Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Three Things I Know Are True” as Want to Read:
Three Things I Know Are True
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Three Things I Know Are True

by
4.43  ·  Rating details ·  35 ratings  ·  20 reviews
This moving debut novel in verse about a teenage girl dealing with the aftermath of an accident that nearly takes her brother’s life is a stunning exploration of grief and the power of forgiveness.

The reminder is always there—a dent on the right side of Jonah’s forehead. The spot you’d press when you felt a headache coming on. The bullet tore away bone, the way dynamite blasts roc/>The
...more
ebook, 480 pages
Expected publication: January 7th 2020 by HarperTeen
More Details... Edit Details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Three Things I Know Are True by Betty Culley
    Three Things I Know Are True
    by
    Release date: Jan 07, 2020
    Fans of Jandy Nelson and Marieke Nijkamp will love this deeply moving novel in verse about the aftermath of a gun accident.

    Enter for the c
    ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1224 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Nov 11 - Dec 09, 2019

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about Three Things I Know Are True, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about Three Things I Know Are True

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-30
    Average rating 4.43  · 
    Rating details
     ·  35 ratings  ·  20 reviews


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Start your review of Three Things I Know Are True
    Jenny Chou
    Aug 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    Three Things I know Are True by Betty Culley (HarperTeen, January 7, 2020, $17.99, 9780062908025)

    I’m always dazzled by writers who can tell a story through verse, with each word fitted like the exact right puzzle piece into a landscape that is both sparse and complex at the same time. At the center of Three Things I know Are True, Liv struggles emotionally while her daredevil brother Jonah struggles physically with the new reality of his traumatic brain injury. Liv’s bond with her br
    ...more
    Laura
    Sep 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    I got to read an ARC of this lovely book, and I feel so lucky to have seen it early. This book is moving and heartbreaking and so, so beautiful. I’m going to keep an eye out for more novels in verse.
    Lauren
    Sep 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    Shelves: young-adult
    Beautiful, haunting, heartbreaking. A novel in verse I know I won’t soon forget.
    Brenna Clark
    Jul 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    Thank you so much to Edelwiess for this ARC! I think I've mentioned this in a review before but it couldn't hurt repeating; I absolutely love novels written in verse. There's just something about the medium that feels so incredibly personal and emotional, and I find it so direct and to the point because you don't have to wade through a lot of extra words to get to the heart of the thing. That's all this novel is; heart. We see the world through Liv's eyes as she attempts to adjust to life after ...more
    Tanya
    Jul 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    I was lucky enough to have read an early version of Betty Culley's, THREE THINGS I KNOW ARE TRUE. As a reader who is fairly new to novels-in-verse, this book really made me a believer in the format. The plot, pace and character arcs, move like the ebb and flow of a river—sometimes the words swish by in subtle ways, sometimes they rush and knock you over, until your heart is overflowing with emotions. The main character Liv, is well rounded and believable. She's a fierce protector, and oftentimes ...more
    Crystal
    Jun 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    Liv is the kind of quirky and compelling character that will stay with the reader long after the book is closed. She is my favorite young female protagonist since Scout Finch! Like all good books, I was hooked from the first page and when I emerged hours later I was completely wrung out, full of heartbreak and hope, entering the world haunted by the experience. An excellent and well-crafted story!
    Renee Doucette
    Oct 15, 2019 rated it really liked it
    Shelves: 2019-reading
    I received an ARC of this book. It's a moving story about Jonah, Liv, and Clay in the aftermath of a tragic accident. The story gained momentum and kept me hooked. For a novel in verse, I didn't find it particularly poetic. The characters and plot made up for it. I imagine young readers in Maine will enjoy the complexity of the issues presented in the text.
    Katie (Kitkatscanread)
    Nov 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    Oh my goodness!
    What a beautiful story told in verse.
    I was laughing, smiling, angry, sad and tearful.
    It broke me and was so bittersweet at times.
    This was amazing.
    Definitely preorder this now!
    Dante
    Nov 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
    I really and truly loved this book with all my soul.

    Wonderful novel-in-verse about a girl living in the aftermath of her brother's horrific accident. Culley did a wonderful job creating characters I will forever remember.

    Note: this book made me sob on an airplane.
    Lauri
    Oct 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher through Edelweiss. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Novels in verse are quickly becoming a new obsession. Liv is one of the loveliest characters I have read recently. I don't know if it was her compassion or her quirkiness that I loved most. It doesn't matter, she will be remembered.
    I look forward to sharing this title with my students.
    Jamie
    Sep 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    Wow. This book has me so emotional. Liv is such a beautiful soul. Her love for her brother is so massive. Jonah’s state after the accidental gunshot that leaves him incapacitated is heartbreaking. The sweet, quiet relationship that blooms between Liv and the neighbor Clay who was present at the shooting is breathtaking. Liv’s friendships - with the nurses, with the homeschooled boy Hunter, with the girls at school - are so poignant and real. And the way that Culley undercuts all of it with the r ...more
    Pam
    Sep 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    Three Things I Know are True by Betty Culley is compelling and beautifully written. This first book I have read in verse distilled the ideas, descriptions and stories down to only the essential. It is readable- a page turner- with no extra words. The topic is timely and it tackles gun violence with compassion. I couldn’t put it down.
    Jennifer Hill
    Sep 11, 2019 rated it really liked it
    Liv is 15. Her brother, Jonah, is 18 and is a daredevil. This time though he almost didn't survive his stunt. He shot himself in the head thinking it a game and the gun wouldn't be loaded. Now Liv and her mother's life is forever changed by having to care for Jonah, who can't speak, can't eat, can't move, or anything. Liv thinks he is still inside there, but his mother doesn't. Clay is their across-the-street neighbor. It was in his house that Jonah shot himself. Clay has a lot of guilt as does ...more
    Liana
    Sep 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    What a stunning book!
    Rachel Culley
    Jun 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
    This is the most beautifully-written book.
    Lucsbooks
    Nov 10, 2019 rated it liked it
    This is a very short and straightforward story that packs a heavy punch.

    I liked a lot of things in this book but my favorite might have been the rhythm at which it was told. Neither the characters nor the readers were running towards an end: something awful happened and rather than focus on the action and the politics, the author chose to focus on the immediate consequences.

    I also really liked that despite the theme, there is never a moment in which the characters argue f
    ...more
    Michelle (Love, Stars and Books)
    (I received a free eARC from Edelweiss for a voluntary and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.)

    Book review: Three things I know are true by Betty Culley (3.5 stars)



    Three things I know are true by Betty Culley
    Genre: YA, Contemporary
    Rating: 3.5/5 stars

    (Synopsis from Goodreads)
    This moving debut novel in verse about a teenage girl dealing with the aftermath of an accident that nearly takes her brother’s life is a stunning explo
    ...more
    A Novel Love
    Nov 05, 2019 rated it really liked it
    A moving story about three teenagers and the aftermath of an accident with a gun and a trial.

    It touches on some hot-button topics like gun control, DNR’s and quality of life.

    We see sadness, happiness and heart break.

    It’s a great debut, but I have to admit that it wasn’t poetic for a novel in verse.

    It just kinda had text broken up on to different lines. But I’m not an expert.

    I also have to admit that I wasn’t a fan of the romance. I felt it was unnecessary and a bit forced. It kinda cheapene
    ...more
    Tory
    Oct 04, 2019 rated it really liked it
    Shelves: 2019, ya
    This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
    Charnell (Reviews from a Bookworm)
    Books in verse are quickly becoming my favourite. Finding authors who can say so much in so few words is always astounding to me. And Betty Culley says a lot. This book is heartbreaking and emotional, I was a mess by the end. As someone who has a family member that needs round the clock care due to severe brain damage this one hit me more than most books. I highly recommend, have tissues handy though!
    TheReadandSeek
    rated it really liked it
    Sep 27, 2019
    Yolanda Kolinski
    rated it really liked it
    Oct 01, 2019
    Amy
    rated it really liked it
    Sep 05, 2019
    Nichole
    rated it really liked it
    Oct 17, 2019
    Colette Whitney
    rated it it was amazing
    Sep 28, 2019
    Sarah (TLCC)
    rated it liked it
    Nov 06, 2019
    Erika
    rated it it was amazing
    Apr 22, 2019
    Anna Loome
    rated it it was amazing
    Oct 02, 2019
    Angela Marie
    rated it it was amazing
    Jul 15, 2019
    May
    rated it it was ok
    Jul 03, 2019
    « previous 1 next »
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

    Readers also enjoyed

    • We Are Totally Normal
    • The Lucky Ones
    • The List of Things That Will Not Change
    • Be Not Far From Me
    • Red Hood
    • From the Desk of Zoe Washington
    • The Gravity of Us
    • The Upside of Falling
    • Technically, You Started It
    • Guts
    • Well Met (Well Met, #1)
    • Diamond City (Diamond City, #1)
    • The Library of Lost Things
    • Pumpkinheads
    • The Bookish Life of Nina Hill
    • Count Me In
    • You Too?
    • Wayward Son (Simon Snow, #2)
    See similar books…