Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Hazel's Theory of Evolution” as Want to Read:
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Hazel's Theory of Evolution

by
really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  9 ratings  ·  8 reviews
Perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and Raymie Nightingale, this tender middle grade novel from Lisa Jenn Bigelow, acclaimed author of Drum Roll, Please, follows a precocious girl whose life is turned upside down in her last year of middle school.

Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when she’s not hanging with her best friend or helping her two moms
...more
Hardcover, 336 pages
Expected publication: October 8th 2019 by HarperCollins
More Details... edit details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Hazel's Theory of Evolution by Lisa Jenn Bigelow
    Hazel's Theory of Evolution
    by
    Release date: Oct 08, 2019
    For readers of The Thing About Jellyfish and Raymie Nightingale, Drum Roll, Please author Lisa Jenn Bigelow's new book, Hazel's Theory of Evolution, i ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 10 copies available, 930 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jul 03 - Aug 01, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about Hazel's Theory of Evolution, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about Hazel's Theory of Evolution

    This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-41
    really liked it 4.00  · 
    Rating details
     ·  9 ratings  ·  8 reviews


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Laura (bbliophile)
    Full review to come soon but I loved this a lot
    Kathie
    May 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    Shelves: 2019-10
    Thank you to the author and HarperCollins for an ARC of this book.

    Can I just say that I consider Lisa Jenn Bigelow one of the most underrated middle grade writers whose books I've had the pleasure to read? Last year, her book DRUM ROLL, PLEASE was one of my favorite reads of the year, and now HAZEL'S THEORY OF EVOLUTION has also captured my heart. I sincerely hope you'll add this book to your TBR list to when it's released on October 8th.

    Due to school zone restructuring, Hazel is forced to go to
    ...more
    Shan Salter
    Apr 13, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
    Thanks to the @kidlitexchange network for the review copy of this book. All opinions are my own.

    Hazel’s Theory of Evolution by Lisa Jenn Bigelow

    Release date: 10/8/19

    From the author of DRUM ROLL, PLEASE comes this quiet, character-driven, middle-grade novel overflowing with heart and raw emotion.

    Introverted eighth-grader, Hazel, lives a peaceful life on a goat farm with her animal books, two moms, and her older brother. Her life takes an unwelcome turn when the school districts are redrawn and s
    ...more
    Karen McKenna
    May 06, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
    Since kindergarten, Hazel has been known as Goat Girl. Her favorite place in the world is sitting in an old pickup truck in her family's farm's pasture surrounded by the goats they raise reading science encyclopedias about undervalued animals like earthworms and cockroaches. The fact that everyone thinks she is weird is made bearable by her best friend, Becca. But when the middle school lines get redrawn, Hazel finds herself headed to a new middle school for eighth grade. Her plan: to hibernate ...more
    Kristin Crouch
    Jun 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    Thank you to the author for providing an ARC for Collabookation to review.
    Ugh! Do you remember the uncertainty and anxiety of middle school? Remember analyzing everything you said, everything others have said to you? Hazel's Theory of Evolution brought me right back to that time of constant self-doubt, and as uncomfortable as it was, I loved it. Hazel is a quiet kid, eager to hibernate through her first year of a new school. But inside, she's full of emotion, guts, and introspection. She is smar
    ...more
    Donna
    Apr 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    DRC from Edelweiss and Harper Collins
    Great story told from Hazel's point of view. She is an eighth grader who has been re-districted. She left behind her friends and familiarity and is entering a new middle school for one year before going to the local HS. Although her best friend, Becca, promises to keep in touch, things start to fall apart as the months progress.
    Hazel lives with her two moms and an older brother. Her mom makes soaps and lotions from the goat milk their farm produces and Mimi i
    ...more
    Namrata
    Okay. I looked at the cover, read the summary, and now I’m officially addicted.
    Jae Goodwin
    rated it it was ok
    Jul 06, 2019
    Aaron
    rated it liked it
    Jul 13, 2019
    Emmaj
    rated it liked it
    Jul 04, 2019
    Shirley Freeman
    What a brave, and beautiful, novel. Thirteen-year-old Hazel has been redistricted to a new middle school for eighth grade requiring her to leave best friend Becca behind. Adding stress to the already difficult situation is the fact that one of Hazel’s moms is expecting a baby. That would be super cool except Mimi’s last two pregnancies ended with late term miscarriages and the family is still reeling from those losses. As Hazel evolves, she begins to understand that love is worth the risk of los ...more
    Carey
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 01, 2018
    evan
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 06, 2018
    Zahra Musa
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 07, 2018
    Kayla
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 14, 2018
    Ashlyn
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 27, 2018
    ♡
    marked it as to-read
    Sep 29, 2018
    BookingforTrouble
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 01, 2018
    Noa  Sperber
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 02, 2018
    Dahlia
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 03, 2018
    Tova
    added it
    Oct 06, 2018
    Shana
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 06, 2018
    Mikaela
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 06, 2018
    rory
    added it
    Oct 18, 2018
    Itzel
    marked it as to-read
    Oct 21, 2018
    Annie
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 04, 2018
    Jolene
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 11, 2018
    Cynthia
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 11, 2018
    pauline
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 16, 2018
    Alec
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 17, 2018
    Mark Jojie Emelo
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 24, 2018
    Igrowastreesgrow
    marked it as to-read
    Nov 29, 2018
    Anniek
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 13, 2018
    Jess
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 13, 2018
    Linda
    added it
    Dec 20, 2018
    YAYOMG
    added it
    Dec 28, 2018
    Christine Brunt
    marked it as to-read
    Dec 30, 2018
    kelsey
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 07, 2019
    Emily
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 11, 2019
    Mitsy Puffin
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 14, 2019
    Mollie
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 24, 2019
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
    100 followers
    I grew up in Kalamazoo, Michigan, in a house full of books. My mom read to me until I left for college. We explored realistic fiction, fantasy, and science fiction together.

    When I was seven, I decided to become an author. I attempted my first novel the following summer, about a brave princess joining forces with elves and fairies to overthrow the evil king and queen. It was seven pages long.

    My lov
    ...more