Boyce
May 07, 2019 rated it liked it
Bleak.
Kylie Mcdonald
Jun 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is a difficult read but I was completely hooked. The writing is brilliant
Meg Dunley
Jun 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A brilliant story of motherhood and climate change that was so plausible it left me terrified. Well done Alice
Lisa
May 21, 2019 rated it really liked it
Beautiful and terrifying
cassielaura
May 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
For those who fear the future, climate change and motherhood, this is oddly reassuring. A new favourite.
Jess
May 26, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book, while not perfect, is powerful and thought-provoking, and the images of dystopian Melbourne have stuck with me long after reading its final pages. The author builds momentum and suspense by skillfully revealing key plot points through the unfolding narrative, making for an intriguing read. Having recently read Behrouz Boochani's No Friend But The Mountains, I found the depiction of the stadium as refugee camp and the protagonist's boat journey particularly resonant. In this way, for m ...more
Bree T
Mar 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: arc, australian, aww2019
This was interesting – and timely. Climate change is a real concern at the moment, even if certain people currently in charge of this country (and others?) don’t seem to really think so. Given Australia has such a large coastline and something like 90% of us live along that coast, rising sea levels are an issue that will impact us greatly in the coming years. And then there are violent storms and changing weather patterns, which is something that this book addresses. A catastrophic storm/flood h ...more
Justine Holmes
rated it it was ok
Apr 27, 2019
Modigliana Young
rated it it was amazing
Apr 17, 2019
Sasha
rated it really liked it
May 20, 2019
Steph
rated it it was amazing
May 25, 2019
Jade
rated it really liked it
Mar 21, 2019
Sarah
rated it really liked it
Apr 14, 2019
Mary St.Peters
rated it really liked it
May 04, 2019
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »