Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Heist (The Lagotti Family, #1)” as Want to Read:
The Heist (The Lagotti Family, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Heist (The Lagotti Family, #1)

by
3.27  ·  Rating details ·  15 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Jailbird thief Frank Lagotti dreams of robbing a bank in 1968 Baltimore and spending his fortune in California. He assembles an elite crew but after the long wait for the heist, how could he know that everyone will want to kill another gang member in this slow-burn thriller?

Frank's moll, Mary Lou wants a huge amount of money because she’s sick and tired of living a
...more
Kindle Edition
Published by Sobriety Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Heist, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Heist

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-45
Average rating 3.27  · 
Rating details
 ·  15 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Heist (The Lagotti Family, #1)
Jessica Belmont
Oct 02, 2019 rated it really liked it
UiThe Heistis the first novel in The Lagotti Family series. It is fast paced with some humor and characters that were purposefully written to be crude. This is a story about a bank robbery so it totally makes sense.

The one thing that I wasn’t really expecting was the amount of swearing, sex and violence the novel was filled with. The swearing and violence didn’t bother me as much (though be warned, it is graphic), however the sex scenes were a bit too detailed and I felt they disturbed the plot
...more
Heather
Aug 01, 2017 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Jay Williams
Jul 21, 2019 rated it really liked it
Lots of very detailed sex, occasionally interrupted by story. The story itself is good, but the book ends before the story does, leaving the reader unsatisfied. As the action progresses, just about every character decides to kill one or more of the other characters. After consideration, the reader may root for all of the characters to by killed. actually, some do bite the dust before the book ends.

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Sue
Oct 07, 2019 rated it liked it
Fresh out of jail, Frank Lagotti Jnr is looking for a way to get rich quick and escape all his worldly troubles, and he has just the people in mind to help him.

Frank's big idea is to rob a bank and he soon gathers the men he needs. His girlfriend Mary Lou is also central to the plan, as she is the ideal one to use her ample charms to get on the good side of Carter Reinfeldt, one of the bank's employees - and Carter falls hook-line-and-sinker, allowing the gang all the information they need for
...more
Marty Langenberg
Nov 25, 2017 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
I've been cheated! The book is not complete. Yes, it was free but my reading time isn't. Lucky I'm a fast reader. The method of the story telling is unusual as it uses the pov of its various characters to progress the tale. Not a bad approach once I understood the tactic. However, there were times when this resulted in needless repitition that dragged out the plot. The heist doesn't happen until the very end and even though it appears to be successful, I'll never know. I won't let this book ...more
Molly
Nov 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Action adventure/ macabre humor fans
Recommended to Molly by: Goodreads, bookbub, Axpreaderland, Amazon , author newsletter
A fast-paced story about robbery and love gone wrong.

How could things go wrong? Use your girl to rob a bank. Think she'll be the one to fall for the target she's supposed to seduce?

Use friends and family to help. That one almost needs no elaboration. But hey, put people of color and alternative gender roles in with bigots.

No surprises there, except how they haven't all killed each other yet.

Oddly, in the face of fast cars, killer guns, bank heists and some kind of Mafia,
the story has an
...more
J_Mc 251
Oct 07, 2019 rated it liked it
I wasn’t quite sure what to make of this book at first, but as I read further, I found myself lost in the world of the Lagotti Family. The series is a no-holds-barred story of a crime family with the focus on Frank and Mary Lou. It was gritty and provocative; if you’re easily offended, you probably will not appreciate the realness of the world created by the author. But, if you’re a fan of hard-boiled crime (think Sopranos or the real-life Gambino family) you should pick up this series. For a ...more
Bernadette Robinson
I gave this a 3.5stars or 7/10.

This is the first of four stories that make up the Lagotti Family series. Centering around Frank Lagotti the ex-jailbird thief, who plots to carry out a bank robbery aided by an elite crew of gang members.

Mary Lou, his girlfriend is drawn into the action by him. She's rather fed up of her current life with Frank and has aspirations greater than him. Mary Lou, could be the sticking point in the plans as she forms an allegiance with the insider and is torn between
...more
Pat Eroh
Aug 12, 2019 rated it really liked it
I have read this author previously and this book was a bit too much, well, smut. I did find some interest in the hopelessness of the whole story, some humor, and intrigue but overall, I am not as happy with this book as I thought I would be.

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Jackie
Aug 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is one thriller no one should miss out on. Jailbird Thief Frank is a strong character. Once you get involved in the story, there is no way you can stop reading.
Ann Keeran
Sep 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A series begins about the Lagotti crime family. The first book covers a Baltimore bank and how to rob it. Lots of sex and language, some violence.
Alex  Jones
Oct 01, 2019 rated it liked it
Frank has just left prison. And he wants to get paid. Fast. The only way is to step back on the wrong side of the street, he plans a heist of a local bank.

Mafia, gangsters, bad men, guns, violence and dark humour feature throughout this sexually charged thriller.

This is one for fans of pulp fiction and the like.

Gritty, hard, racy and fast paced, it’s all out, an almost cinematic vibe, the heist itself doesn’t take place until the later stages and you will need to read book 2 to find out what
...more
shirley wagstaff
rated it did not like it
Aug 08, 2019
Rach
rated it liked it
Sep 05, 2017
Leopold Borstinski
Apr 20, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Lavender
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2017
Linda Lomas
is currently reading it
Sep 10, 2017
Julie
added it
Jan 29, 2018
Roberto Colon
is currently reading it
Jun 15, 2018
Kirk B
is currently reading it
Aug 17, 2018
Kate
is currently reading it
Oct 05, 2018
Carla
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Shelley
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Gazmend Kryeziu
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Tim Gray
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
SALLY WHITE
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Lorra
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Melly Franklin
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Melly Mel
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Julie
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Lisa
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
amy
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Kathleen Gray
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Cheryl Bradley
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Mary A.
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Wanda C
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Manda
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Daniel Muscat
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Donna
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Carol McFarlane
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Nicola Fantom
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Sue
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Donna
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Stacia Chappell
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Demons Beneath (D.I. Graves, #1)
  • The  Man in the Dark
  • 17 Church Row
  • The Familiars
  • The Other People
  • The Holiday
  • The Silence of Severance (DCI Michael Yorke, #3)
  • The Brora Murders (The Scottish Mysteries)
  • The Amendment (The Contract, #2)
  • Eden Burning
  • Morte Point (Ben Bracken #2)
  • Mudlark: In Search of London's Past Along the River Thames
  • Seven Letters
  • The Last Wife
  • Beasts of the Frozen Sun (Frozen Sun Saga, #1)
  • Intimate Strangers (Lisa Millar #1)
  • Carved in Bone (Henry Rios #2)
See similar books…