Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Last Big Thing” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
The Last Big Thing
 
by
David Moody
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Last Big Thing

by
4.41  ·  Rating details ·  27 ratings  ·  6 reviews
We sit in our own little bubbles, watching the rest of the world go by. We think 'it'll never happen to me' but guess what? At some point it probably will. We might think we're in control but believe me, there's a lot we don't know.

In the spirit of The Twilight Zone and Tales of the Unexpected , cult author David Moody presents eleven stories about life, death and every
...more
Hardcover, 262 pages
Published January 8th 2019 by Infected Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Last Big Thing, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Last Big Thing

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-49
Average rating 4.41  · 
Rating details
 ·  27 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Last Big Thing
Greg at 2 Book Lovers Reviews
*4.5 Stars

David Moody is one of my favorite authors. I’ve been captivated by his writing since I first opened Hater many years ago. I’ve been nursing The Last Big Thing since its release in January. I just can’t sit and read straight through an anthology; I like to place the stories in between other full-length books that I’m reading. I find that this helps with my overall appreciation for the anthology as a whole.

Moody prefaces each of his eleven stories with a brief inspiration for the story.
...more
Kay Smillie
Aug 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I am not always a fan of short story collections by authors whose novels I love as sometimes the short stories are a mixed bag but, David Moody never disappoints. Every one is a winner and it is hard to point out the best of the bunch however I particularly liked The Deal and The Last Big Thing.

Ray Smillie
Dan
Apr 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Love this author. I think I have read most of his works. Got this copy signed by the author and couldn’t be happier with the variety of the stories. Do yourself a favor and pick up a copy of this, or anything else he has written!
Courtney
Jan 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
No matter what kind of story David Moody writes I know I will enjoy it and The Last Big Thing contains 11 very different short stories which in my opinion are all good reads.

I don't want to say too much because I don't want to spoil anything so I will just say a few words about some of the stories.
I work as a health carer looking after the elderly and I was at work when I read We Were So Young Once and Away With The Fairies, the first one tugged on my heartstrings and the second one now has me
...more
John
Sep 01, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What a great read. If you love short stories, this book is for you. Moody somehow figured out how to pack the feel of reading a full novel, into a few chapters, over and over again. Great work on this one.
BJ
Feb 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A great collection of short stories.
Sara Mccarroll
rated it it was amazing
Aug 13, 2019
Dawn Evans
rated it it was amazing
Jul 16, 2019
Carl
rated it really liked it
May 12, 2020
Thomas Mccarthy
rated it really liked it
Jul 29, 2021
Christine Owens
rated it really liked it
Apr 19, 2020
Sid Stiles
rated it it was amazing
Apr 12, 2020
Megan
rated it really liked it
Dec 18, 2019
Scott
rated it really liked it
Jul 25, 2021
Suzanne Bainbridge
rated it it was amazing
Jun 21, 2021
Sandra
rated it liked it
Aug 05, 2019
Dan Gallery
rated it it was amazing
Jan 15, 2019
derek burns
rated it really liked it
May 23, 2020
Tyler
rated it liked it
Apr 26, 2020
Julie Adams
rated it really liked it
Feb 13, 2020
Elizabeth Martin
rated it it was amazing
Jan 11, 2021
Vanessa Lett
rated it really liked it
Apr 28, 2019
ROBERT E. DAVIS
rated it really liked it
Apr 19, 2020
Richard Cosgrove
rated it it was amazing
Feb 19, 2019
Sarah
rated it it was ok
Feb 01, 2021
David R Shires
rated it it was amazing
Aug 10, 2020
Adam Selby-Martin
rated it it was amazing
Apr 03, 2019
David
Jan 02, 2019 added it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: written-by-me
Christian
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2019
Dmitri
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2019
Ben Brown
marked it as to-read
Jan 12, 2019
Rebecca
is currently reading it
Jan 16, 2019
Wendy
marked it as to-read
Jan 30, 2019
Geri Cook
marked it as to-read
Feb 02, 2019
Mike
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2019
Kim
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2019
Kelly
marked it as to-read
Feb 13, 2019
PickleRick
is currently reading it
Feb 15, 2019
Jessica
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2019
Marc
marked it as to-read
Apr 04, 2019
JM Cozzoli
is currently reading it
Apr 06, 2019
The Grim Reader
marked it as to-read
Apr 07, 2019
Gowthami
marked it as to-read
May 30, 2019
Athena Lathey
marked it as to-read
Jun 07, 2019
Jan Varty
is currently reading it
Jul 18, 2019
Lane
marked it as to-read
Jul 26, 2019
Sharon
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2019
Pippa
marked it as to-read
Nov 04, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Titanic: Minute by Minute
  • Memories of Tomorrow (Nameless: Season One #6)
  • The Mercy of Snakes (Nameless: Season One #5)
  • Class of '92 (The Time Bubble #5)
  • Stephen
  • The 19th Christmas (Women's Murder Club, #19)
  • Days 1 to 4 (Mass Extinction Event #1)
  • Into the Past (Time Shifters, #1)
  • The Quantum Curators and the Fabergé Egg
  • Wings of Fury (Wings of Fury, #1)
  • Hacked Future (SimCavalier #2)
  • The Prince and the Troll (Faraway Collection)
  • Survival (After It Happened #1)
  • Hazel and Gray (Faraway Collection)
  • Flesh
  • A Long Way From Home (Time Shifters, #2)
  • The Quantum Curators and the Enemy Within
  • Going Dark (Silo 49, #1)
See similar books…
1,139 followers

A pioneer of independent publishing, David Moody first released Hater in 2006, and without an agent, succeeded in selling the film rights for the novel to Mark Johnson (producer, Breaking Bad) and Guillermo Del Toro (director, The Shape of Water, Pan's Labyrinth). Moody's seminal zombie novel Autumn was made into an (admittedly terrible) movie starring Dexter Fletcher and David Carradine. He has a

...more

News & Interviews

One of the great pleasures of historical fiction is the time-travel element. In the hands of a skilled author, works of historical fiction can...
166 likes · 17 comments