Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Grace Year” as Want to Read:
The Grace Year
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Grace Year

by
4.38  ·  Rating details ·  34 ratings  ·  14 reviews
A speculative thriller in the vein of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power.

“A visceral, darkly haunting fever dream of a novel and an absolute page-turner. Liggett’s deeply suspenseful book brilliantly explores the high cost of a misogynistic world that denies women power and does it with a heart-in-your-throat, action-driven story that’s equal parts horror-laden fairy tale,
...more
Hardcover, 416 pages
Expected publication: September 17th 2019 by Wednesday Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Grace Year, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Grace Year

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.38  · 
Rating details
 ·  34 ratings  ·  14 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Sami
Nov 21, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Every year, the village sends young women into the woods for their "grace year," when they are meant to dispel their dangerous magic. Fierce and unusual Tierney is the only girl with survival skills, but faced with vicious human poachers, an unyielding winter, and the malicious ringleader of her fellow graced, it will take everything she has to make it to the next year. With hints of The Village, The Handmaid's Tale, and Lord of the Flies, THE GRACE YEAR still manages to be a completely original ...more
Cristina
lyrically written & totally horrifying.
Sara Grochowski
With a setting that feels outside of time, The Grace Year depicts a world in which the system manipulates and controls women under the guise of care, only to pit girls against one another from their earliest years. Liggett immerses readers in the secretive mythology of transformative grace year, then exposes its timely and brutal truths with a swift, sure hand. 16-year old Tierney’s crusade to stay true to herself and maintain her humanity as her peers devolve into paranoia and chaos resonates d ...more
Andie Anderson
Jan 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Haunting, horrifying, and visceral.

The Grace Year is a slowly slinking mind f*ck that will have you questioning everything. Every year the sixteen year old girls of the county are sent away to burn through their magic before they can return to be dutiful wives - and property. Tierney has never wanted to be owned or to follow the rules but if she isn't careful she won't survive the year.

Part Handmaids Tale and part Lord of the Flies, The Grace Year depicts women at our ugliest. When we're trappe
...more
Brittany
Feb 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book hit me full force, like a smack to the face. It was the only book I've read this year (thus far) that I truly couldn't put down. From the first page to the last, it keeps you waiting: a perfect blend of lyric, literary writing and heart pounding, breath catching plotting. Read this.
Emma lovey
Feb 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
really good.
Sarah Bonamino
Feb 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
EVERYTHING I COULD HAVE WANTED AND MORE ❤ ...more
Danielle
Feb 01, 2019 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2019-tbr
KIM HAS ANOTHER BOOK COMING OUT AND I HAD NO IDEA? :O

plsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplsplspls.
Niki Mclaren
I was pleasantly surprised by this book and its fierce feminism. The Grace Year takes place in a misogynistic world where men will go to any length to keep women down and deny them power. The setting and character growth in this novel were really well put together and watching women band together to survive gave me all the feels. It was nice to see a fresh take on this genre and I look forward to more books by this author.

*Thank you to Netgalley for providing a free advanced copy of this book*
Clare Maurer
rated it it was amazing
Jan 04, 2019
Kate Bengtson
Feb 12, 2019 rated it really liked it
"My eyes are wide open, and now I see everything." The Grace Year is a riveting and timely tale that reminds readers of the power of all women to resist the restrictions of society and affect true change - if only they will band together and rise up.

The Grace Year leads us through the story of Tierney James as she faces her grace year, a 13-month trial that must be faced by all girls of marriage age in The County, a fictional village that poses severe restrictions on women for fear that they wi
...more
Maíra Roman
rated it it was amazing
Dec 02, 2018
tara
rated it it was amazing
Feb 08, 2019
Kim
Feb 11, 2019 marked it as to-read
Shelves: giveaways
I am excited and honoured to be a Goodreads winner.
Ayọ Owolabi
rated it really liked it
Jan 08, 2019
Abbie Donoghue
rated it it was amazing
Oct 08, 2018
Mandy
rated it really liked it
Dec 20, 2018
Joanna
rated it it was amazing
Jul 02, 2018
Marochka
rated it liked it
Oct 23, 2018
Olga Zbranek Biernátová
rated it really liked it
Feb 15, 2019
Nicky
rated it it was amazing
Nov 19, 2018
Sofdog
rated it really liked it
Nov 12, 2018
Ariela Sclar
rated it it was amazing
Jan 03, 2019
Elizabeth Bhriel
rated it it was amazing
Nov 20, 2018
Dasha Osadchaya
rated it did not like it
Dec 10, 2018
hgt jhg
rated it really liked it
Feb 07, 2019
Dylan
yes yes yes yes yes hell yes.
Jasmine Portillo
rated it it was amazing
Jan 31, 2019
Chelsea
rated it liked it
Feb 06, 2019
Kate Bengtson
Feb 12, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
"My eyes are wide open, and now I see everything." The Grace Year is a riveting and timely tale that reminds readers of the power of all women to resist the restrictions of society and affect true change - if only they will band together and rise up.

The Grace Year leads us through the story of Tierney James as she faces her grace year, a 13-month trial that must be faced by all girls of marriage age in The County, a fictional village that poses severe restrictions on women for fear that they wi
...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Light at the Bottom of the World
  • The Nameless Queen
  • All We Could Have Been
  • Eight Will Fall
  • Ink in the Blood (Ink in The Blood #1)
  • The Bright and the Pale
  • Bone Grace (Bone Grace, #1)
  • The King's Questioner
  • Incendiary
  • The Wise and the Wicked
  • Here There Are Monsters
  • The Half King (Untitled #1)
  • A River of Royal Blood (Untitled, #1)
  • Guardians of Dawn (Guardians of Dawn, #1)
  • Suggested Reading
  • The Bone Houses
  • Ember Days
  • The Beckoning Shadow
380 followers

At sixteen, Kim Liggett left her rural midwestern town for New York City to pursue a career in music. Along with lending her voice to hundreds of studio recordings, she was a backup singer for some of the biggest rock bands in the 80's.
Kim spends her free time studying the tarot and scouring Manhattan for vials of rare perfume and the perfect egg white cocktail.
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »