Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Keep My Heart in San Francisco” as Want to Read:
Keep My Heart in San Francisco
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Keep My Heart in San Francisco

by
4.64  ·  Rating details ·  14 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Sparks fly when two ex-best-friends team up to save a family business in this swoon-worthy and witty debut perfect for fans of Jenn Bennett and Sarah Dessen.

Caroline “Chuck” Wilson has big plans for spring break—hit up estate sales to score vintage fashion finds and tour the fashion school she dreams of attending. But her dad wrecks those plans when he asks her to spend
...more
Hardcover, 400 pages
Expected publication: June 23rd 2020 by Simon Pulse
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Keep My Heart in San Francisco, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Keep My Heart in San Francisco

All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn  GraceAll Your Twisted Secrets by Diana  UrbanWhere Dreams Descend by Janella AngelesThe Loop by Ben   OliverA Song of Wraiths and Ruin by Roseanne A. Brown
YA Debuts 2020
117 books — 304 voters
Untitled by Sarah J. MaasThe Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne CollinsUntitled by Leigh BardugoOne of Us Is Next by Karen M. McManusChain of Gold by Cassandra Clare
YA Novels of 2020
702 books — 1,626 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

Showing 1-42
Average rating 4.64  · 
Rating details
 ·  14 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Keep My Heart in San Francisco
Amelia
Jun 23, 2019 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Shelves: my-book-babies
10/16/19: We have a cover! And a release date! KEEP MY HEART will release on June 23rd, 2020!

6/23/2019: I’m so thrilled to announce my debut’s new title, KEEP MY HEART IN SAN FRANCISCO!

I don’t think I can adequately express how excited (and terrified?!) I am to share this book with the world! First, this book was mine—a messy-quirky story that helped me during a dark time. Then, this book belonged to my agent, who found the perfect editor for KMHISF. An editor who understood the heart of this
...more
Rachel Solomon
Dec 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A unique, retro contemporary YA romance that revolves around bowling! These flawed, layered characters are written with so much depth and empathy. I'm a huge fan of setting as character, and this book truly captures the heartbeat of San Fransisco. Perfect for fans of Jenn Bennett.
J B Mills
Dec 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I had the fortune of reading this book before there was a publishing contract and I knew it would sell! A YA bowling alley story set in San Francisco? Yes, please! The main characters, Chuck and Beckett, are former BFFs on the outs, but they work together in an attempt to save her father’s bowling alley. The vibe is a little bit retro, a little bit quirky and a lotta bit fun. I enjoyed it as an adult and will definitely be buying it for my daughter!
rachelwrites007
Dec 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: beta-read, pitch-wars
Funny, delightful, charming, and perfect for fans of Jenn Bennett.
Jennifer Camiccia
Dec 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I was privileged to read this book before it sold and it’s so charming and cute!! The setting, suspense, love story all work like magic together.
The Story Girl
Oct 16, 2019 marked it as to-read
I need this book now! Why is it not available on Netgalley yet
Namera [The Literary Invertebrate]
ARC received in exchange for an honest review - thank you!

Well, I really wanted to like this book. It sounded like a cute rom-com with sparks flying between ex-best friends (aka one of my favourite relationship dynamics). But, despite good discussions of mental health, it had a tepid storyline featuring flat and somewhat incredibly stupid characters.

Seventeen-year-old Caroline ‘Chuck’ Wilson is a hardcore loner. Ever since she broke from her best friend Beckett Porter for betraying her, she
...more
Andrea Contos
Jan 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I was lucky enough to read an early version of this book and loved every part of it! So cute and charming with just the right twist of thrills. Plus, a girl who invades the world of underground bowling and hustles them all? You need to read the second it hits shelves.
L
Feb 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I was lucky enough to read an early version of this book, and I can’t wait to have a copy on my shelf!

Chuck is an interesting, snarky, and RELATABLE main character, and her story is a wild ride!
Elizabeth Chatsworth
Dec 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Amazing book! Loved every page!
Jessie Quinn
Jun 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Fun, absorbing and completely delightful. You'll find yourself deeply rooting for Chuck and also wishing that you could find your very own underground action bowling league. Made me miss a San Francisco that I never even really knew. Awesome debut, can't wait to read what's next.
Elora Ditton
Oct 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book is EVERYTHING!!! With romance and kisses that will leave you with feels for days, bowling hustling (YES, bowling AND hustling), and layered characters dealing with issues, real and familiar issues, fear and shame, who remind you that you’re not alone and there is hope.

Full of relatable shout outs sprinkled throughout — fabulous vintage fashion, nacho cheese (need I say more?!), Dolores Park, smells of fresh rain on concrete and tin roofs and thick fog, dope music (yes, even Roy
...more
Rachel Reeves
rated it it was amazing
Dec 28, 2019
Jessica Coombs
rated it it was amazing
Jun 01, 2019
Ails
rated it liked it
Dec 21, 2019
Emily
rated it it was amazing
Oct 08, 2019
Jennie
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Stephanie
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Mandy
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Rosemary H
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Marisa
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Amanda
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Elizabeth
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Lindsay Landgraf Hess
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Annette
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
RuthAnne Snow
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Kyrie McCauley
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Kylie Schachte
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Hallie
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Daiane
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Briana
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Erin Luken
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Ari
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Lauren Elise
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Remy Lai
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Steph
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Vicky Who Reads
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Monika
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Elissa  Grossell Dickey
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Janae Marks
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Liz Lawson
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Chasing Lucky
  • You Say It First
  • The Indifferent Stars Above: The Harrowing Saga of a Donner Party Bride
  • You Are Not Alone
  • Enemies
  • The Problem With Him (Opposites Attract, #3)
  • Consequence (The Confidence Game, #2)
  • So, That Got Weird (So Far, So Good, #1)
  • The Right Swipe (Modern Love, #1)
  • Landon & Shay: Part One (L&S Duet, #1)
  • Constant (The Confidence Game, #1)
  • Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend
  • A Few Pecans Short of a Pie (Southern Eclectic #2.5)
  • Dein perfektes Jahr
  • The Empathy Exams
  • The Lucky Ones
  • The Wives
  • Counting Down With You
See similar books…
Amelia Diane Coombs writes books for young adults. Back in the day, she majored in English and went on to receive her MFA in Creative Writing. Now Amelia writes unlikable female protagonists, positive mental health representation, and swoony romances with soft boys. She’s a Northern California transplant living in Seattle, Washington, with her partner and their Siberian cat. When she isn’t writing ...more