Jump to ratings and reviews
Rate this book

The Devil finds work

Rate this book
Having survived the Bradford terrorist attack, Brian Peters transfers to CID. His first case, that of a young woman found dead following an overdose of cocaine alone in her flat, sets him on a course of investigation which takes him from small-time drug dealers and joy-riders to ram-raids, corruption, murder, arson, money-laundering and large scale importing of Class A drugs.
With few officers in the division they can trust, Brian and his team have to tread carefully as they come ever closer to bringing down the entire house of cards, and with it, exposing Mr Big, an international drugs smuggler.

292 pages, Kindle Edition

Published October 18, 2018

Loading interface...
Loading interface...

About the author

Ian McKnight

12 books1 follower

I was born in Bradford, West Yorkshire in 1950 and am now retired so I can indulge my hobby of growing giant bonsai trees.
I previously made regular appearances as a stand-up comedian in the Nottingham area, appearing under the name of Ian Stupid, and for 2 years wrote an award-winning column of satirical humour for a provincial evening newspaper.

Losing Lucy was my first novel, set in the late 1990s, and deals with the problems the hero, Ray Light, encounters following the death of his wife. This is a tale both tragic and hilarious in turn.

The sequel, Light Years On, set some fifteen years later, picks up the threads of Ray Light's journey through life, and the final part of the trilogy, Light at The End Of The Road, published in September 2016, is a dramatic and moving conclusion to the story.
Some of my readers refer to the trilogy as a whole as 'Sex and Dogs and Rock'n'Roll'.

Available from December 2017 is 'Premonition', a contemporary thriller set in Bradford, Yorkshire. It concerns a terrorist threat at an event in the city centre. This proved so successful that a follow-up, titled 'The Devil Finds Work', was published in October 2018. A third crime novel 'Games People Play', featuring the same characters, was published in October 2019 and the fourth, 'Unfinished Business', became available in July 2020.
June 2021 saw the publication of the most recent in the series - 'The Pandora Program'.
As an alternative, also available is 'The Forkham Predicament', a humorous look at life in a sleepy North Yorkshire village where nothing ever happens - until the pandemic strikes. Then, the villagers' lives are turned upside down. A crazy satire, filled with crazy events.
The sixth and possibly last of the series of crime novels, Retribution, was published in January 2022. It was so successful that a follow-up called The Darkness of Night was published in October 2022.

I hope you enjoy them.

Ratings & Reviews

What do you think?
Rate this book

Friends & Following

Create a free account to discover what your friends think of this book!

Community Reviews

5 stars
7 (70%)
4 stars
2 (20%)
3 stars
0 (0%)
2 stars
0 (0%)
1 star
1 (10%)
Displaying 1 of 1 review
Profile Image for Tanya.
63 reviews
September 27, 2020
Very well written. Good storyline. Love that it carries on from premonition.
Displaying 1 of 1 review

Can't find what you're looking for?

Get help and learn more about the design.