Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “We Speak in Storms” as Want to Read:
We Speak in Storms
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

We Speak in Storms

by
really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  16 ratings  ·  8 reviews
A powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars.

It's been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens -- a whole generation of Mercerites -- dead in its wake. So
...more
Hardcover, 464 pages
Expected publication: September 3rd 2019 by Philomel Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-49
really liked it 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  16 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Chelsea
Mar 27, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
three words: tornado. ghost. book.

put this hauntingly beautiful magical realism story on your radar - full review to come!
Kelly
I loved this book, and I loved it because it was a meaty book filled with my favorite things: small midwest towns, tornados, three very different (and diverse) main characters, ghosts, grief, and regret. Fifty years after Mercer's infamous, deadly tornado, another tornado rolls through, waking the ghosts of those who died in the first storm. The ghosts become close companions to Callie -- currently losing her mother and so much of her stability to cancer; to Joshua -- coming out as gay, in a fat ...more
Svenka
Jan 27, 2018 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
"...magical realism..."

Sign me the frick up.
Tara
Aug 17, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2019-copyright
We Speak in Storms tells the story of Callie, Brenna, and Joshua--three teens growing up in the small town of Mercer, where a tornado devastated the town 50 years ago. Each teen is struggling with their own issues, and the ghost spirits of Mercer intervene to help the three become friends.

An interesting book about a small town, prejudice, tornadoes, ghosts, and finding one's self.

I read an ARC from NetGalley.
Brittany
Aug 06, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: teen
Good premise, but far, far too long. I skimmed much of the middle and it didn't need to be that way. I enjoyed Callie's story and the way the three seemingly misfits came together, but overall not a good recommendation for "We Were Liars."
Rachel
Aug 12, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A slow book, but lovely, and worth the time investment.
Emily
Jul 05, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Utterly captivating and beautifully written!!!! I absolutely loved the three main characters and their journeys to becoming okay.
Namrata
Jun 06, 2019 marked it as to-read
Honestly, I probably have raised this book really high on my TBR shelf. And for a good reason. This book is so relatable, because, I live in an area where there's so many tornadoes. I have never really seen books on tornadoes as much as this one. NEED IT.
Shawn
rated it really liked it
Aug 01, 2019
Gloria
rated it liked it
Aug 21, 2019
Haley Shaffer
rated it really liked it
Jun 12, 2019
Amanda
rated it it was amazing
Jul 19, 2019
Sinead
rated it it was amazing
Jul 22, 2019
Clare
rated it it was amazing
Jun 23, 2019
Brigitte
rated it it was ok
Mar 18, 2019
Carol
rated it it was amazing
Jul 02, 2019
Nancy Hawkins
rated it really liked it
Jun 24, 2019
Virginia Pommerening
rated it really liked it
Jun 04, 2019
Aunt Beast
rated it it was amazing
Oct 29, 2018
Britt
marked it as to-read
Sep 15, 2017
Alyssa
marked it as to-read
Sep 15, 2017
Sam Miller
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2017
Caro
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2017
Daniel Tfm
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2017
Alexa
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2017
christine
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2017
Julie
added it
Sep 20, 2017
SoKawaiiBebe
marked it as to-read
Sep 22, 2017
Noa  Sperber
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2017
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
Sep 30, 2017
Gracie Liberty
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2017
~*~Meg~*~
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2017
Georgia Meagher
marked it as to-read
Oct 27, 2017
Kaitlyn Traylor
marked it as to-read
Oct 28, 2017
Tova
added it
Oct 30, 2017
Jen
marked it as to-read
Oct 31, 2017
Lila (Hardcover Haven)
marked it as to-read
Nov 04, 2017
Oda Renate
marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2017
_Persephone_
marked it as to-read
Nov 25, 2017
Korrina  (OwlCrate)
marked it as to-read
Nov 26, 2017
Sara Wenschhof
marked it as to-read
Nov 26, 2017
Līga Sproģe
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2017
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
39 followers
Natalie Lund is young adult author and a former middle and high school teacher. She graduated from Purdue University’s MFA program, where she taught introductory composition and creative writing and also served as the fiction editor of The Sycamore Review. Her debut novel, WE SPEAK IN STORMS, is on sale September 3, 2019. Natalie is a member of SCBWI and is represented by Sarah Davies of Greenhous ...more