Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “An Uncommon Folk Rhapsody” as Want to Read:
An Uncommon Folk Rhapsody
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

An Uncommon Folk Rhapsody

by
4.26  ·  Rating details ·  23 ratings  ·  8 reviews
COLD MOUNTAIN MEETS THE COLOR PURPLE.

A STORY OF LOVE AND SURVIVAL AMIDST AN ERA OF SUFFERING AND HATE.

Shay is an orphan. A young Asian boy with no link to his past – except for a mysterious jade amulet – and no idea what fate has in store for his future. Not until an American merchant captain raises him to be a man, who becomes a valiant Union Army scout during the height
...more
Published (first published November 2017)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about An Uncommon Folk Rhapsody, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about An Uncommon Folk Rhapsody

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-53
4.26  · 
Rating details
 ·  23 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Valerie
A Different Kind Of Love Story

A child born of two different Asian cultures is orphaned and rescued by a sea captain. Meanwhile a beautiful well loved black child is enslaved. Both are brought to the United States and meet during the backdrop of the Civil War, and though everything strive to love each other. I couldn’t put this book down and read it through in one sitting!
Marie Allred
Jan 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wow. I'm in awe of the author's beautiful style. The story is rock solid, an enchanting tale of love, loss and light in tragic times. The way the characters' stories intertwine is elegant and graceful and their development is very well-done. Though I'm no expert, the historical aspects seemed to me to be flawless and the plot was gripping the entire way through. For me there was never a dull moment, and the powerful prose truly remained so throughout the novel, supporting a beautiful story and a ...more
james galvin
Story setting good read. History factual and fictional.



Story was good balanced historical & fictional. A good book.


Characters developed with emotional description male & female with generational mix well done.


Jessica Smith
Mar 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is a historical romance that features a boy born of two cultures, chinese and japanese, after losing both of his parents he is rescued by a sea captain and brought back to the U.S. Then there is a young girl, enslaved after having her father murdered and brought to the U.S. as well. With the civil war taking place these two are brought together, which gives way to the perfect title of an "uncommon" pairing, an uncommon love story.

I will say I enjoy this book immensely, it drew me in from t
...more
Nora Michel
Mar 28, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book follows an Asian boy and an African slave, both taken away from their homelands and transported to Civil War era America. The two live vastly different lives, but their circumstances lead to their meeting and they fall in love. This book delves into issues such as slavery, racism, sexual assault, faith, and duty to country. It entwines complex characters with heartfelt emotion.

I enjoyed reading this book. It was enthralling and captivating. The characters were well developed and the au
...more
Jessica Triangle
Really enjoyed this novel. A perfect mix of history and a narrative that drives the reader forward. Issues dealt with in the novel are difficult to read but are handled with sensitivity by the author. I've never read a novel like this one and I am so glad that I did. Well worth the read.
michael j licwinko
Powerful story

Strong compelling characters kept me enthralled the whole way through this book. I wanted Shay and Victoria to meet sooner, but that's because they were my favorite characters.
Tracy
Dec 05, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A review from a person not a fan of historical fiction.

This comprehensive and singularly informative book reads more like a novel than historical fiction. (For me that's a great thing.) The book is written from a multiple character perspective told by a narrator. This transition from character story to character story serves the book well as the characters act as complements to each other and serve the books overall theme seamlessly. As mentioned the book is told through the eyes of a narrator
...more
Amy Driver
rated it really liked it
Feb 04, 2019
Junelyn Person
rated it it was amazing
Feb 10, 2019
Diana P. Frost
rated it it was amazing
Feb 09, 2019
Carolyn Pearson
rated it really liked it
Feb 20, 2019
Julianne Emerson
rated it it was amazing
Nov 17, 2018
Michele
rated it it was amazing
May 17, 2019
Victoria  Williams
rated it it was amazing
Jan 10, 2018
Benjamin L.
rated it it was amazing
Apr 20, 2019
Lorna Hesselrode
rated it liked it
Jan 20, 2019
Rochelle Stenquist
rated it liked it
Feb 20, 2019
Barbara F Choate
rated it it was amazing
Mar 14, 2019
Gail Roberts
rated it really liked it
Jan 24, 2019
nancy Lahmann
rated it liked it
Jan 19, 2019
Sherron
rated it it was amazing
Jul 20, 2018
Nancy W. Zarovsky
rated it it was ok
Mar 03, 2019
Margaret Wagner
is currently reading it
Dec 01, 2017
Julie
marked it as to-read
Dec 03, 2017
Mardi Gorham
marked it as to-read
Dec 03, 2017
Maria
marked it as to-read
Dec 04, 2017
Schreba
marked it as to-read
Dec 04, 2017
Simone
marked it as to-read
Dec 09, 2017
Joy Rancatore
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2018
Averianna Nunies
marked it as to-read
Jan 20, 2018
Lisa Stalnaker
marked it as to-read
Jan 23, 2018
Deviki
marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2018
Kimberly Packett
marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2018
Tiffany
is currently reading it
Mar 06, 2018
Cynthia Austin
marked it as to-read
Mar 26, 2018
Sissy Knox
marked it as to-read
May 11, 2018
Jasmine Taylor
marked it as to-read
Jun 23, 2018
Suzette Murray
is currently reading it
Aug 15, 2018
Tammy Dennison
is currently reading it
Oct 16, 2018
Joyce  M  Beal
is currently reading it
Oct 28, 2018
marie e osborne
marked it as to-read
Jan 03, 2019
Josette Rector
is currently reading it
Jan 07, 2019
Luann
added it
Jan 09, 2019
Dianne Boadle
is currently reading it
Jan 18, 2019
Kay
marked it as to-read
Jan 18, 2019
Carol
marked it as to-read
Jan 19, 2019
Janet
is currently reading it
Jan 21, 2019
dorothy murchison
is currently reading it
Jan 21, 2019
Frieda
added it
Jan 22, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
34 followers
Strongly influenced by the works of Homer, Hemingway, Tolkien, Twain, Emerson, Alice Walker, and Whitman, C.J. Heigelmann fluently expresses his work through a unique style in the classic form of innocence and eloquence, balanced by raw truth and grit without pretension.


“Life is a school. Have fun! Enjoy! But don't forget to learn!” 4 likes
More quotes…