Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Resurrection Lily: The BRCA Gene, Hereditary Cancer & Lifesaving Whispers from the Grandmother I Never Knew” as Want to Read:
Resurrection Lily: The BRCA Gene, Hereditary Cancer & Lifesaving Whispers from the Grandmother I Never Knew
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Resurrection Lily: The BRCA Gene, Hereditary Cancer & Lifesaving Whispers from the Grandmother I Never Knew

by
4.85  ·  Rating details ·  27 ratings  ·  15 reviews
Resurrection Lily shares a story of inheritance and intuition, of what can surface in the body and the spirit when linked by DNA. As Amy Byer Shainman discovers she has inherited a BRCA gene mutation that puts her at high risk of developing certain cancers, she struggles to come to terms with preventively removing her breasts when she does not have a breast cancer diagnosi ...more
Paperback, 312 pages
Published December 5th 2018 by Archway Publishing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Resurrection Lily, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Resurrection Lily

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-57
Average rating 4.85  · 
Rating details
 ·  27 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Resurrection Lily: The BRCA Gene, Hereditary Cancer & Lifesaving Whispers from the Grandmother I Never Knew
Kim
Jun 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: true-stories
won this book off of www.librarything.com giveaway. the book is a true story and is a signed copy from the author
Amie's Book Reviews
Before reading this memoir I had some small knowledge regarding the BRCA gene. If I had been asked before reading this book whether I felt I was fairly well informed on the subject of breast cancer and the BRCA Gene, I would have confidently said that I was. Now, upon completion of Amy Byer Shainman's memoir, I know I was mistaken.

The reason I am including the above fact is that, I think many people will feel that they already have enough knowledge on Breast Cancer and on the BRCA Gene. I urge
...more
Shannon
Jan 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Phenomenal memoir by a phenomenal woman. Amy shares her deeply personal account of how the BRCA gene mutation has been a recurring story in her life and the story of her family long before anyone even understood what a BRCA gene mutation is. It is clear that Amy took tremendous care in putting this book together for the BRCA community with the purpose of helping, educating, and supporting others. Her story alone is powerful and moving. But, Amy goes beyond her personal account and presents the p ...more
Elisa
Jan 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Many thanks to the author for sharing her experience, research and information upon learning that she tested positive for the BRCA 1 Mutation and her research into her family history of cancer on her father’s side through her maternal grandmother’s family. The author not only shares her personal experience, but the points of view of family members, doctors and researchers. A must read!
Iris Levine Accettola
A Soul Baring Memoir

In Yiddish, there is a word, bashert, which translates to "meant to be". Would I want Jan to have three cancers? No! But Amy, as detective for her family, became the voice of a grandmother who was gone at a young age and left a legacy of breadcrumbs to be followed. Amy followed those breadcrumbs to try and find answers. So, it was meant to be, that Amy became an advocate for BRCA positive people as well as for herself. Brava!
Sandra Lanman
Aug 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Amy Byer Shainman begins her book, “Resurrection Lily” with a provocative question: “What if I told you that the airline just tested the airplane you are in and they found that it has as high as an 85 percent chance of crashing?” It’s a scary proposition, but her intent soon becomes clear. Shainman’s book is a memoir about living her life as a carrier of an inherited mutation in the BRCA1 gene that puts her at high risk – as high as 85 percent – of getting breast, ovarian, pancreatic and other c ...more
emmabbooks
Mar 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Essential information and guidance about hereditary cancer

An informative and interesting book about hereditary cancer, with loads of practical advice and information on where to get help and guidance.

The author tells her story of life with the BRCA gene (breast cancer), and that of her family and friends, in a factual and non-emotional way - though the contents may well make the reader emotional. There are also sections by doctors, surgeons and friends, giving their perspective. The psycholo
...more
Reader Views
Sep 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Reviewed by Paige Lovitt for Reader Views (9/19)

When Amy Byer Shainman learned that she carries the BRCA 1 gene mutation, which puts her at risk for breast and other deadly cancers, she chose to be proactive about reducing her risks. She made a difficult but educated decision to have a prophylactic bilateral mastectomy and have both her ovaries removed. Shainman educates family members, friends and readers about what is involved with this process by sharing her story in “Resurrection
...more
Rose Parisi
Aug 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Through words, Amy Shainman was able to bring to life the unspoken stories and implications of obtaining genetic information. It was enlightening to hear the voices in Amy's head and the voices of her loved ones -- I learned how subjective opinions, values, and life situations alter the route and navigation of challenging medical issues. Amy artfully wrote at the intersection of science and emotion -- educating her readers and providing a guide for others while writing honorably and honestly. Th ...more
Valerie Staggs
Feb 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I am an avid reader of memoirs and I went into this one with very little knowledge about the BRCA gene except for the fact that Angelina Jolie has it (yes, I'm an avid People Magazine reader too). This book explains what the BRCA gene is and all its ramifications in incredible detail which could be incredibly boring except that Shainman weaves the medical and scientific information into her personal story. Following her as she discovers her family history and faces the hard medical decisions BRC ...more
Erin
Feb 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I am moved by the discovery journey and can understand the need to educate women and get tested to make better informed health decisions so that you are active in your health and how you want to handle what may occur. Amy expresses her experience with clarity and detailed description of her inner battle with how she believed her options to be and what she knows she had to live with. Educating others is a healing beautiful gift and will be remembered for all eternity.
Sandra Pipitone
Aug 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Wonderful book as a mother of daughters WHO had genetic testing because of my breast cancer ! I will be buying this book for them . LOTS of good info for ALL who have Cancer in families!
Sandra
Apr 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I won this book off Goodreads. Awesome read. One of my favorites. Will read again. Highly recommend.
Csimplot Simplot
Aug 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Excellent book!!!
Diane
Jun 16, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2019, netgalley
I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review.

There was a lot of interesting information in this book and it would be very useful for others facing the choices that must be made when discovering they have a BRCA1 or BRCA2 gene mutation.

I did however find much of the narrative and information repetitive which made it a little cumbersome.
Karen Goodwine
rated it it was amazing
Jan 29, 2019
Teri
rated it it was amazing
Apr 03, 2019
Suzysunshine
rated it it was amazing
Sep 03, 2019
Allysa
rated it it was amazing
May 04, 2019
Melissa Cheresnick
rated it it was amazing
May 20, 2019
Eleanor
rated it it was amazing
Sep 20, 2019
Gwen
rated it it was amazing
Jan 22, 2019
Maria Vogel
rated it it was amazing
Jul 18, 2019
Ali
rated it it was amazing
Jan 15, 2019
Cindy Wu
rated it it was amazing
Aug 12, 2019
Skyler Boudreau
rated it really liked it
Aug 15, 2019
Tara Boulding
rated it liked it
Sep 07, 2019
Jill
marked it as to-read
Dec 14, 2018
Rebecca Payne
marked it as to-read
Dec 16, 2018
Margaret Snow
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Laurie
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Britt
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Mikhail Rapoport Jr.
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Lavern
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Melissa ahmed
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Verne
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
J
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Karyn Palmer
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Marilyn Stanley
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Shelley
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Nancy Adams
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Lorrie
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Sam
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Kim Ellis
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
James Cozzarelli
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Walter Lipke
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Dongyu Xu
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Raymond Stone
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Cathy Tilton
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Kristen Olsen
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Teresa Lavender
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Michele
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
William
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
Felicia
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
F
marked it as to-read
Dec 21, 2018
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Advanced Copies f...: Goodreads Giveaways 9 156 Feb 06, 2019 11:09PM  
Readers That Love...: Holiday book Giveaway 10 14 Dec 23, 2018 01:59PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Cilka's Journey (The Tattooist of Auschwitz, #2)
  • Low On Gas - High On Sky: Nick Mamer's 1929 Venture
  • Persianality
  • Shirley F'N Lyle: VIVA the REVOLUTION
  • The Confession Club (Mason, #3)
  • Gringo: My Life on the Edge as an International Fugitive
  • LUMINA
  • Orange World and Other Stories
  • Behind Every Lie
  • Blood on the Chesapeake
  • The Solar Patrol: A Tale of a Future Once Imagined
  • The Better Liar
  • The Circle: Taken
  • The Sleep Experiment (World's Scariest Legends #2)
  • O is for Ohio: An Alphabetical Journey Through the Buckeye State
  • The Shape of Night
  • Poems Mostly of the Sea
  • The Empty Bed
See similar books…
30 followers
Amy Byer Shainman, also known as BRCA Responder, is a patient advocate who provides support and education surrounding BRCA and other hereditary cancer syndromes. She's the executive producer of the award-winning documentary Pink & Blue: Colors of Hereditary Cancer (on iTunes) and co-creator of #GenCSM (Genetic Cancer Social Media).
She is a BRCA1 gene mutation carrier and a "previvor"--meaning
...more