Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Cursed Coven” as Want to Read:
Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Cursed Coven
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Cursed Coven

(Buffy the vampire Slayer #2)

3.76  ·  Rating details ·  21 ratings  ·  3 reviews
The second installment in the original and action-packed Buffy the Vampire series that features Buffy Summers as a middle schooler! Told through comics, journal entries, class notes, doodles, text messages, and other in-world artifacts, this series is perfect for fans of Star Wars: Jedi Academy and DC Comics's Secret Hero Society.


It's finally summer vacation, but Buffy
...more
Hardcover, 160 pages
Published September 24th 2019 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Buffy the Vampire Slayer, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Buffy the Vampire Slayer

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-51
Average rating 3.76  · 
Rating details
 ·  21 ratings  ·  3 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Cursed Coven
TJ
Sep 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I enjoyed the first book a lot, but this second one was STELLAR! I was so into it! The inside jokes for fans of the show are just so fun, and the retellings of certain plot lines for a younger audience works so well. The new characters are based off of the same archetypes as the original supporting cast, but they’re more diverse (specifically, the watcher is a girl, the Willow and Xander types are people of color, and there’s definitely hints of at least one of them being LGBTQ+). I was hoping ...more
Kris Ritchie
I still really enjoyed this, and I honesty believe the only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is that it has to avoid some of those themes and style choices the show and BOOM! comic can get away with because of their target audience. SO while to me it may feel like "Buff-lite", it really accomplishes it's goal of providing a kid-accessible version of buffy.

I still dig the humor, and love the subtle and not-so-subtle nods to stories and villains from the show.
Jay
Really enjoyed it since I am absolutely obsessed with Buffy. It was a very juvenile version of the story but I enjoyed the little hints of "inside jokes" with the Buffyverse. Very accessible for younger readers and would be perfect for anyone remotely interested in vampires.
Mompop
rated it liked it
Sep 24, 2019
Cheryl L
rated it really liked it
Oct 08, 2019
Diana
rated it liked it
Nov 13, 2019
maximillian parker
rated it it was amazing
Nov 17, 2019
Jennifer
rated it it was amazing
Nov 18, 2019
Beth Heltebridle
rated it really liked it
Oct 06, 2019
Cristina B
rated it really liked it
Oct 27, 2019
Erika Sorocco
rated it really liked it
Oct 21, 2019
Chelsey
rated it really liked it
Sep 30, 2019
Jenna Cantino
rated it liked it
Oct 29, 2019
Leyla
rated it really liked it
Jul 22, 2019
Jen
rated it liked it
Oct 28, 2019
Jarrod
rated it liked it
Nov 08, 2019
Abbie
rated it it was amazing
Oct 27, 2019
Brenda Shelton
rated it liked it
Nov 12, 2019
Alana Astarita
rated it it was ok
Oct 14, 2019
Chris Tavern
rated it liked it
Oct 02, 2019
Halli
rated it really liked it
Nov 19, 2019
Rebecca
marked it as to-read
Jan 10, 2019
Leigh
marked it as to-read
Jan 18, 2019
Jillian Dueck
marked it as to-read
Jan 20, 2019
Brianna
marked it as to-read
Jan 21, 2019
Cristina
marked it as to-read
Feb 02, 2019
Alyazia
marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2019
Angela
marked it as to-read
Mar 24, 2019
Terrie Baumgartner
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2019
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Apr 05, 2019
Jennifer Bradshaw
marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2019
Stefanie Kellum
marked it as to-read
May 03, 2019
Melissa
marked it as to-read
May 06, 2019
Matt Hoemke
marked it as to-read
May 09, 2019
Laura
marked it as to-read
May 10, 2019
Kristie
marked it as to-read
May 15, 2019
Kyla Belvedere
marked it as to-read
May 20, 2019
Shannon McGee
marked it as to-read
May 22, 2019
Tara McCauley
marked it as to-read
Jun 10, 2019
Diana
marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2019
Sarah Jean
marked it as to-read
Aug 14, 2019
Erin
marked it as to-read
Aug 21, 2019
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2019
Sandy
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2019
Tera Blackledge
marked it as to-read
Sep 22, 2019
Sophia
added it
Sep 29, 2019
Erin
marked it as to-read
Oct 12, 2019
Taelor Rye
marked it as to-read
Oct 15, 2019
Miss Melissa
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Ban This Book
  • The Okay Witch
  • Tunnel of Bones (Cassidy Blake, #2)
  • Will My Cat Eat My Eyeballs?: Big Questions from Tiny Mortals About Death
  • Serafina and the Black Cloak (Serafina, #1)
  • Colorblind: A Story of Racism
  • Nighttime Symphony
  • The Tea Dragon Festival
  • Mooncakes
  • Jelly Bean (Shelter Pet Squad, #1)
  • Batman: Nightwalker
  • Sawkill Girls
  • Kiss Number 8
  • The Testament of Loki (Loki, #2)
  • Castle Swimmer
  • Hatchet (Brian's Saga, #1)
  • No Ivy League
  • Nothing
See similar books…

Other books in the series

Buffy the vampire Slayer (2 books)
  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer: New School Nightmare