Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Sons Of Mil: The Innisfail Cycle: Book One” as Want to Read:
The Sons Of Mil: The Innisfail Cycle: Book One
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Sons Of Mil: The Innisfail Cycle: Book One

by
4.80  ·  Rating details ·  25 ratings  ·  13 reviews
Dark, complex, and action-packed; The Sons Of Mil explores the pitfalls of an imperiled society, with a cast of misfits, heretics, and rogues. Fans of Adventure, High Fantasy, and Romance, will find something to love here! On the continent of Innisfail, Old Gods reign. Following five hundred years of vicious conflict, the High King has negotiated an armistice between the i ...more
Kindle Edition, 544 pages
Published January 13th 2019
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Sons Of Mil, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Sons Of Mil

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-41
Average rating 4.80  · 
Rating details
 ·  25 ratings  ·  13 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Sons Of Mil: The Innisfail Cycle: Book One
Sydney Mann
Jan 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This was an epic “epic” fantasy! I highly enjoyed and recommend this book. From the complex plot to the richly-layered characters, it was easy to be immersed in this dangerous and exciting world the author created. I found myself frustrated by the characters I was rooting for, and understanding, if not sympathizing, with the ones I loathed. This is no light read—plenty of violence, blood and gore to go with the action, full of despicable and flawed characters—but as real as a work of fantasy can ...more
Cassondra Windwalker
Feb 17, 2019 rated it really liked it
L.M. Riviere’s sweeping new Celtic saga The Sons of Mil is a fantastic adventure complete with riveting characters, complex political machinations, and of course, plenty of magic. Unlike some recent fantasies, where magic is used a plot device to repair all the ails the author creates but can’t cure, magic here comes with its own burdens and costs. Beautiful language only just draws back the tapestry on this world to give the reader a glance within and makes them long that like the fairytales, t ...more
Jason Meuschke
Jul 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
In her breakout first novel, L.M. Riviere gives a stunningly beautiful epic fantasy rich in detail and character. In my mind's eye, I could literally smell the forest pine and taste the chill air. Watch out Tolkien, Riviere has your number!
Jennifer Blough
Jan 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I read a lot of books and most of them are in the fantasy or science fiction genres. Recently I've been trudging through one mediocre book after the next and I really needed something special to snap me out of this funk where reading was starting to feel like a chore instead of something fun. This book did the trick!

You jump right into the middle of the action at the beginning of this book with a young woman running for her life. From that point on I found that it was difficult to put the book d
...more
Julie
Jan 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I too received a copy of this book for review a couple of months ago. My copy was a final draft, rather than the completed work , which is coming to amazon on the 13th of January. Even in draft form, this book was awesome!

I read a lot of fantasy. Some of it is extremely well written and some falls apart after the first few chapters. It’s a tricky genre. Trends are all over the place and some authors simply don’t have enough material for a full epic and some dress teen romance up as lit fantasy.
...more
K.M. West
Jan 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I was given a sneak peak at the first ten chapters of ‘The Sons Of Mil’; Book One of ‘The Innisfail Cycle.’ As a foreigner to pre-Christian Irish myth, it took me a minute to acclimate to my new surroundings. Beautiful descriptions of Innisfail lay nestled amongst the lovely (and sometimes unintelligible) traditional Irish names and titles, but it was the story that allowed me to get my bearings in Gaelic Ireland.

Having to pause ten chapters in, I had a chance to digest both the content and a cu
...more
Csimplot Simplot
Excellent book!!!
Kirby Ehler
Jan 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I recieved an advanced copy of Sons of Mil. I have not read much fantasy outside the YA tier of books so I was excited to read a fantasy geared toward adults. I was not disappointed.

The novel is a hard one to put down. I found myself up way past my bedtime reading "just one more" chapter. The writing flows nicely and it was easy to picture each scene in my mind. I didn't even mind going to the appendix to look up the pronunciations of places or characters.

The only flaw I found was the introduc
...more
Beverly Larsen
Jan 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I received a very early edition of this book and loved it! The author's words paint very vivid pictures of the setting, the feel of the time and the characters. It is a great book to enjoy for all. I really liked looking up the characters in the index and how they are related to one another or not. Also learning their place and hierarchy was very interesting. The vocabulary was fun too! The author definitely did her research before writing this book! She takes you on a journey to another place a ...more
Jessica Ossiff
Jan 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I received an advance copy of this book and I was a little skeptical at first. While I love adventure novels, I tend to get easily disinterested when it comes to fictional history and politics. This book surprised me on so many levels. I wasn't able to put it down! The story is so well written that you become entirely invested in the characters and the world around them. One of my favorite things about this book is the authors ability to trigger character empathy in the reader. You find yourself ...more
Dee
Jan 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I received an advance copy of The Sons of Mil for review, and I have to say... I'm hooked. I don't typically read books in the fantasy genre but I really enjoyed this one. The story is extremely well-paced, the characters are all interesting, and the ending was WOW.

It did drag a bit in the middle but I realize it was necessary to build appropriate tension for the climax. Plus, lots of very important plot points were introduced so it was far from boring. Lots of action, mystery, bits of mytholog
...more
Catie Tappan
Apr 01, 2020 rated it it was amazing
In Riviere's debut novel, cultural and political divides bring fantastical beings together to fight for their future. The array of characters is seemingly overwhelming in the beginning, but the author weaves their lives together in ways that are mysterious and exciting. There are heroines and heroes who will make you doubt their character and creatures that will make you doubt your personal safety while sleeping. Once you've settled well into The Sons of Mil, I doubt you'll be able to put it dow ...more
James Samadian
Dec 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Excellent read. I loved the use of Irish folklore in a fantasy setting. Reminded me a little of Andrzej Sapkowski with a touch of Neil Gaimen, but not the copy paste you get so much in this genre, the style was definitely the Author's own.
Tri-Community Library
rated it it was amazing
Feb 28, 2019
Sydney Gibson
rated it it was amazing
Sep 27, 2020
Melissa Cheresnick
rated it it was amazing
Jun 03, 2019
Lara Bahr
rated it it was amazing
Feb 13, 2019
Marie Gornall
rated it really liked it
Jan 09, 2020
Carol
rated it it was amazing
Feb 17, 2019
A Alison
rated it really liked it
Apr 14, 2019
Jim
rated it it was amazing
Sep 11, 2019
Cherrie Wilkerson
rated it it was amazing
May 05, 2019
Kellie reads all the time
rated it really liked it
Jul 05, 2019
therese anne merigan
rated it really liked it
Nov 03, 2019
Sonya R.
rated it it was amazing
Jan 14, 2019
Irene
marked it as to-read
Jan 06, 2019
Micah Thomas
marked it as to-read
Jan 07, 2019
David Kopf
marked it as to-read
Jan 07, 2019
Cory
marked it as to-read
Jan 08, 2019
Kathy Milligan
is currently reading it
Jan 12, 2019
Leannes-Booklist
marked it as to-read
Jan 13, 2019
Betsy Mongijal
is currently reading it
Jan 15, 2019
Mary
marked it as to-read
Jan 16, 2019
Jakob Miedler
marked it as to-read
Jan 18, 2019
Brenda Manzanedo
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2019
Ja-Mel
marked it as to-read
Feb 06, 2019
Nicole
marked it as to-read
Feb 06, 2019
Sarah Green-Hart
marked it as to-read
Feb 12, 2019
Annemarie
marked it as to-read
Feb 15, 2019
Lisa Brick
marked it as to-read
Feb 16, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Harvest of Change (The Alcantarans)
  • Justice Alien Style (Alcataran Series)
  • Twin Paths
  • Heist (Heist, #1)
  • The Green Knight
  • The Tiger and the Wolf (Echoes of the Fall, #1)
  • Dark Glass: Dominions I
  • Grid Seekers (Grid Seekers, #1)
  • Gyrfalcon (Taking Shield, #1)
  • Solar Storm: Book 1: Season 1: Episodes I - III
  • Proximity (Proximity, #1)
  • In Nadir's Shadow (The Twilight Years of the Commonwealth Book 1)
  • Shaeli of Purple Leaf (The Traders Book 1)
  • The Lightning-Struck Heart (Tales From Verania, #1)
  • Throne of Shadows
  • Portal To The Stars (The Alcantarans)
  • The Alcantaran Key (The Alcantarans)
  • The Moon Dwellers (The Dwellers, #1)
See similar books…
30 followers
L.M. Riviere is a freelance writer, editor, and photographer. 'The Innisfail Cycle' is her first full-length series, though she has two others in the works.

She is obsessed with hot coffee, hiking, and refusing to wear 'real pants' in public. She lives in Florida.

Related Articles

If you love the fantasy genre, this is the season for you! Some of the biggest books out this fall promise to be epics full of magic, adventure,...
175 likes · 46 comments