Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “When I Was a Kid 5” as Want to Read:
When I Was a Kid 5
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

When I Was a Kid 5

by
4.79  ·  Rating details ·  48 ratings  ·  9 reviews
In a time of turmoil and tuberculosis, threatened by war, two very different lives are united by love.
This book explores the lives of Gor Ko (played by my dad) and Ah Pui (played by my mom) as they overcome great challenges and difficulties to finally come together to form the greatest underrated comic book artist ever (me), just so I can tell their stories.
Paperback, 220 pages
Published December 2018 by Grey Pigeon Sdn Bhd
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about When I Was a Kid 5, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about When I Was a Kid 5

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.79  · 
Rating details
 ·  48 ratings  ·  9 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Pak Badrul
Feb 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
Ini kali Boey menemuduga ayah dan ibunya tentang zaman kanak-kanak mereka. Banyak kenangan menarik yang dikongsikan. Imbauan memori lama...
Donald Stephen
Feb 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Packed of stories compared to the previous 4 books. I think it's the best among the 5.
phazleeanna
Dec 27, 2018 rated it really liked it
This has got to be the best book from Boey. It takes you down some interesting memory lanes; filled with real life events from both Boey’s parents when they were kids that were endearing and adorable. Upon reading this from cover to cover, I couldn’t help but to feel proud of how ‘When I Was Kid’ series has grown. This piece is a gem, truly.
Liz Too
Jan 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
If you or your parents or your grandparents or your great grandparents were born in a time of war, you'd appreciate these stories you never get to hear from them.

One simple book. Two intertwined childhood stories. Massive emotional rollercoaster ride. I laughed and cried at the same time like a mad woman.
Pamela
Jan 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Enjoy Boey's book so so much as he managed to bring me into the memory lane of his parents, even though I am not one who lived through and understood that era. You feel all the emotions, really deeply. I had great laugh but also some of the chapters brought tears (Maybe it was just me being emotional).

Yes. It is THAT good.
Yin
Dec 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Boey's latest release comes in a new, well-thought format. The story-telling is familiar, but also refreshing.

It is the history book Malaysians never had that encourages every reader to appreciate family, and be mindful of our heritage.
Elle Cheong
Dec 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Best book ever! It really makes you think about how fortunate you are and you will wonder about your own parents' childhood. The stories related to San Por really got to me.
Zhi Qing
Dec 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing
BEST BOOK EVERRR!!!
Daisy Abdullah
Jan 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I was so excited and happy to see this book on the shelf of a book store! My favorite has to be Ching Ming. I laughed so hard that my tummy ache.
Jian Goh
rated it it was amazing
Dec 27, 2018
Aisyah
rated it it was amazing
Jan 31, 2019
Rainy Rose
rated it it was amazing
Jan 04, 2019
Rydikulez Hairi
rated it really liked it
Feb 05, 2019
Zoe Ong
rated it it was amazing
Dec 27, 2018
Alexander Stephen
rated it it was amazing
Feb 21, 2019
Chew Ping
rated it it was amazing
Dec 28, 2018
Aileen Khor
rated it it was amazing
Dec 27, 2018
Jane Lim
rated it it was amazing
Dec 28, 2018
Kenneth
rated it it was amazing
Jan 05, 2019
Nor Zahirah
rated it it was amazing
Jan 02, 2019
JC
rated it it was amazing
Dec 30, 2018
Jx
rated it it was ok
Feb 15, 2019
Manisha
rated it it was amazing
Feb 10, 2019
Zoe
rated it it was amazing
Jan 02, 2019
Carmen Ng
rated it it was amazing
Dec 29, 2018
Lydia Lee
rated it it was amazing
Jan 05, 2019
恩一
rated it it was amazing
Feb 22, 2019
Nazirah Hamza
rated it it was amazing
Feb 05, 2019
Watermelon Quick
rated it it was amazing
Dec 27, 2018
Jolene Tan
rated it it was amazing
Jan 05, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
55 followers
boey is a malaysian animator/artist/author and a TED award recipient best known for his art on foam cups.
he has written two books, and they are pretty good, i think.

website: www.iamboey.com
http://www.youtube.com/user/rectangle...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheeming...