Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Not Famous” as Want to Read:
Not Famous
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Not Famous

by
3.80  ·  Rating details ·  44 ratings  ·  21 reviews
Nick bought a diamond symbol of forever, got down on one knee, and expected to welcome the New Year with his fiancée in his arms. Instead, his girlfriend’s bombshell confession left him humiliated, alone, and distrustful. Can meeting a shy barista named Alli make Nick’s heart open again? Although socially awkward and naïve, Alli has both secrets and dreams. Her ambition, d ...more
Kindle Edition
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Not Famous, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Not Famous

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.80  · 
Rating details
 ·  44 ratings  ·  21 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Katherine (KWBookReviews.com)
Reviewed by Katherine Williams for Reedsy

Not Famous is a romantic comedy that young adults will have no trouble relating to. The protagonist of the novel, Nick, is someone you will want to get to know. His point of view is humorous and interesting. The way he feels uncertain of his life is the way every young adult feels at some point; he has a strong voice that I enjoyed getting to know as the novel progressed. My favorite part of this novel is the characters; each character is developed well a
...more
Jewel Hart
Feb 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Not Famous by Matthew Hanover is a delightful, charming and humorous story that romance readers will thoroughly enjoy and be unable to put down. In this wonderful debut novel, we are introduced to Nick Forrester who has just proposed to his girlfriend, expecting a yes answer, and to have a happy marriage with her. However, it doesn’t go as he desired and he is left embarrassed and all alone. Then, fate steps in when he meets a young cute woman at his favorite coffee shop. Alli, is a barista and ...more
Jennifer Dege
Mar 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
Engaging and fulfilling!

If this is how a man can write romance from the point of view of a man, then more men need to write romance. Not Famous is a sweet and utterly open exploration of relationships from what is usually a closed off and buried perspective - because social norms make "feelings" taboo for men. The background story of Alli isn't just fluff to make things interesting either. So many levels to this story, yet the author's style knits them together perfectly.

After a slow start, I wa
...more
Sharon M
Mar 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great book! The main characters were very well written and I felt invested in them after being only a few pages in. Found it refreshing to read about a boy/girl romance that wasn't stereotypical and the descriptions of the music/gig scene were personally very relatable. It was an easy, enjoyable read. Look forward to seeing what this Author does next!
Marianne Michele Liesman
Feb 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing
One day!

I am an avid reader but I couldn't (and wouldn't) put this book down! It held my attention, engaged me with not only the story and characters but the writing itself. It flowed beautifully and I cared about the characters quickly! I was not expecting to read that this is the authors first book!!! I'm impressed and CANNOT wait for his next one...and the one after that...and on and on! Hurry up Matthew Hanover and give us another book!!!!!!!
Ailsa
Apr 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: music
Didn't want to put it down
Nigel Cartner
Feb 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is a brilliant, uplifting debut novel that harks back to the likes of Nick Hornby's, High Fidelity, combining life, love and music into one compelling story, reaffirming my belief that lad lit is a genre that deserves far more credit and coverage than it currently receives.

The story is solid with great characters. I loved the main character (Nick), and could relate to him so well, especially his inner monologue when wrestling with the many questions that arise in the face of uncertainty.

We'
...more
Adam Shaw
Feb 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
At the beginning of NOT FAMOUS, we meet Nick, a down-on-his-luck nice guy who's recently gone through a pretty ugly breakup. Nick's humiliated, damaged, and unsure of what to do next because of his last relationship, leaving him in sort of a rut. That is, until he meets Alli Conwell. The book goes through the ups and downs of Nick and Alli's relationship, including his struggle to overcome the scars of his last relationship and her struggle to share some major secrets from her past.

There's a lot
...more
Ella James
Feb 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Exceptional must read book. 5 Stars
Michelle
Feb 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Not Famous is a great story of a guy who manages to find love in the crazy world of the Boston music scene. Nick and Alli are characters you get to know quickly and want to keep hanging out with, even after the story ends. Matthew throws in a twist that you don't expect and takes the story to another level of involvement. Here's hoping that is just the first of many books coming from this author. I know I'll be reading more.
Georgina Wyatt
Feb 04, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I have to admit I absolutely hated this at the start, I couldn't relate to the characters and I found them quite frankly annoying, so much so I was ready to give up on the book but as its the authors debut novel and he's self-published. I wanted to give it a chance and the twist in the middle of the book changes everything! Finally you get struck by emotion and the challenges of dating. Great book. Take my advice skip the first 30 percent or persevere through the first 30 percent. It's worth it ...more
Sarah-Beth
Feb 07, 2019 rated it it was ok
The main character was a nauseating “nice guy” and the female romantic interest was just a trope of a quirky musician girl. Cute in parts but overall a bit grim.
Hobart
Jan 11, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2018-reads
This originally appeared at The Irresponsible Reader.
---
We meet Nick a couple of months after one of the most embarrassing experiences of his life -- a marriage proposal that goes awry. He's still reeling from that when he meets a very cute, and comparatively young, barista at his favorite Seattle-based Coffee chain shop. Alli's not just a barista, she's also a musician -- a solo act, just a girl with a guitar -- so Nick goes to one of her shows. He falls in love with her music right away, and
...more
Ian Shane
Matthew Hanover delivers a pitch perfect story in his debut novel. It’s a funny and touching story about learning to love and trust again. This story is filled with compelling characters. Alli is an incredibly loveable person. While she is naive and inexperienced when it comes to dating, she seems to be teaching Nick and his friends what being in a loving relationship is really all about. The dynamic between Alli and Nick is often times awkward, which lends itself to some of the more endearing m ...more
Danny Farham
Jan 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Hard to believe this is a first novel. From the very first page, the author managed to grip me and make me want to read more.

The story starts with Nick, proposing to his then girlfriend, Lauren. This goes horribly wrong and breaks his heart.
Told first person, I really felt like I knew Nick's pain and really wanted things to go well for him.

When he meets the beatiful but naive Alli, he decides to take a brave step and ask her out...

What follows is a heartfelt and honest story of love and new rel
...more
Lauren Tigerman
Jan 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Fun read

This was great. I was really rooting for Alli and Nick. Being from New England, I especially enjoyed the Boston flavor that this entire book was drenched in. If you love music, Boston, love stories or any of the above, give this book a read.
Ian Shane
Jan 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Matthew Hanover delivers a pitch perfect story in his debut novel. It’s a funny and touching story about learning to love and trust again. This story is filled with compelling characters. Alli is an incredibly loveable person. While she is naive and inexperienced when it comes to dating, she seems to be teaching Nick and his friends what being in a loving relationship is really all about. The dynamic between Alli and Nick is often times awkward, which lends itself to some of the more endearing m ...more
Andy Roan
Jun 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
My book of the year so far

This book is described as being suitable for fans of Nick Hornby and Mike Gayle, as a fan of these two gentlemen for two decades I am pretty well qualified to assess if this is accurate.

This book is easily as good as either author, it is probably the best debut I have read in years. The music scene is not just a series of gigs but something that is a huge part of everyone's life, the characters are (mostly) very likeable (with the exception of the ones that are not mean
...more
Alistair Dobbie
It’s a good story that was enjoyable to read, I felt it was probably around 100 pages too long though, halfway through it got a bit dull but picked up towards the end. Nick Hornby like in its style and story.
Ainsley
May 08, 2019 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
An unimaginative storyline padded out with tedious prose. The characters were uninspiring and the entire 'plot' lacked any pace. Sorry, but I can't help but think that this book is very aptly titled!
Jill Koval
May 12, 2019 rated it did not like it
Interesting angle, basic writing style

It could have been more but felt remedial in terms of reminding the reader of things we just read, describing his feelings and emotions - lacked depth...
Chris Johnson
rated it really liked it
Jun 14, 2019
Cara Natkin
rated it liked it
Mar 17, 2019
Scott Zumberg
rated it really liked it
Mar 30, 2019
Noreen Carey
rated it really liked it
May 06, 2019
Adam Carter
rated it it was amazing
Apr 28, 2019
Ronda
rated it really liked it
Jan 26, 2019
Gregory Vigrass
rated it really liked it
May 09, 2019
Aaron
rated it it was amazing
Feb 11, 2019
Jeffrey M Rothbard
rated it did not like it
Feb 02, 2019
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Book FAQ and more! 1 3 Nov 14, 2018 08:05AM  
35 followers
Matthew Hanover is currently working on his first novel. Read more at his blog at MatthewHanover.com or follow him on Twitter @MatthewHanover.
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »