Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Wake: The Deadly Legacy of a Newfoundland Tsunami” as Want to Read:
The Wake: The Deadly Legacy of a Newfoundland Tsunami
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Wake: The Deadly Legacy of a Newfoundland Tsunami

4.40  ·  Rating details ·  10 ratings  ·  2 reviews
In the vein of Erik Larson’s Isaac’s Storm and Dead Wake comes an incredible true story of destruction and survival in Newfoundland by one of Canada’s best-known writers

On November 18, 1929, a tsunami struck Newfoundland’s Burin Peninsula. Giant waves, up to three storeys high, hit the coast at a hundred kilometres per hour, flooding dozens of communities and washing entir
...more
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published August 27th 2019 by HarperCollins Publishers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Wake, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Wake

Community Reviews

Showing 1-40
4.40  · 
Rating details
 ·  10 ratings  ·  2 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
✨Brithanie Faith✨
Jul 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
4/5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐


ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


The Wake: The Deadly Legacy Of A Newfoundland Tsunami by Linden MacIntyre is an upcoming non-fiction that focuses on November 18th, 1929- the day a tsunami struck Newfoundland's Burin Peninsula- killing 28 people, and leaving hundreds more homeless or destitute.

As a Newfoundlander I was pleasantly surprised when the opportunity to read/review a book based on the history of the province I was born and raised in came up!
...more
Joanne
Sep 09, 2019 rated it liked it
Interesting and salient episode in Newfoundland history. Have to been to Burin and wanted to learn more. Author weighed heavy on mining industry for 2/3 of the book.
Wendell
rated it it was amazing
Sep 14, 2019
Margaret
rated it liked it
Aug 25, 2019
Cory Beatty
rated it really liked it
Jul 09, 2019
Leomacdonald MacDonald
rated it it was amazing
Aug 20, 2019
Heather Robinson
rated it it was amazing
Sep 07, 2019
QueensBe 79
rated it it was amazing
Sep 01, 2019
Samantha
rated it it was amazing
Sep 08, 2019
Monika
rated it it was amazing
Aug 06, 2019
Gordon
marked it as to-read
Apr 10, 2019
Lexie
added it
Apr 19, 2019
Maggie Mugford
marked it as to-read
Apr 26, 2019
Sandra
marked it as to-read
May 04, 2019
Jen
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2019
Angela
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2019
Jordan Meaden
marked it as to-read
May 14, 2019
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Jun 10, 2019
Zachary Harless
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Evy
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
Peter Newbury
marked it as to-read
Jun 28, 2019
Melanie
marked it as to-read
Jun 29, 2019
Anne Marie
marked it as to-read
Jun 29, 2019
Lana
marked it as to-read
Jun 30, 2019
Colleen
marked it as to-read
Jul 01, 2019
Susan B
marked it as to-read
Jul 04, 2019
Noelle Walsh
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2019
Andrea
marked it as to-read
Jul 09, 2019
MapGirl
marked it as to-read
Jul 13, 2019
Brenda
marked it as to-read
Jul 14, 2019
Kim
marked it as to-read
Jul 14, 2019
Brenda
marked it as to-read
Jul 14, 2019
Mary
is currently reading it
Jul 17, 2019
Shirley
marked it as to-read
Jul 27, 2019
Rowan
marked it as to-read
Jul 27, 2019
Tamara
marked it as to-read
Jul 27, 2019
Lorraine Stevens
marked it as to-read
Jul 28, 2019
Theresa Hoadley Vail
marked it as to-read
Jul 29, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
104 followers
Linden MacIntyre is the co-host of the fifth estate and the winner of nine Gemini Awards for broadcast journalism. His most recent book, a boyhood memoir called Causeway: A Passage from Innocence won both the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction and the Evelyn Richardson Prize for Non-Fiction.